We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“special occasion”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband booked a room for my big birthday. The room was lovely and they managed to fit in extra beds for the children. Afternoon tea was great but we were not allowed to reduce our order from 3 to 2. I enjoyed a bath whilst my husband took the children for a walk. We all got ready for dinner and went down. We were very disappointed to see they had changed the children's menu. My husband had even researched online to check there was something the children would eat. We were very disappointed the children's menu was changed and we ended up walking into town to find somewhere to eat. Once we got back to the room we all settled down for the night, it was a shame that the children's beds smelt of food!!! The hotel rooms are lovely but please double check the children's menu if u have fussy eaters!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 79nellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    314
    87
    34
    15
See reviews for
112
798
30
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice now and each time has been absolutely perfect. The staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly and can't do enough for you. The rooms are perfect and have been decorated beautifully and to a very high standard. The views from the rooms are perfect and it is wonderful to be able to stand and look out over the Docks and people watch.

I will be staying here again if I have events to go to in Ipswich.

Room Tip: All views are beautiful but the best are facing the docks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The staff were all more than helpful during our two-night stay. The building enjoys a stunning location overlooking the harbour with yachts bobbing up and down on the water and has been very sympathetically restored and transformed and the only part of the hotel that feels like an old warehouse is the bubble-wrap vinyl stair covering.
The room was very comfortable, the TV an unusually good size. the mattress inducing sleep immediately, and the shower with a full-on power hit.
Although the breakfasts were freshly cooked, I wouldn't have been happy to pay the non-resident rate of £15 for unevenly cooked toast and a minimal size breakfast that'd be OK if you're into cereals, yoghurt and croissants before the real fry-up deal. A plus is the fresh juice - fresh and delicious!
We decided not to eat in the restaurant for evening meals as the menu was quite restricted for our tastes.
Would we stay again? Definitely!

Room Tip: Get one with a view over the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihavetastebuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed a few years ago and was back for an overnight stop. BIG improvements in lobby, rooms and restaurant, but still, excellent service overall. Loved the very unfussy Internet connection (no need to ask reception for a password). Shower was like Niagara Falls (only a slight exaggeration), very quiet room (at the side room) and slept very well. Lovely dinner (leisurely pace) and fab breakfast - appropriately attentive staff. Was very relaxed for the following day of wall to wall meetings.
Will return. Thank you

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of my visit. The room was very modern and clean; internet access was fast and free; the bar and restaurant areas were excellent; parking was free and available; the location was good. I would certainly return and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: It can be a little noisy if your room faces the water, so an alternative view is recommended if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4d6f6e7465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Second stay in 3 months and as good as the first. Staff bend over backwards to help out.

Had to leave before 8 but breakfast not served until 8, so bacon sandwiches (one in GLUTEN-FREE bread, fruit, juice and coffee, toast all served in our lovely, spacious room (no extra charge). No fuss they were happy to oblige. In fact it was a good move. We had the doors open, eating breakfast, watching the sun rise over the marina. A great start to the day would recommend it.

Check in seamless as ever, a lovely bunch of flowers provided for my wife, champagne and strawberries in the room. Indulge in the extra if you can.

Complimentary drink for an upgraded room. This was new since I last stayed but very welcome. We chose to eat at the restaurant. We sat and had our free drink looking out over the marina, they came and took our order and then took us to our table when it was ready. So nice to sit and drink looking out across the marina rather than sitting in the restaurant. Food was lovely, GLUTEN FREE catered for with knowledgeable staff who gave you confidence that what you were eating was okay.

Stayed in the same room again 509. Large room, large bed, great views across the marina. You can look at the view from the bath of change the glass to frosty if you want privacy. A lovely touch. All clean and comfortable.

Ipswich City Centre is a 10 minute walk with every shop imaginable. A great place to visit.

You really cannot ask for more from a hotel and we will always come back here every time we want a break away.

I definitely recommend this hotel. And if you can afford the upgrade with a view, do it!!! Room 509 (unless I am staying there!!)

Room Tip: Room 509. Upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bezzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is an old quayside warehouse which was converted into an hotel. It proved its worth, so it was doubled in size. Guests will quickly percieve the defferences between the two parts - decor, furnishings, quirkiness, lift speed etc. What is common to both are the brilliant views over the marina basin - worth paying extra for the rooms with a view. There is an omission, that is the lack of any conference room for group use. I took a group of 40 and the dining room was frankly inadequate for such a large number to dine together - 28 might be a more comfortable proposition. Parking is by valet for private cars: coaches have to reverse into the small car park against the flow of two lanes of traffic in a one-way-street (the locals are none too patient about this!) The food is just about 4-star standard. The dining room lacks in supervision, so that whether you wait a short or long time for your food is somewhat of a lottery. The Reception staff and domestic staff do any excellent job. Next door is a pub/restaurant (different ownership) which a viable alternative venue for eating - from this establishment issues loud noises at certain times of day, so be advised to ask for a room as far from that end of the hotel as possible (i.e. choose the contemporary part of the building).

Room Tip: Elect for a bedroom in the new section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anything1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
991 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
20.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing