We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position looking over the quay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great position looking over the quay”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very trendy hotel with a great lobby, great breakfast and evening meal. Rooms very nice . Been several times and never been let down. 10 minute walk into the centre of town. Lots of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurora2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    314
    87
    34
    15
See reviews for
112
798
30
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have visited this hotel many times now and each time the standards are high it is a treat to return and an excellent position by the harbour. Room beautifully appointed and clean and very comfy beds. Breakfast excellent

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANZ8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We really enjoyed our weekend which so happened to be the Maritime weekend which we had not known when booking...Our comfortable stay at this hotel was very good..our room 308 and view of the harbour was great...even though we did not have a balcony...All staff very welcoming and helpful and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Ideal location for Seeing Suffolk....

Room Tip: View of harbour is lovely to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRIPPERS.BAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a bargain break night here, with a bottle of Prosecco on arrival, a lovely room and a wonderful full English breakfast, all for not a lot.
The room, on the 4th floor, was lovely and big, although the window was small for the size of the room, and only a third of it opened; not enough on a hot night. There was a fan in the cupboard though.
The bed was lovely and the bedding was luxurious. The bathroom was spacious with a bath and a separate shower, but the stupidest tap I have ever seen. In order to get hot water in the sink one had to turn the tap through the cold water, so from nothing to torrent, and then keep turning to get to hot. As far as I can see it means you can't have a gentle dribble of luke warm water. And there was no magnifying mirror in there.
Strangely, there was no safe or fridge either, but lovely coffee and biscuits were ready and waiting on the table.
Breakfast was fabulous and one could mix and match from the light menu and the full English. Even though we only live up the road from this hotel, I think we shall stay here again, next time I find one of their bargain nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camphillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just visited this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room was amazing! It had a huge comfortable bed, balcony with a harbour view, a free standing copper bath as well as a shower room! There were also little things that make a difference: a cafetiere with ground coffee, bath robes, free wifi, (it's amazing how many hotels still charge!) and lovely extra small toiletries like conditioner and body lotion!
We had a meal in the restuarant on a busy Saturday evening (during the Maritime Festival) it was fantastic. My husband is not one to give praise, he is a bit of an 'it's alright' man, but even he agreed the food was excellent. The staff were young but very attentive and the service was excellent.
The Maritime Festival meant a lot was going on and we were concerned that the noise might be an issue, but when we closed the balcony doors all was silent! We would certainly stay again and would ask for room 507 again. A great hotel in a great location!

Room Tip: Top floor, harbour view with a balcony. Room 507 had a big copper bath and a huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonjoy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is amazing! It is the coolest place I have ever stayed with Gilbert and George and Damien Hirst artwork on the walls along with other cool decor. The staff are brilliant - very young but really well trained in customer service - we felt very much at home and were treated extremely well - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was divine - on the corner with views over the marina from every window. Bed huge and comfy, bathroom large and luxurious - loved it. The restaurant is excellent too.

Room Tip: I loved our room which was on the first floor on a corner with double aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirribillisarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visited on the B&B Treat deal just over a week ago and had a very plesant stay here. The locaiton overlooking the harbour is great and the days we were there it was gloriously sunny, so sitting by the harbour and watching the workd go by was a lovely way to spend the afternoon. The hotel is very clean, our room was appointed nicely and had a large walk in shower and free standing bath. Aircon was a dream as it was so hot, and the bed is enormous. I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
16.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
991 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
985 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Property: Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing