We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great hotel in Ipswich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Forget about the price and stay here at least once if you are on business or holidaying in this area. Really good hotel that puts the large brands to shame. Well thought out, large rooms and an excellent restauarant that I use even when not staying at the hotel.

Great treat for an anniversary or special occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBumReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed at the Salthouse Harbour for just one night, whilst on a business trip locally. A group of us had dinner in the restaurant, which was excellent. But it was the bedrooms that had most impact. Spacious, comfortable, using the character of the old port building fully, it seemed a pity not to spend more time in the room! Overall a slightly quirky decor which maybe not everyone will like, but this reiewer did. Finally, good value for money. Its sister hotel, The Angel in Bury St Edmunds, is similarly recommended by those I was staying with. Looking for an excuse to return soon.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

What a lovely hotel. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite for our anniversary. The views across the Marina are very impressive helped by the telescope in the lounge area!! We did not eat in the hotel, but it looked very busy as was the lobby if you were having a drink. We had cooked breakfast in our room which was very nice. The hotel has it's own car park which is free. There are several bars and restaurants along the Marina which get very busy so you need to book. Just be aware there is a pub next door (Issacs) which gets very busy and a bit noisy until closing time, but if you are out for the evening you won't notice it. If you are going into town I recommend the K Bar for drinks and the Gandhi restaurant over the road for food, but again you need to book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side to Issacs if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grovsie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Believe the excellent reviews! We had a lovely stay in a clean, modern spacious room. Huge and comfortable bed, gorgeous bathroom, fantastic raindance shower. We got a parking space as we arrived fairly early on Friday evening but there's no way all guests would be able to get a space. I only have a few small criticisms that stopped me giving this hotel 5 stars. Firstly, there is no bar which is a shame, although it's prefectly pleasant to sit in the lobby overlooking the harbour, even if it was a but nippy on a cool October evening. We also found the room to be really really dark - please think about putting some stylish reading lamps over the bed. The decor is slightly off the wall and wacky so it would be nice to find something in a similar vein. Finally we would have liked a couple of coat hooks to hang up our jackets and there would have been room for these next to the wardrobe. The hotel is in a lovely setting on the harbour - Ipswich itself is a town of varying fortunes and it's not all as nice once you get out into the centre but we found the hotel to be an excellent base to explore Suffolk and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

We came to Ipswich to visit friends and my sister recommended the Salthouse Harbour Hotel. What a recommendation! The service was first class, welcoming and friendly. This is a 5 star boutique hotel. We loved the fact that breakfast was served to us. Everything was freshly prepared, from the orange juice and fruit salad to a delicious full Suffolk breakfast. We were never rushed to finish our meal and always felt relaxed and pampered. Our room was on the fourth floor, overlooking the marina. What a view! The room ticked all the boxes with a comfy bed, envigorating shower (which was separate from the bath), simple almost colonial furnishings and great tv. At 7 in the evening there was a knock at the door. "Would you like your tea and coffee topping up?" All in all this was a fabulous memory of a hotel. We can't wait to come back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jao1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Very lovely hotel, very modern and contemporary. There is lots of art work in every corner of the hotel which makes for a very interesting decor. Lovely rooms, comfortable and very clean. Overall a lovely weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is by far the best hotel my wife and I have stayed in for sometime having many to compare it with. The experience started upon arrival with the receptionist's greeting and having booked in the room and it's facilities were way above expectations. The bathroom was excellent and all necessary toiletries supplied. The shower was brilliant. The bed was very large and comfortable. We stayed one night whilst we attended a concert in the city centre which was just a 5 minute walk. The bar and service was very professional and offered sandwiches at any time. The breakfast was second to none and service to match. Apparently room service is available at no extra expense. An all round excellent stay which will be repeated in the near future with a longer stay in a superior room with a balcony to take in the excellent views.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the front have great views over the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
514 reviews
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
862 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range: £132 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing