We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Have just returned from a two night stay on bed, breakfast and evening meal deal. Outstanding value and the staff at Belstead Brook are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast offered an excellent choice of both hot and cold food. Evening meal on the 3 course set menu was extremely good and a choice of starters, mains and desserts. Nice touches of jugs of iced water and rolls on table. We did order a bottle of wine as well, but did see vast majority of diners who just used the table water which for those of a set budget made the stay even more of an outstanding deal. Restaurant were so helpful and attentive. Yes the rooms and ensuite do need a bit of an update, but were very clean with spotless linen and towels. The leisure centre was an extra luxury on offer and we made use of that and found it very relaxing and always managed to find a comfortable sun lounger to sit and read on after using the pool, sauna, steam room and massive jacuzzi. You could also purchase hot drinks and snacks where they had a roped off area for you to dine. Plenty of magazines and free water for you to help yourself to as well. We found it an ideal base for days out to Sutton Hoo, Orwell Castle, Woodbridge and Framlingham Castle. On the one rainy day we browsed around Ipswich and relaxed in the hotels leisure centre. The rooms were very quite as well. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor overlooking stream. Only downsize was that window only opened a fraction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcc1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for posting your positive review. We were delighted to learn that your enjoyed your stay and that you found the facilities and services provided to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area..

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    354
    186
    86
    52
See reviews for
178
444
41
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Unfortunately since we last stayed the hotel has gone down hill.
The room :-
Pillowcases inside out, extremely hot, cobwebs, dust everywhere, big toenails found on carpet, the telephone never been cleaned as it was thick black grime and dirt, tv missing channels, bathroom filthy, couldn't leave window open as only went wide and on ground floor, horrible smell in room and corridors, wallpaper peeling and walls stained where paper is so old.
Staff didn't ask on check in whether we wanted to book dinner, papers, we had to ask about everything.
Dinner:-
Fish full of bones, bay leaf left in, steak overcooked, waited 1.5hrs just for one course.
Staff not very smart or professional.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpoo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion. It is clear that we need to ensure that our services are maintained at a consistently high level at all times. This is something we strive to achieve and are proud that we get it right the majority of the time, but recognize that we do not meet all guests’ expectations every time.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a DBB basis. The hotel is not the easiest to find for the first time visitor but check-in was friendly and efficient and the bedroom was spacious and reasonably clean, apart from a dark stain on one of the sheets which was rather off-putting. The bed was rather uncomfortable with neither of us getting a really good nights sleep during our stay but the room was well appointed with an iron, trouser press and flat screen TV. The ensuite bathroom was also spacious but was looking rather tired and dated, with tarnished handles and grout missing from the tiling.
Dinner on both evenings was very good although the service was rather quirky with only one set of knives and forks laid out for a three course meal and the salt and pepper taken away with indecent haste straight after the main course, although all the staff were friendly. A bread roll (or two) was included and a jug of water was on the table although coffee was extra, which we thought a little mean. Breakfasts were of the buffet style and again very good, with a good choice of items and the cooked food was replenished regularly, especially the fried eggs and so did not suffer from drying out as happens regularly at other hotels with this type of buffet service. The dining area could do with a lick of paint and the carpet cleaning but having said that we have stayed in hotels in much worse condition.
Overall a friendly, pleasant stay and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
We thank you for your constructive review following your recent stay with us and were pleased that you enjoyed the food and services provided. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

What a lovely relaxing hotel! We were made to feel so at home, the staff were very freindly! I took my other half there for his birthday for the night there was even a birthday card waiting for him in the room from the staff!

I asked for an en suite but got an ensuite with a seperate lounge (room 501). It was very very clean! I looked very closely as i used to be in charge of housekeeping for another hotel! I couldnt of faulted it! We went out to eat of the evening but only as it was somewhere that i wanted my other half to go nearby so cant comment on the restaurant of an evening, however, breakfast was wonderful! Not only is the restaurant very cosy and well presented, there is a seperate room with a hot buffet, a cold and a european, eat what ever you fancy! The pool was superb, check out the pictures of it on their website!

Now heres a thing to pay attention to!!!! I checked on several different sites for offers on the hotel --- dont bother-- the hotel gave me a better deal then any of the sites, deal with them directly, dont think that you wont be able to afford it!!! This is a lovely hotel! Cant reccomend highly enough! It was ideal for a treat for a birthday We will be going back!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
The whole team would like to thank you for the complimentary review of your stay. We are delighted that you were pleased with the facilities and services provided, particularly the housekeeping standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, berkshire,uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Belstaed Brook hotel is one I have stayed at probably 12 to 15 times over the last decade or so and it is surprisingly unchanged over that time. I hadn't stayed for the last two years however and as it was a free weekend, booked a 2 night "romantic break". £109 for dinner bed and breakfast per night.
Amazingly got the same room as 2 years ago. It was oddly still sort of 1970s. It had been redecorated, but furniture was somewhat worn (though comfortable). The TV was still the large cathode ray tube type, took about a minute to warm up and 50% of the channels had heavy interference (just like 2 years ago).
Didn't use the leisure facilities, though plenty of residents seemed to be doing so - I assume they did as they were wandering around the hotel in damp dressing gowns both during the day and also in the restaurant at breakfast - is it me or are expectations and manners dropping?
The dinner first night was very good, 3 courses from a £21.00 table d'hote menu. The second night was a different matter, tasteless soup and duck (me) and burnt duck (wife). Glass of wine my wife ordered at time of ordering came 5 mins into main course despite 2 reminders. Excuse? "We are very busy!" Oh dear, I thought I was in a hotel restaurant - my mistake obviously. So, 2 very unsatisfactory dinners and we were credited with a bottle of wine. How romantic it turned out. Although the receptionist at checkout knew of the wine credit, we were not asked how things had been on our stay, though when I queried why my paper order had not beed received, I was informed that it had been delivered to another room, BUT I was not being charged for it. Thankful for small mercies I suppose.
Overall, a reasonable hotel for an overnight stay, but facilities not up to an extended visit if paying for oneself.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkshirebod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write such a through review and we do appreciate your feedback. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, particularly with dinner on the second night. We are aware that we have a need for some upgrades to our facilities and are currently in the process of upgrading our televisions. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel a year ago and decided to repeat the experience due to the excellent previous stay. In the main, we were very pleased again: good car parking; helpful receptionist at check in and out; very nice spa area although looking a bit tired in the changing areas. The room we had was of a good size and very clean; bathroom was a bit tired but clean. Restaurant food was very good both at dinner and breakfast although service at dinner could have been improved slightly. Very handy location for Ipswich and hotel situated in lovely grounds. Would recommend and use again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lind012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thanks for your positive review concerning the services and facilities at the hotel on your return visit. The team was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience again and thank you for the recommendation that you have given.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

After reading reviews on line i was a feeling like i booked the wrong hotel for a spa break but i after a great weekend i would recommend this hotel and its good value for money. Room was a bit dated but was clean and bathroom was clean with plenty of towels so for one night it was fine. Had lovely massage (defiantly recommend) with use of swimming pool, steam room, and sauna again was all clean and welcoming. Staff were all friendly, beauty staff and restaurant staff especially. Food was perfect, didn't have to wait long and was very tasty. Breakfast was a nice, big selection and using the pool before you check out is worth it especially if you have had a few vinos the night before!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view - we had a sky liner window and wouldn't open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoleessex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBI, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We were all delighted to learn of your positive experiences at Belstead Brook and thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
468 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
558 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
818 reviews
7.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel

Property: Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Address: Belstead Road | Suffolk, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 88 Bedroom Hotel set in our own grounds but only a 5 minute Drive into Ipswich Town centre. The Manor House section of the Hotel is the original part of the building dating back to the 16th century and a lot of the original fittings still remain and this is also the location of the Restaurant . We also have the leisure centre which is free to use for all guests this includes Swimming Pool, Steam room, Jacuzzi, Gym and treatments are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing