We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 1970s relic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A 1970s relic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay. The food was good and I was quite comfortable.

However, why do people build (or extend) a hotel in the 1970s, and then presume that they don't have to touch it ever after. I felt like I was on a film-set of The Avengers. I sat there, waiting for Emma Peel to come barging in through the doors….. ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatelyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hopeful that the hotel will soon have new owners and that the necessary investment made at the hotel. In the meantime I can carry on hoping that Emma Peel makes a dramatic entrance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    344
    177
    82
    50
See reviews for
164
426
40
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very much enjoyed the facilities I.e swimming pool, gym etc! Room was very comfortable but unfortunately manger in restaurant was the most awful woman I've ever met, beyond rude! Couldn't be bothered to help with anything and wouldn't crack a smile. The young waitress' worked very hard and were bossed around by her! If it wasn't for them we would have got up and walked up! Neither myself or my partner have got over the horrible experience of that awful woman.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica10156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
If the review related to a visit in January, as stated, it has taken an awful long time to post it and even more difficult to investigate your review. If it did happen, I am sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel a week ago and was so impressed with the room, it had French doors and the bed I couldn't reach each side. The bathroom was a little dated but was clean and added to the character. Huge amount of storage so would be perfect for a few days.
Here us the but, I met friends and we didn't pre book the restaurant so we went into the bar area! Total chaos! There ended up being 10 of us and apart from about 6 other people in the bar. 4 of us never got starters because they ran out our meals appeared in dribs and drabs over an hour and two people ended up ordering pizza takeaway! Getting the right receipt was a complete debacle! My advice is pre book and with a large party ensure they have what u want before u go! But saying that I had a lovely nights sleep and the staff were all polite.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank manizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I apologize about the service issues you experienced. The hotel was much busier than anticipated and as a result service was not to our normal standards. Different procedures and training have been implemented should a similar situation arise. On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you were impressed by the hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel has a lot of potential, but lets itself down in a few areas. The hotel cannot help being old, but it just feels grubby, and I don't think there is an excuse for that. The carpet in the room we stayed in just looked tired and dirty. It would be much more cost effective in the long run to get rid of the carpets and replace with a hard flooring. So much easier to keep clean and will stand the test of time. The walls could do with a good paint, maybe with a brighter colour to 'cheer up' some of the darker rooms. The bathrooms could do with a complete overhall. Cracked flooring, peeling paint, limescale on taps, rusty hooks in the wall, grime in the grouting, hair in the plughole (no, no excuse for this). As I say, I understand this is an old hotel, and you cannot help the plumbing, actual design of the sink/toilet but whats wrong with a good steam clean of the tiles and keeping the taps limescale free! My bathroom is old, and there is no sign of grime or limescale whatsoever. Towels could do with an upgrade as very thin and tired looking. Also, the remote control for our TV had yellow tape around it to hold in the batteries, and even then when you wanted to change channel, you shad to squeeze the batteries in place to do this! The fan supplied was falling apart and we had to tie this together with the handle of a plastic carrier bag. Bed comfortable, and we had two good nights sleep despite the storms! Pool and surrounding very nice, and the lad supervising was very nice and polite. Changing rooms a bit dated. The staff in general were nice, reception were very helpful and friendly, unfortunately the service was let down by a very surly waitress at breakfast on 20/7/2014. She did not smile once. We were offered a seat in the room that the food was in, but we asked politely if we could move to the outer room to be near a window. This was not a difficult task, but was met with a 'look', and a sigh, and we were begrudgingly moved. As it was 8.05 and the restaurant was empty with no reserved tables, we could not see why this was such a problem. We are never rude people and do not want to be waited on hand and foot, but a smile would not go amiss. On the plus side, the breakfast was very good and freshly cooked. Young waiting staff (except the surly waitress) worked very hard. Our stay was not a terrible experience, but not an amazing one. We understand money does not grow on trees, but with a few changes to decor, cleanliness, and the odd staff member, this hotel could be so much more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us and for the constructive comments about many aspects of your stay. Every effort will be made to improve those areas which can be rectified through basic maintenance and training. It is likely that the hotel will be acquired by new owners in the near future and we hope the necessary investment will be undertaken to improve many of the other areas which require upgrading..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely break at this hotel. The staff are very friendly, The pool is very welcoming after a long drive and we found the hotel very relaxing as its set in lovely quiet surroundings.
Take no notice of the bad reviews as this is not a 5 star hotel but it doesn't say it is. If you want the ritz then go stay there. But if you want a nice clean hotel with a great breakfast and great evening meal then stay here.
We will definitely be returning. :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for such a positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your break with us and found the facilities and services to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

With b&b's in the area being quite expensive, we opted for this hotel knowing that it wouldn't be the Ritz! To be fair, most of it was ok. The hotel is tired which is a shame because some of the building is really quaint and with some investment, it could be quite nice. Our room was Travelodge standard, but as we only wanted somewhere to sleep, we didn't require much more. The breakfast was pretty standard too. For £66 a night for two people, I didn't find anything to really complain about, although I probably wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. There is likely to be a change of ownership shortly and it is highly probable that the necessary investment will be undertaken in the hotel. With the facilities that we have, the prices will no doubt reflect the investment in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Gabby in the treatment room was fantastic. Everything else was like Fawlty Towers. Our room was upgraded as the one we were given smelt awful but the executive room we were upgraded to was scruffy and tired.
The restaurant staff were friendly but in dire need of training, we had butter on the table but were only offered bread once we had finished our starters.
One poor man in the bar was waiting for food which had been given to someone else but the good news was they weren't going to charge him!!! The waiter said the chef had finished hot food but he could offer a Panini, about twenty minutes later he came back and said chef would only do a sandwich - they had the cheek to still charge him for the sandwich!!
On check out this morning someone asked for a latte in the reception area, when the receptionist phoned the kitchen to order it she was told that they couldn't do a latte before eleven o'clock.
There was lots more but it gets a bit boring. So there you have it, we had such a laugh though but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TortoiseshellEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for your review of your recent stay. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your spa treatment and that you were provided with such entertainment during your stay but sorry to hear of the experiences of other guests I am surprised that you found the Executive Room you were allocated scruffy and tired. They were all decorated within the last 18 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
11.3 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
14.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel

Property: Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Address: Belstead Road | Suffolk, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing