We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't let my dog sleep here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverside Hotel

The Riverside Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside Hotel
Ranked #32 of 36 Ipswich B&B and Inns
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't let my dog sleep here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Polite staff on entry was please with this. Car park looks unsafe and dingy. No card payments, although cash point opposite.
Room- hole in window covered by cardboard, sheets and stuff quite clean, walls paper thin!

Would'nt let my dog stay there!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cannydann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
2
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nearly cried on entry to room. Broken/damaged and marked old sink unit, kettle not easy to use, headboard of bed hanging off wall, window would not shut (note January), hole next to electric socket, neither small lights worked, no plug in bath, no drawer in bedside cabinet, damaged wardrobe door, inside had not been dusted, creased curtains not hung properly, ie hanging down, old carpet, unsightly door, karaoke night till 12.20, reception filled with drinking and noisy football supporters. This is more of a rough pub than a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivostock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for just one night on tues the sixth of August when dropping my mum off to her sisters in kesgrave the staff were very friendly couldn't do enough to help my room was what I was expecting for the price £35 spotlessly clean with a bonus of river views tea coffee tv etc etc I had reservations about no en suite never stayed in a hotel with no en suite however it wasn't an issue there was a large shared bathroom again spotlessly clean breakfast was charged as an extra but was well worth it before my long drive home to South Wales a huge serving of locally sourced items and u could tell the chef was a foodie very passionate about the quality of food being served I am we'll traveled for £35 this establishment is a little gem clean friendly with river views and parking will be staying again when I pick my mum up on wed 21st August

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wales987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Old fashioned, paper thin walls. My neighbour being sick at 3am! Cold, dirty, small, useless shower. Tiny staircase no lift, no staff to help you. Kitchen staff slagging each other off in the morning. Poor cheap quality breakfast. A truly awful hell hole.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneniven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed at the riverside hotel for a one night stay and was let down from start to finish.
Upon arrival I was shown to my room which was tiny and dingy. My bathroom light had moments when it refused to work, there were no glasses if I wanted a drink (I had to use a coffee mug), the cold tap barely let any water out and the toilet refused to flush!
The bed/tv positioning was all wrong, the tv was not at the foot of the bed as you'd expect but to the left so I had a crap view when lying next to my partner. The kettle provided didn't switch off when boiled, instead it just kept boiling and boiling until I turned it off.
I paid an extra £10 (£5 each) for my partner and I to have breakfast the next morning. The full English was okay but when we asked for a tea and coffee we were told we couldn't have a large breakfast and a drink, instead we had to have a medium breakfast and drink!
I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hephzibah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

When I arrived at the car park, my heart sunk.
Whilst the hotel looks fine from the front, the entrance from the car park is truely dreadful
Shabby, dirty and I would have turned straight around if I could have.
On a better note, the room I had was clean and functional. I didn't try any food there so can't comment on that score.
If you want something close to Ipswich train station, you won't get closer

Room Tip: There are some without ensuite to choose carefully if you are needing ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shipwrights Arms Hotel
Shipwrights Arms Hotel
#16 of 18 in Ipswich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#31 of 36 in Ipswich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Property: The Riverside Hotel
Address: 2 Burrell Road, Ipswich IP2 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing