We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful, cold, smelly and disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awful, cold, smelly and disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

If I hadn't already paid in full, Id have left the moment we got there. They place is freezing cold, smelly and hasnt been cleaned or seen a lick of pain in the last decade.
The awful spring beds are not easy to sleep on and I had a terrible back ache next morning.
Breakfast was poor, so was the service.
The bath/ toilet was dirty, smelled bad and did not have warm water. They shower gave out a half hearted trickle of water and was no good.
Please avoid this place, or you will regret it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caledonia_Lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    24
    12
    28
See reviews for
6
17
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed for 3 nights last week with 2 German Collegues. All I can say is DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.When we complained about the lack of heating, they brought us portable electic heaters. I would have left the minute we arrived but I paid in advance. As a contractor I am used to the lower end of the market but this place is one aqbove sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: Stay away - try the Cameo it was excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

The worst 'hotel' I have ever seen.
This dump should not be permitted to stay open. To describe it as horrible is the understatement of the year. Many years ago I worked as a housing advice officer
dealing with landlord tenant disputes, tenant complaints and finding accommodation for the homeless. Some of this accommodation was not great but it served a need. I would not
have sent any of my clients to this terrible place. Night Shelter would be more attractive.
Do not stay there. We paid £59 for a double room, we were robbed.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Place was disgusting, dirty, staircase was terrible. Rooms dirty. Doss house.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicfan190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Room was terrible. Best description of it is doss house. My suspicions were raised when the owner insisted on full payment for the week the moment I stepped through the door before I had chance to see the room. I think he's had a few runners. I'm a contractor so I've stayed in a few shall we say run down establishments but this tops the lot by far. Only stayed the 1 week we then found a farmhouse which was cheaper, comfortable and clean. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliothespark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I read the Trip Advisor reiews AFTER I had already made my reservation for this hotel, the day bore I was due to chek in. I only stayed for the one night.
I was "upgraded" from a single ensuite to a double ensuite without asking or further charge which was nice.
The room is VERY basic BUT for £39 per night which included parking for the whole day, night and morning after the stay, plus breakfast which was plentiful I think it was very very good value. My bed linen and towels were spotless.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarabeth46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

I think people reviewing this hotel poorly may simply have lofty expectations. Perhaps I saw a fairly priced hotel close to downtown and assumed it would be seedy so I'm pleasantly surprised. I love my quaint little room and they make you a freaking home cooked from scratch breakfast every morning of practically whatever you want! I'm a vegetarian and they had plenty of options for me. Overall, i would definitely stay here again. Everyone is so nice and unobtrusive. Some things in my room didn't work, like the kettle, but they were immediately attended to. I think the key to staying here is just relax and say something if you need anything. I am quite happy.

Room Tip: Be sure to book early and if you don't mind sharing a twin bed, go for a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealToolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Shipwrights Arms Hotel
Shipwrights Arms Hotel
#16 of 18 in Ipswich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 41-43 Berners Street, Ipswich IP1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing