We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed 19 July 2014

With b&b's in the area being quite expensive, we opted for this hotel knowing that it wouldn't be the Ritz! To be fair, most of it was ok. The hotel is tired which is a shame because some of the building is really quaint and with some investment, it could be quite nice. Our room was Travelodge standard, but as we only wanted somewhere to sleep, we didn't require much more. The breakfast was pretty standard too. For £66 a night for two people, I didn't find anything to really complain about, although I probably wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank docfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. There is likely to be a change of ownership shortly and it is highly probable that the necessary investment will be undertaken in the hotel. With the facilities that we have, the prices will no doubt reflect the investment in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Gabby in the treatment room was fantastic. Everything else was like Fawlty Towers. Our room was upgraded as the one we were given smelt awful but the executive room we were upgraded to was scruffy and tired.
The restaurant staff were friendly but in dire need of training, we had butter on the table but were only offered bread once we had finished our starters.
One poor man in the bar was waiting for food which had been given to someone else but the good news was they weren't going to charge him!!! The waiter said the chef had finished hot food but he could offer a Panini, about twenty minutes later he came back and said chef would only do a sandwich - they had the cheek to still charge him for the sandwich!!
On check out this morning someone asked for a latte in the reception area, when the receptionist phoned the kitchen to order it she was told that they couldn't do a latte before eleven o'clock.
There was lots more but it gets a bit boring. So there you have it, we had such a laugh though but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TortoiseshellEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for your review of your recent stay. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your spa treatment and that you were provided with such entertainment during your stay but sorry to hear of the experiences of other guests I am surprised that you found the Executive Room you were allocated scruffy and tired. They were all decorated within the last 18 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here with my best friend as a mid-week spa offer. The hotel itself is really lovely, especially impressive is the Reception area and the Receptionists we dealt with were both friendly, polite and professional. There were flowers and chocolates in our room and lovely fluffy 'mocha' robes (not the stiff, white towelling ones you normally get) on the beds. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and very well presented and we made our way down to the pool soon after arriving and just prior to the pedicure/manicure we had booked for later in the afternoon. The pool area is really nice, with palm trees and an interesting shaped pool, there is also a steam and sauna room and a large jacuzzi. There are comfy sun loungers with cushions and magazines to read, a water machine and a tea/coffee machine too.

Included in our offer was a 3 course dinner, there was an excellent choice (particularly for me as I'm a fussy vegetarian) and both our meals were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. A good nights sleep was followed by an excellent breakfast with ample choice from the usual cooked breakfast to cereal/croissants/juices/yoghurts/fruit. A particularly nice touch I thought were the bowls of a variety of nuts and dried fruit with the yoghurt.

Definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant and keep an eye open for spa break offers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chairofbowlies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent Spa Break with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the facilities and services to your satisfaction. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wonderful return to this hotel wih our 3yo & 6yo who fondly call this 'dolphin swimming pool hotel'. Our best family room yet, it was huge with a double bed, single and double sofabed, still lots of room to move around. Always really clean and welcoming. The food is great with 3 choices for the inclusive dinner option and ideal kids menu, I really enjoyed the pie, my husband the lamb, the kids love the soup. Breakfast is superb mix of cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurt and cooked; which you help yourself to. There was a prom on the night we stayed - entertaining as they arrived and didn't interfere with our stay. Good spa and pool, nice brook, free wi-fi. Little old fashioned but good value

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent return visit to us. We are glad your children enjoyed the “dolphin pool” and that you found the hotel clean and welcoming and that you found the dining experiences to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Booked this Hotel as recommended by a colleague as was visiting nearby Ipswich and Felixstowe. Lovely looking building, room was very nice and clean, pool and gym were a great added bonus, food on the evening was really good and breakfast the next morning was superb. The staff who I met were all very welcoming and will certainly be returning when in the area again(next week in fact). I'm looking forward to another relaxing stay after a long day driving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay following a recommendation by your colleague. Your complimentary comments about the facilities and service are much appreciated and have been passed on to the team. It is good to know when we have satisfied customers and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for one night as a birthday present for my girlfriend - the best thing about this place is the pool. The rest of the hotel is old fashioned and austere. Tried to book spa treatments in advance to be told they were fully booked. Worst bit was the evening meal - we prepaid our meals before arrival only to be told that they didn't have what we asked for on the menu. Having been told by our waiter that we would not pay any extra if we chose an alternative meal an extra £19 was slapped on our bill on departure.

Despite our complaints this was not resolved.

Would not stay here again - totally soured my girlfriend's birthday

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindyloo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. I was sorry to read that we did not meet you expectations and apologize for the issues you experienced in the restaurant. I will ensure our communications are improved to ensure correct charges are made. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in a great deal. We got a two night stay, unlimited spa access, breakfast and a three course meal both nights for a great price. We stayed in a little separate 'cottage' room outside. The bed was big and the TV was good. It definitely needs a big update to come into the 21st century! The pillows were unbearably uncomfortable and the bed wasn't super comfty. The spa was good, the massage we had was incredible! The food was also so yummy, really well presented and lovely staff in the restaurant. The front desk staff weren't very attentive or welcoming we didn't think. But overall the stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Many thanks for the review of your recent stay. We were delighted to learn that we got certain aspects of your stay right and were particularly pleased that you enjoyed the food, spa treatments and leisure facilities. Your feedback about the welcome, beds and pillows has been noted. We regularly review the condition of the beds and pillows and replace when necessary. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.8 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
877 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel

Address: Belstead Road | Suffolk, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: £59 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 88 Bedroom Hotel set in our own grounds but only a 5 minute Drive into Ipswich Town centre. The Manor House section of the Hotel is the original part of the building dating back to the 16th century and a lot of the original fittings still remain and this is also the location of the Restaurant . We also have the leisure centre which is free to use for all guests this includes Swimming Pool, Steam room, Jacuzzi, Gym and treatments are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing