We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Beautifully appointed hotel in an excellent quayside position. Lovely quirky decor. Rooms have everything. Very comfortable bed. Really good bathroom with full size bath and separate shower. Delicious breakfasts which were beautifully presented. All the staff were keen to help and very polite. Spent 2 nights on a midweek break in Suffolk and the hotel provided everything we wanted. Would certainly stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Front facing the marina, but as higher floor as possible, as evening revellers were rather loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudithAylott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

just had an amazing weekend here - last minute booking but was so glad we went - lovely staff and all the food was delicious (much better than a place along the street where we ate the first night - should have stayed in the hotel to eat) - room was very spacious as well. 5 mins walk into the town and easy parking at hotel will definitely be returning - thank you all for a lovely visit

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuttynetty1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband & I spent 2 nights at the Salthouse this weekend. It is ideally situated for sight seeing surrounding Suffolk. The staff were very friendly & could have not have been more helpful with parking the car when we arrived late on the Friday night The hotel is a bit different - decorated with an eclectic mix of furniture & fittings throughout the rooms & public areas - excellent conversation pieces. Room service breakfast at no extra cost is definitely recommended.
Our only disappointment was the view from the room - we had a town facing view with just houses to see out of the window. When we visit again we would definitely pay the extra for a marina view.

Room Tip: Choose a marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RichardandWendy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed only one night in this wonderful hotel but had a penthouse suite which was magnificent. Superb view over the harbour and very well appointed room and bathroom. We happened to arrive on the day of the maritime festival so very much enjoyed all the activity on the harbour in the afternoon, then the fireworks in the evening. Very lucky! We had dinner in the hotel which was very good. Service was excellent. Very happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a penthouse suite which was marvellous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

It was our wedding anniversary and I thought we should have something special so I booked the penthouse apartment . What a mistake, one of the hottest days of the year a Saturday in fact took our luggage up stairs no help was offered and we are both in our middle 60s thought we will turn the air conditioning on to find out that it didn't work. And no fridge in the room for our drinks, we complained they couldn't fix the air conditioning so we was put in a standard room, then when we checked out the receptionist wanted to charge us for the penthouse , NEVER AGAIN.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel provided an excellent base from which to explore Suffolk. It has a great location on Neptune Quay with plenty of bars nearby and the town centre within an easy walk.

The hotel itself is fitted out to a high (if somewhat quirky) standard and our bedroom (no. 402) was spacious, spotlessly clean, comfortable and very well equipped.

We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant one evening (reasonable choice and price) and an excellent breakfast each morning.

Thank you to all the hotel staff for your friendly, helpful and efficient service. Special mention to James and Danni in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a small balcony and a partial harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JandJWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great with different furniture and decorations and vibrant colours.The room was equally great.Spacious,interesting and furnished to a high quality.Ideal base for the waterfront with parking at hotel.Breakfast was tasty and although we didn't eat any other meals at the hotel would definitely do next time.Thanks for a great time

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
559 reviews
16 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,073 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,270 reviews
5.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range: £133 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing