We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (1,460)
    Filter reviews
    1,460 results
    Traveller rating
    970
    338
    97
    38
    17
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    970
    338
    97
    38
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscopper bathsail loftmarina roomthe penthousesalt housesister hotelscallopsin bury st edmundslovely hotelfront facingsuffolk breakfastafternoon teafree standing bathcar parkbreakfast in bedboutique hotelhuge bed
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    882 - 887 of 1,460 reviews
    Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

    We love staying in this hotel. Big room, big bathroom & big bed. The decor is colourful and unusual giving the hotel an individual feel. Minus points - restaurant was fully booked, can be slow service in bar area and the heating was not on in our room. Will definitely come back.

    • Stayed: February 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Fblogger
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

    Dear Guest

    Thank you for your feedback on your stay The Salthouse Harbour Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

    With Kind Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 February 2014

    Delightful Room and lovely bathroom. Dinner acceptable but not great, breakfast not too impressive - considering it was fairly quiet, they had no croissants and no apple juice (both were being offered)? Staff in reception fine - restaurant staff very scruffy - dirty aprons, talking to each other and not seeing to the customers. Very slow service.

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Hester K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 February 2014

    Excellent hotel in a interesting location right on Neptune's Quay! We stumbled upon this lovely unique boutique hotel with quirky bar and restaurant and will definitely return - service was superb, very good drinks menu and delicious portions of food for sharing. I imagine in summer when tables & chairs spill out on to the quayside it is delightful as well. However, the purple - pink ambient lighting, plush velvets and interesting artefacts created a very cosy experience on a dark February evening, and I especially love the floor to ceiling glass - a beautiful place to watch the world go by from.

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sonia M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

    Dear Sonia

    It was lovely to read your review about your recent visit to The Salthouse Harbour Hotel. I am glad that your time with us was enjoyable and I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

    With Kind Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 February 2014

    Stayed at Salthouse on "Grape Escape" package with loft room. Amazing room - what a bathroom! Bed was large and comfortable. Staff were attentive without being overbearing, waiting staff particularly pleasant and engaging. We managed to see and do alot in a day in the surrounding area - would definately recommend. Thanks

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank lizzie3010
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    LynnCowan, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

    Dear Guest

    Thank you for your feedback on your stay, I am glad that you enjoyed our Grape Escape package at The Salthouse Harbour Hotel. I hope we can welcome you back to The Salthouse in the near future.

    With Kind Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 February 2014

    Stayed here for a Valentine treat in a Marina Sail Loft room. Excellent room, beautifully furnished with lovely view of the marina. Bathroom was exceptional. Public area also very attractive and quirky in design, although we were surprised that there was no bar and the only lounge area rather small and lobby like.
    Dining and service, however, were a big disappointment. We waited 30 minutes for a pre dinner drink and had to chase it three times before it arrived. The menu for dinner offered limited choices, for example the two fish dishes were coley and cod. Not very tempting for a valentine menu. I opted for a beet root salad starter which was not bad but tiny (£6.95) and the cod which was even smaller served with burned potatoes and not much else (£16.50) I have to say this particular charge was disgusting. The panna cotta pudding was delicious and a normal size. My husband opted for ribeye steak at £22.95 which was very thin, rarer than requested and greasy and tasteless. Service in this beautiful dining room was chaotic and uncoordinated (ordering a bottle of wine was stressful to say the least).
    Lest you should think this poor meal ws due to a busy evening, breakfast was another disappointment. My Suffolk Grill had obviously been standing somewhere warm for quite some time as it was dried up and inedible and was sent back only to be very apologetically replaced by another only slightly improved.
    This one night stay cost £400, quite a lot of money these days and we were expecting something really special but were badly let down. It is a shame the service and restaurant did not live up to the promise of the rest of the hotel.
    In retrospect we obviously should have complained at the time but did not want to spoil the occasion even more, silly I know.

    Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    Thank 279Pat
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews