We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I booked a night at the Salthouse for my husband and I as a surprise to celebrate our twentieth wedding anniversary. From start to finish it was an absolute delight. Charming reception staff, a stunning location, a beautiful room overlooking the marina and great ambience. As exhausted and overworked parents of three young children, we found the experience of lying on a bed watching tv and sipping tea almost unbearably enjoyable.

We had breakfast in bed the next morning - oh the joy! - and enjoyed every delicious mouthful. When we checked out, our car had been brought round to the front of the hotel.

We loved it. I can't recommend the Salthouse highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Ruth

I appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay. I was delighted you read that your 20th wedding anniversary was relaxing and enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to The Salthouse Harbour Hotel for your next anniversary.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    297
    82
    34
    14
See reviews for
103
763
29
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you are in Ipswich then pay the extra and stay here. In room 509. A large spacious room with an amazing view over the marina. The room is clean, well furnished, quiet and the bathroom is amazing.

The bedroom is a good size with large patios doors onto a small balcony. You can spend hours witting in comfortable chairs looking out across the marina, watching the boats come and go. And if you order Champagne and strawberries, it makes it even more special. We even slept with the curtains open to watch the sunrise!!

In the bathroom there is a large walk in shower and a bath in which you have a view across the bedroom and the marina. Or you can make the glass go frosty at the touch of the button if you want you privacy!! The beds are large, the décor slightly strange but fun. Statues of dogs either side of the bed with lampshades on their head!!

The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Check in was quick and easy. I had asked for a room on the top floor as far away from the pub next door as possible and that is what I got. There is also parking next to the hotel if you are there early enough all though this can get full up.

Breakfast is a good choice and tasty.

The hotel is located on the waterfront, 5 minutes from the centre of Ipswich, 10 minutes from the Cinema and a whole host of family restaurants. 15 minutes from the station. A great location.

We will definitely stay here again when back in Ipswich and hopefully in 509.

Room Tip: Get a loft room with a view across the marina on the top floor and ask to be as far away from the pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bezzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest

It was lovely to read your review of your stay at The Salthouse Harbour Hotel. I am glad that you had a wonderful time with us and I hope to be welcoming you back in the very near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
540 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I don't think I would ever want to spend a week end in Ipswich, but if I was, I would definitely spend it here. Very tasteful boutique hotel, with an eclectic mix of furniture and paintings (a few pieces I would want to buy for my flat), large rooms with big, comfortable beds and outstanding friendly service. There are a few nice details like the room key which make it just fun and special. I had a room with harbour view, beautiful.
Only thing that was not perfect was breakfast: the coffee machine was broken so no cappuccino and the filter coffee was positively horrible.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your stay The Salthouse Harbour Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back to in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, boutique style, we stayed on the fifth floor with a harbour balcony, copper bath in the room etc... Lovely!

Had an evening meal in the restaurant which was good, wouldn't say excellent. But no reason to not use. Staff were all very helpful and friendly, the only thing that let's this lovely hotel down is the area. The harbour is nice with some lovely boats on display, reminded me of Poole Harbour but the surrounding area is quite run down.

Great for a short break but not sure if you would find much in the locality to revel the standard of the hotel
Grea

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear David

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on The Salthouse Harbour Hotel, it is very much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future,

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

10 of us celebrated my husbands birthday in the restaurant and my husband and I stayed over. Our room overlooked the Waterfront and we watched the sun go down whilst sipping our Gin and Tonic. Room was very spacious and tastefully furnished. Bathroom had both a bath and shower and was spotlessly clean. Our meal was superb. 10 meals all served together and hot. Not one of our party was disappointed. Breakfast the following day was freshly cooked. The staff are efficient and charming.




Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suzie1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Suzie

I appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay at The Salthouse Harbour Hotel. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and your husbands birthday meal. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is such a lovely and modern hotel. Greeted by friendly staff who were nice and helpful.Had a room overlooking the harbour which was pleasant. The room was a spacious size and the bathroom was wonderful with both a separate bath and shower. Would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

It was lovely to read your review about your stay at The Salthouse Harbour Hotel. I am glad that you with us was enjoyable and I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
472 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a lovely quirky hotel with great views over the harbour. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. Dinner was excellent but slightly pricey. The only possible downside is that for a light sleeper it may be noisy as people leave neighbouring restaurants and pubs. We wIll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Karen

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Salthouse harbour Hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to The Salthouse Harbour Hotel in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing