We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great half board mid week break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I booked this break to do some exploring in Constable Country. Having read through other reviews of this hotel, we were pleasantly surprised how nice the place was, and not nearly as tired looking as we'd been led to believe. It has to be said that the dining room is in need of a spruce up but everywhere else was fine. We did as suggested and booked a room overlooking the gardens. It was clean quiet and spacious. The breakfast was great and there was a good choice on the three course evening menu which was different each night. I made use of the pool in the mornings after breakfast and there was only ever three or four others in there. It was easy to find (with the satnav) and well located for visiting the area of Dedham and Flatford etc. I would recommend it to anyone and I would visit Belstead Brook again.

Room Tip: We were in room 422 which was overlooking the garden and tucked away at the end of a corridor. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendywilshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the recommendations you make concerning the hotel and our services. I was delighted to learn how pleasantly surprised you were with the hotel, and that you found the leisure facilities and restaurant to your satisfaction. The hotel certainly is in a great location for visiting all the local attractions

Chris Holden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at Belstead Brook Hotel in the beginning of March '12. We had a lovely time, we stayed in one of the garden rooms, which was basic, but very clean and spacious. The hotel has a great swimming pool area with sauna and steam rooms. The water in the swimming pool was also lovely and warm to swim in which was nice. The staff at the hotel are all fantastic and cannot do enough for you. I would definately recommend that you try the hotel's restaurant, we had an amazing three course dinner, we couldn't fault the quality. Breakfast is set out as self service and is also prepared to a high standard. Thank you Belstead Brook we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to learn you enjoyed the facilities and services that we were able to provide for you and are most grateful to you for you endorsements of them. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chris Holden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We booked midweek for 2 nights. Requested a garden view, but there was a big tree outside which blocked a lot of sunlight. The room was a good size and very clean. The TV was on its last legs though, with very poor sound. The spa and pool were amazing, and we found any excuse to go there. Breakfast was in either of 3 rooms, all with slightly different themes, in the old part of the hotel; plenty of character. Service was excellent at all times, and staff very courteous and helpful. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterJon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the constructive comments and feedback you provided. We hope to replace some of the TV’s in the near future.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and services provided and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Chris Holden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Dear Vicky
John and I would like to say a very big thank you, to all the staff
who worked in making our night special. The food was out of this world
everyone and I mean everyone said they really enjoyed it.
Darrell and the rest of the bar staff and
the duty manager Steve was so helpfull we cannot praise them
enough so please say a very big thank you to everyone
I LOVED it. So thank you again

Regards

Jenny John Harvey

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Congratulations on your Ruby wedding anniversary. Thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to learn that you all enjoyed the celebrations. Your thanks have been passed on the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Chris Holden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon. Had a beautiful suite overlooking the 'brook'. Room was very clean, extremely spacious and there was a wedding congratulations card in our room from the staff (nice touch). Extremely good value for the size and quality of the room. Will be going back there sometime soon for sure. :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Congratulations on your recent marriage. Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon at Belstead Brook. We were delighted to learn that you liked the suite and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Chris Holden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I had been having a very difficult time with 3 deaths in the family and a serious illness so we really wanted to go somewhere for a few days to completely unwind and relax. As we approached the hotel I was a bit disconcerted by the housing estate surrounding it and wondered if it would be able to provide the peace and quiet that we needed. I need not have worried. we had a lovely room at the back of the hotel and heard nothing from the outside at all.
We were able to relax in the gorgeous pool and spa. The breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice even for someone on a diabetic diet like me. The dining room was relaxing and the waiters friendly and courteous. We only had dinner there on one evening as our daughter came and took us into Ipswich for a meal on a boat on the quay , but the one evening when we did eat in the hotel we found it of very good quality although maybe a little small in quantity.
The hotel is conveniently situated for visits to Constable country and to Ipswich. It was just what we needed and we hope to return to the hotel again soon..

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel, preferably on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the positive comments you provided. Despite the location and the development of housing estates, the hotel is set in a quiet, relaxing surroundings, and we are delighted you were able to unwind and relax.

Your complimentary comments concerning the services and facilities provided during your stay are much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

Chris Holden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had a three night break with my wife on a DBB basis which proved to be excellent value for money. The hotel whist surrounded by modern housing is in a quiet location and well signposted from the main roads and ideal for visiting Suffolk coast and country and Constable country. I agree with other reviews that the hotel is very clean and tidy but could do with a bit updating and that the staff are very friendly and helpful. If I could share one anecdote; After checking in I asked the receptionist for directions into the centre of Ipswich and was told there were road works on the main road in, which were best avoided. She than provided me with printed directions avoiding the main roads which got me into the centre of Ipswich within ten minutes (by car). I would never have found this route on my own and they proved invaluable during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeB2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thanks for posting your review. We were delighted to learn that you considered your stay excellent value for money, and that you found the printed instructions for the directions into town useful. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Chris Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
559 reviews
11 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
914 reviews
7.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel

Address: Belstead Road | Suffolk, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: £44 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 88 Bedroom Hotel set in our own grounds but only a 5 minute Drive into Ipswich Town centre. The Manor House section of the Hotel is the original part of the building dating back to the 16th century and a lot of the original fittings still remain and this is also the location of the Restaurant . We also have the leisure centre which is free to use for all guests this includes Swimming Pool, Steam room, Jacuzzi, Gym and treatments are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing