We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great host”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed 1 July 2013

this hotel is a great location and the host goes over and above to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Breakfast was great and was happy to have wi-fi included in price as well as availability to park on site when at work. Great Budget hotel for a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights- 14th-15th May. I was working in the area and wanted value for money which is what I got. I got an en-suite with breakfast for £78- this is what I could have paid for a travelodge, but the Carlton had a better location to the centre and a cooked breakfast as opposed to a breakfast in a box. Rooms were basic, but comfortable and clean and I would stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank lindeman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Imran was a a real character. Always alert to guests needs. Cheerfully upgraded to a larger room upon request. Breakfast was a standout. Best coffee I've had on this holiday. The breakfast ladies couldn't be more obliging. Location was pretty handy for us. Tesco and laundrette 100 yards away. All major shops within easy walking distance. Must see Christchurch Mansion next time.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the top floor if you have large bags as the stairs are winding and narrow. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed here for the week as I was training for a new job, the hotel is over 100 years old so obviously it is worn but the rooms are clean. It is also a listed building so the owners can't modernise it, but why bother it is a nice period hotel. My bed was made every day and tea and coffee were constantly refilled, the breakfast was lovely and service top notch. For the price I couldn't ask for more, what do people expect, the Ritz. I was cold on the first night of staying here but then I opened my eyes and saw that there was a heater on wall that I could turn on. The shower worked fine and the hot water was hot. On my final day I was to told I had to be out by 10:00am, but this wasn't the case as I didn't start work till 14:00pm they allowed me to stay in my room until I left, still giving me tea and coffee throughout the day. For a value hotel I fully recommend the Carlton, and be warned that some people on here have never stayed there yet write a review to slate the business in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barnard30024190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed here with friends during a weekend break. We only needed a room for one night and my friend booked us in. I of course immediately looked it up on TripAdvisor! I was very put off by some of the past reviews, I've not stayed in many "budget" hotels and I was dreading what the conditions would be like! It is because some of the reviews made me feel uncomfortable that I decided to write one. Our welcome at the reception desk was friendly enough and the English breakfast in the morning was simple but nice. Our rooms were quite tired but I didn't think mine was unclean - I inspected the bedding and saw no reason to worry. The bathroom was old fashioned, lots of pipes, and I couldn't work out how to use the shower. One of my friends eventually found a button on the wall outside the bathroom in her room but I searched high and low to no avail! However - I simply had a basin wash, no real problem. The hotel is also near the town centre and we had a nice meal in a chinese restaurant about 10mins walk away. I agree with other reviewers that this is a basic hotel but as a brief stop off it suited our needs fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hetty_822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed recently,room dirty,very cold room,shower dribbled could not have a bath as taps removed?Double bed worn out springs poking through SWATTERS would have passed this one in fact if i knew where they were staying i would have paid them the £45.00 i paid!!!! P.S. must have painted on the three STAR RATING??????? Who ever writes a review enjoying this place how much were you payed???????????

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

When I travel to Ipswich, I usually stay at Novotel, they offer rooms almost at the same price. They were booked out during my last visit and this was the only place that had rooms. That should have warned me enough I suppose. They offer no secure parking, the rooms are extremely cold and damp. When I requested they up their heating, they said it was already at max. I was so cold during the night I had to wear my jacket to warm me up.
The beds are very thin and frankly I would have slept on the floor if the carpets looked clean.
The rooms are not en-suite and by the time i went down for a shower (around 9am) there was no hot water left and there was a disgusting looking floating island left in the loo by someone. I had to go to my meeting without a shower and had to use the facilities there!
The staff are extremely rude and the owner would not even let me keep my luggage in the room before I paid him, which is a clever ply by them I suppose. If you took one look at the rooms you would not want to stay.
It better to drive further out to Kesgrave or Woodbridge rather than spending a night here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
592 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
2.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 41-43 Berners Street, Ipswich IP1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: £48 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing