We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,149 results
Traveller rating
382
389
212
101
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
389
212
101
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa breakspa facilitiesgarden roomhunting lodgehousing estatesteam roomswimming poolleisure clubthe main hotelleisure centrecream teaa bit tiredan updatelick of paintevening mealbreakfast was buffet stylelovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
744 - 749 of 1,149 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a Spa Break offer and we were not disappointed. We arrived at 10.30 am and were given access to the Spa area. Lockers are free and the sauna/steam and pool were all very tranquil. There are nice cushioned sun loungers around the edge if you want to sit and relax by the pool and an outside area too.
We asked to have our cream tea outside in the sunshine which again was no trouble, the staff on reception rang through to the kitchen and it arrived promptly by a very polite waiter. Following the cream tea we had an all over body massage! This is a MUST if you stay at this hotel. Gabby was fantastic. We left feeling extremely relaxed and headed back to the Spa area.
The bar and dinner was very nice, food good and service fine. Breakfast the next morning was also very good.
This is a really good hotel to choose if you want to escape with a friend for a relaxing overnight stay. Its very quiet and peaceful and the massages are very good. Staff are friendly and helpful. I will definitely be returning here for another Spa break.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenyamtoto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble in posting a review of your recent spa break with us. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the experience and found everything to your satisfaction. Your kind comments have been passed on to the team and in particular to Gabby. They are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First time visit to belstead brook , staff are excellent , and pool ares was ok, considering it cost £15 for a day pass, I was upset to see the seating was plastic around the pool which gave the hotel a bad look, even at aqua springs colchester Essex a council ran spa has wooden seating and a much more trendier feel, where I thought it would of been the other way round.

And aqua springs costs much less to enter and has many more facilities 3 saunas 2 steam rooms and 4 different pools.

The staff were excellent as I have already said and the lunch was adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sayithowitis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for posting your review of your day visit to the Leisure facilities at the hotel and for your constructive comments about them . When they are upgraded we will bear your comments in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from a lovely hen weekend. Booked in at the Hotel and was able to check in at 11.00am. Lovely room. This was a twin room. Nicely decorated and all the usual facilities you could expect. Found the bar and restaurant it was really nice. The barman who looked after us for drinks and sandwiches couldn't have been more helpful. Definitely an asset(working Saturday morning). We headed off to the leisure facilities which again I couldn't fault. I had surprise treatments which my friends paid for and the lady who did them was so friendly and attentive. We headed out to town returning the very early hours of the morning to be met by one of the most cheerful night porters I have ever encountered! When asked for water he brought a large jug up to our room. Service with a smile. We all enjoyed our breakfast the next morning. Check out quick and were able to use the Spa facilities again. Lovely young blond girl on the desk very sweet and friendly. Merci Belstead Brook can't thank you enough for helping to make my Hen weekend. Hopefully return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ClactonEssexCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

The Team were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your Hen weekend with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and in particular for highlighting those members of the Team who looked after you particularly well. We all hope you enjoy your wedding day and look forward to you making a return visit to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

OMG where to start? Well we are 5 registered childminders who desperately needed a break and that is exactly what we got from the minute we pulled up outside the hotel.

THE ROOM - As I was the 5th person I ended up with a huge comfy double bed all to myself. I found the free bunch of flowers and box of chocolates a very nice touch (thank you they were delicious). Tea & coffee facilities are also in each room. Very clean and fresh looking NO PEELING WALLPAPER as stated in other reviews all fresh painted rooms.

FOOD - The food was out of this world. As we booked a spa break the food was included in our package. The evening meal was perfectly cooked and the desert was heaven. Breakfast was also full of choice from cereal to cooked breakfast or muffins.

SPA - We had a treatment included in our package which lasted 1/2 hour. I opted for the back, neck & shoulder massage which almost made me fall asleep. Very friendly ladies who work in the treatment rooms. The swimming pool is huge with a 16 person jacuzzi along with a sauna and steam room. There is a gym but we didn't visit it.

Please ignore the bad reviews yes the hotel is old but I'm sure some people just go away to look for small marks on the bath taps or marks behind the bed on the wall which we never saw!!!!!

This is a lovely hotel and I would happily return x x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your break with us. I am quire sure you all deserved it. It is always good to know when we get things right and you constructive comments are very useful to people who read the reviews about the hotel. We do get some things wrong but it is very good to know when we get them right. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stopped for two nights on a B&B basis whilst visiting friends in Ipswich. The hotel entrance is very impressive but rooms are less so. The room was very hot but thankfully there was a fan in the room. The mattress was well past its best and rather lumpy but I have slept on worse. However, it was the bathroom that let it down badly as it was very dated and grubby. Although the sanitary wear was clean no one had bothered to clean the dust off the walls. It really could do with a new bathroom.
The breakfasts were very nice, with lots of choice and the staff were very friendly on day one but the lady in charge on day two was a little brusque. We also had a meal in the restaurant one evening and the food was good and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Many thanks for posting your comments following your recent stay with us. We are aware of the need for upgrading, particularly in the bathrooms and are hopeful that this will be undertaken when the hotel is acquired by new owners. I was pleased to learn that you found your stay to be good value for money and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews