We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit pricey but you do get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bit pricey but you do get what you pay for”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here twice, once for my 40th and the other time New Years Eve. Both times had a great experience. We had one of the rooms with the copper bath in overlooking the harbour which was lovely. The staff were helpful and friendly and unobtrusive. As for the food, well, divine!! Highly recommend staying here but be prepaired for it to hurt your bank balance!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sherrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    309
    86
    34
    15
See reviews for
110
793
30
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The room was luxurious with a comfortable bed, lovely armchairs and a fantastic powerful walk in shower. The hotel is very nicely decorated with lots of art pieces dotted about. Breakfast was very good, quality bacon and sausage. The staff were attentive and polite. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brandersnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Had a lovely stay, however I would not use the restaurant again, found the food pricey and bland and boring. Better surrounding eateries. Also breakfast portions are very small. You pay a good price and would expect more for your money. Still rate 4/5 as the hotel itself is clean and modern. Maybe with bigger portions I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWALWA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our large room overlooked the tranquil Harbour and was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. An excellent location to explore the local area, it is ideally situated to the town. Service was very good, staff attentive and polite. During our two night stay we dined in just the once and the food was excellent. Enjoyed our stay and we will be coming back.

Room Tip: A room with a harbour view is essential. I initially researched through one of the many hotel sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Superb in every way. Fabulous room, overlooking the marina and in old part of hotel so felt like a loft conversion with plenty of space and character. Two huge chairs so you can rwad or watch TV without lying on the bed, great features all round. Food very good, we had the "grape escape" option which was great value (but if staying more than 2 nights can be a bit repetitive - they may change that) But beautifully prepared and presented. Staff - to a person in whatever department) so helpful and pleasant whilst being just casual enough to make it friendly whilst respectful.
Used it as a base to explore Suffolk and that worked very well Some good restaurants (chains and independent) within a short walk so very easy to vary the options.
Couldn't ask for more in a hotel!.

Room Tip: 206 was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Yes, everyone else can ramble on about what a lovely location it is, how well presented the rooms are, how the blackboard specials in the restaurant are good food reasonably priced, how there's only a small car park but that doesn't really matter as you just leave your keys with reception and let them worry about it, how there's no shortage of power sockets in the room and there's strong WiFi everywhere.

But some travellers crave excitement, like nothing more than to be pinned against the wall of the shower cubicle, pummeled relentlessly by a hundred tiny jets of water, barely able to contain their joy at the stresses and strains of a long day being removed as if one were using an industrial jetwash to free a butterfly from its cocoon. This is one of those rare delights, but please, for your own safety don't turn the dial past two ...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for one night in March and the hotel was in easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. The room was great, the bed was a little hard (but that's just me).

So overall a great hotel in a great location. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disco1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing