We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot expect everything...so very good!”

Aurora Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$51
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Aurora Bar and Restaurant is a dining experience, located on Ipswich Marina. Serving pan-European cuisine and with unrivalled views, Aurora is truly a destination venue.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You cannot expect everything...so very good!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Here in Ipswich for 2 days! Having a walk on the water front is a must though. We discovered Aurora during a walk. The place is stunning and the view even more. The Restaurant is located on the first floor and the modern stylized bar on ground floor! Luckily they even allowed us to book a table by the window, what a bonus for a restaurant known especially for the amazing view of the marina. The lunch menu is not that articulated but it really offers value for money; Although the dishes sound very appetising, the wine list is ok, and it offers only a little fine wine option for the connoisseurs. The service at the beginning was quite mechanical but then turned in a very personalised way, nice and unexpected! However, the food was delicious, amazingly presented and definitely worth what you pay, and I mean it!!! Shame they had only 3 wines listed on the fine red wine selection and run out of 1 of those and that one was what I have chosen! Anyhow, they offered me something else at the same price, good but not interested. We have really enjoyed our lunch at AURORA though, great food, lovely service and stunning view! It is a must if you are around! PS. The wine we opted after being told they have run out of what we wanted...was absolutely delicious and it complimented our food fantastically. If around we will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PEGGYCOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex_Aurora, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us and that you were able to take advantage of the fantastic views afforded by the restaurant.

Unfortunately, our wine stocks are based on the deliveries we receive, so apologies we didn't have your first choice, but we are pleased to hear your second choice complimented your food so nicely.


We will look forward to welcoming you back to Aurora.

Best wishes,
Bex
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    101
    58
    44
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“O WOW WHAT AN AWESOME AMAZING VENUE FOR FOOD DRINK AND SERVICE”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The service was awesome, the food, both presentation and taste amazing, the venue, fantastic! The prices were not what I expected and you definitely get what you pay for. Definitely plan on returning, again and again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Farqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex_Aurora, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us, and we will look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes
Bex
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have now had three family birthday meals at Aurora in Ipswich.
On arrival we are welcomed and receive a drink in the bar area, when the table has been ready the staff take our drinks and show us upstairs.
The staff are very attentive and friendly.
On each occasion the meals have been superb and we have all left feeling more than satisfied.
This is a restaurant we will keep on visiting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex_Aurora, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We are delighted you enjoyed another fantastic experience with us. Our bar and restaurant certainly makes a fantastic venue for celebrations and special events, so thank you for choosing us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Aurora soon.

Best wishes
Bex
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, good location that is getting better all the time.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had a great evening on Thursday 10th April at Aurora, drinks first in the spacious downstairs bar then upstairs to the restaurant. With the lighter evenings this is a lovely spot to look out onto the boats. Food was very well presented and delicious, my main course was chicken breast and it was very tasty and fresh. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and the price was fair too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 96cornish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex_Aurora, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We are fortunate that both the bar and restaurant both offer such spectacular views of Ipswich waterfront, and that you were able to enjoy these. We also offer al fresco dining on our balcony which can be enjoyed throughout the summer months.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to Aurora soon.

Best wishes
Bex
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent choice for a celebration”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

With a special birthday evening to organise for my sister I was looking for a restaurant to match the occasion. Having heard good things about Aurora, and knowing it's location on the quayside in Ipswich, I decided to make a group booking for a meal on a Saturday night even though I had never been.

The booking was originally made for 14 people with a £140 deposit put down (this was later altered to 17, then re-adjusted to 16 without any problems) just over a week before we were due to be there. Whilst there was quite a lot of organising to do on my behalf, i.e. menu options for all to be sent to the restaurant a few days before the meal, confirm numbers, ensure everyone arrived on time to be seated, this is all to be expected in a higher end establishment and was definitely worth it for the quality of the service and food we received.

Upon arrival our group convened at the downstairs cocktail bar where we were usefully informed that it was still happy hour and the cocktail on offer would be 2 for 1. This was readily taken up and we weren't disappointed. I was also given some name place cards for all of the guests which had their food options written on in advance, extremely helpful, and when our table was ready we were asked to move upstairs and shown to our table with our drinks taken for us.

Our group was split across two tables at the far end of the restaurant, this actually worked well as it meant we had more of an area to ourselves and once we finished eating we all moved round to one table anyway to finish our drinks.

The waiters and waitresses were very attentive throughout the meal, and we never had to wait long for a request to be fulfilled (especially as several of us were on separate drinks from the bar, rather than just replenishing wine). A selection of warm bread was served before our meals arrived, and when they did all the comments were very complimentary, we were all impressed with the standards of the food and pleased to see locally sourced quality produce on the menu.

When it came to the end of our meal, we were brought over some on the house cocktails for the group to enjoy which was a special touch to the birthday celebrations. We did not hesitate to pay the service charge as we all felt this had been excellent and was deserved, nothing had been too much trouble. Despite arriving early at 7pm and not leaving until around 10pm not at one point did we feel rushed through the meal, even though it was extremely busy all evening. As we left we were even shown the offering in the downstairs bar with a live DJ and a full cocktail bar, which would be really useful if you wanted to stay on afterwards.

Overall Aurora provided a flawless evening for us to all enjoy a special occasion to the maximum. I would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone with a similar event and for smaller numbers too, we will certainly be returning more regularly in future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FenellaM_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex_Aurora, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora in so much detail, and for choosing us as the location for your sister's birthday celebration.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our experience with us. We're fortunate enough to have a very versatile space at Aurora, which makes it ideal for events, parties and functions. The bar also makes it ideal for groups to continue celebrating after their meal.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
Bex
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurora Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Aurora Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing