We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great nights sleep”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have booked into this hotel many times and they are friendly and courteous (as you would expect). I have never been disappointed and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ipswich. The marina is a bonus.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    316
    87
    34
    15
See reviews for
113
805
30
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this hotel after seeing it advertised in a Sunday paper and never having been to Ipswich before we decided to go somewhere different for a change. We were not disappointed, the is a really stylish boutique hotel located right on the marina, close to bars and restaurants. Our room on the 4th floor was amazing, looking out to all the fabulous boats from the picture windows.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Came here on a work event - the first room I stayed in was a little dark so I skied if there was another available that had abit more natural light. I was moved to a corner room which was absolutely gorgeous ! Lots of natural light and beautiful views of Ipswich and the harbour. I was extremely impressed.

The hotel doesn't have much in way of facilities like a gym or spa, it has a restaurant and a small lounge area but we were here when the weather was brilliant so didn't need the additional facilities and were able to appreciate the lovely views of the harbour and take a walk around very easily.

I loved this hotel, but it would probably depend on the rooms you get. I was very pleased with the room I was moved to- huge with a beautiful view!

Breakfast arrives at a leisurely pace and that can be fine. I thought the breakfast was ok- based on a set menu where you select what you would like, but it would have been good if they had moe options for vegetarian eaters, but I suppose I didn't ask to check if alternative were possible so I cannot comment further.

Overall, I was really impressed with this boutique hotel and would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 9lobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This has got to be one of the best hotels that we love so much we keep coming back
We have seen it grow into what it is now but it is not resting on it laurels it is continuing to work had to maintain its standards
We love this place for the summer days and it's sister hotel for a cold winters night
Brilliant

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Surreysurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a wonderful 2 night stay here to celebrate my birthday. As part of the package we had chocolate covered strawberries and fizz which were in our room on arrival. My only one small complaint was that on the second night we had to ring reception as the fizz and strawberries had not been placed in our room and when it did arrive the strawberries were not covered in chocolate as stated.
We had room 210 which had a perfect view over the harbour and I loved the quirky features such as the pelican lamps by the bed and the fact you could sit in the bath and look out through the bedroom to the view though also pleased this view could be frosted when needed.
Breakfast was plentiful and while they staff were busy they were on hand if needed.
Would certainly visit again for the setting and for all the quirky artwork that was placed around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here last night in one of their penthouse suites. It was one of their deals called suite Sunday, half price rooms! The room was just fantastic. Massive bed, our own lounge overlooking the marina, air con, gorgeous bathroom, little touches that made it so wonderful.

The staff on arrival were fantastic and friendly. We had booked a table in their restaurant but we had met a couple during the day that said the food really wasn't great and the service was extremely poor. We then checked on TA for reviews and many reviews matched what we was told so we changed our minds last minute and went down the road to the waterfront - highly recommend, it was fabulous!! Food was outstanding and we are so pleased that we went.

I recommend anyone to stay at this hotel, make use of their deals, they have many and treat yourself to a cheeky night away. We was fortunate to have fantastic weather so this made it all that but more special. The pub next door was brilliant, music, great atmosphere and good location.

THANK YOU for such a lovely night away.......

Room Tip: Penthouse suite room 604
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmyall208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fabulous hotel in a central marina location over looking the marina harbour. Room size was adequate, and we had a partial harbour view being at the end of the building.
On arrival we had a bottle of Prosecco on ice, which was part of the package from Secret Escapes.
There is adequate parking and hotel porters move the cars around during the day for the guests, so no need to worry when you’ve had a drink.
Evening meal was nice had fresh cod and wife had steak and cooked to perfection.
Disastrous breakfast which seemed to apply to another 2 couples sitting by us. Firstly asked for a pot of tea, had to wait 8 minutes for tea to arrive, but no milk. There is no eye contact and they seem very busy. I counted 14 other guest, and 4 waiters. Twice I asked for the milk. Toast eventually arrived but no butter. In the end had to get up and get the butter my self from another table. When our Suffolk grill turned up, only 1 came out, and after a few minutes I said excuse me we ordered 2 breakfast’s, there was no problem the other breakfast arrived in 2 minutes.
It’s the worst service I’ve experienced, but its such a lovely place that we are going back in August which is prime lobster season

Room Tip: 206 or 208 looking out over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_sherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
991 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing