We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Another night on business and another Best Western. Check in was great with a friendly greeting and a lovely room on the second floor of this fantastic old building.

The room (6) was good and clean although stifling in the heat (a rare occurance in this country mind) and the fan helped a little. The only thing I'd criticise in the room would be the shower cubicle in the en suite. I've started large diesel generators that were quieter and I suggest the hotel should check its as it should be!

I went down for dinner and had a couple of beers sat in the garden in the sun and still had the luxury of wifi when sat a good 20 metres from the building! I dined in the restaurant for £20 for two delicious courses with great presentation and flavours (not to mention good service).

I slept well (despite the heat) and had a good breakfast before hitting the road for the long drive home. To sum up a fantastic hotel tucked away (but still close to major trunk roads) and I'll definitely be back.

Well done!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noddyinnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Well thank you for that fabulous review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will get maintenance to check that shower. I will pass your wonderful comments on to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    74
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
19
72
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-sea
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel (the original gate house on the Old Norwich Road) has kept many of its original features - oak panelling in the reception area, oak bannisters, orignal fireplaces etc. The hotel has a unique charm and is so different from the large, 'square box 'rooms of the chains. It is clean and well decorated. Our large, spacious deluxe double corner room had windows opening onto two different aspects and the bathroom had both bath and shower, The furniture fitted in well with the period, the bed was very comfortable and the open fireplace was a feature point. The staff were very friendly, undertook more than one role and were most helpful. The food was quite exceptional and the weekend special offer of 3 courses for 2 people for £29.95 was fantastic. Menu changed daily and there were 4 options for each course. The dining room has more modern furniture and tables are well spaced. A lovely large grassed area with large, old trees is home for many rabbits and there is plenty of parking. We'll be back for another relaxing weekend 'away from it all'.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepeingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel, I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your weekend and all the feedback you have given will be relayed to the team that looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gatehouse in the future.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised.
The price of the room was very reasonable and I had a deluxe double room. Comfortable large bed and spacious room. Small but perfectly adequate shower room.
I stayed for dinner (2 courses for £19.95 - sea bass in tempura batter followed by beef - all perfectly cooked and tasty but the service was quite slow (table booked at 7.15pm meal finished at 8.40pm)
The gardens and grounds are really pretty, very green with mature trees. The staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful.
I definitely would stay again

PS it was full so there are clearly many other guests who definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel, I am so pleased that you had a good stay and enjoyed your dinner.

I will pass your comments on to the team and hope that you will stay with us again if you are in the area

Kind regards
Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights and overall had a lovely experience. It just didn't feel like a hotel chain. In most chains, the staff are usually polite and efficient but completely impersonal; at the Best western Gatehouse, you really are made to feel like a valued guest. The staff remember your name and when they smile at you, the smiles seem genuine.

The food is great - I didn't have a bad meal the whole time I was there - however, there's not much in the way of low calorie options on the menu, so its possibly not great if you are dieting or on a health kick.

Despite being a small hotel, it has the feeling of being a miniature stately home, with a proper dining room and oak panelling on the walls which also made a nice change. The rooms are a little old fashioned in terms of the decor, but whilst I felt that added to the charm, it may not suit those people who prefer sleek minimalism or contemporary styling. There's grouse wandering around the lawn, and rabbits in the adjoining field, which I appreciate are not provided by the hotel, but are a nice touch anyway.

If I'm ever in Ipswich again, I think I'll rebook the Best Western Gatehouse.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceandiver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review, I appreciate that you have taken the time.
We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and I will pass your comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Quiet, spacious rooms and large ensuite, however, a little tired and cleanliness could be improved around the bathroom. Weill located and accessible from the A14, edge of town but quiet. Comfortable bed. Free wifi. Reasonable rates. Didn't eat at restaurant and didn't use bar so not quite sure what it is like. If you like wood panelling, this hotel would appeal for a business stay.

Room Tip: Had corner room facing the road but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femaletraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay and will take the feedback you have given me to make improvements for the future. I hope you will visit again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed one night only for a family funeral, so we travelled up on a Sunday evening and arrived around 10pm. The staff on duty were pleasant and helpful, they took our bags up to our room. We decided to go down to the bar for a night cap,just before 10 30pm only to find every where in darkness and a note on the reception desk with a number to call in emergancy! This was disappointing to say the least.
The room was very comfortable and clean, it was a little dated and the TV was small and on the other side of the room to the bed. The en-suite was a little cramped and there was only a shower which took a while to sort out how it worked!
I think the hotel over all is good value for money, its clean and comfortable and the staff were polite and helpful. It is situated just outside of Ipswich and is near to the A14, but far enough away not to hear the traffic.
Without doubt the best part of our stay was breakfast, an excellent choice of items hot or cold, the sausages and bacon were by far the best I had eaten in a hotel for a very long time, there was no grease as is often the case with hotel breakfast, just well cooked quality items.
The lady running the breakfast room was jolly, polite and very helpful.
The hotel was pleasant, comfortable, clean and good value for a stopover, I will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stall612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your review of the Gatehouse, I am pleased that overall you had a comfortable stay.
I will certainly look into the problems you do mention, as the bar should be in service until 11 p.m.
I hope that you will return in the future and you have my word that a complimentary drink will await you when you do.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is such a refreshing change to so many places I have stayed in. The location is good, being not far from the main arterial roads, yet close enough to the town centre.
The rooms are really lovely but me the selling point of this hotel is the unique Intimacy coupled with the great service from the staff.
I am not a fan of large corporate hotels where guests often feel like a number rather than an individual. In the Gatehouse the small number of staff take time to get to know their guests; talking to them, taking a general interest in them and referring to them by name. This makes such a difference, especially when you are travelling alone.
The food was also excellent; my compliments to the chef!
Well worth a mention is the lovely lady who served me at dinner and breakfast. Thank you for being friendly yet with utter professionalism in your job. There are thousands of hotel staff world wide who need to follow your example.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a lovely review of the hotel. I will pass your comments on to all the team and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.6 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Claydon Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gatehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gatehouse Hotel

Property: Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Address: 799 Old Norwich Road, Ipswich IP1 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gatehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a rural outlook on the northern edge of Ipswich, the hotel can be easily reached from the A12/A14. The regency style building is refurbished to very high high standards of comfort with sumptiously furnished bedrooms. The hotel's facilities include; colour TV, free wireless internet connection, tea making facilities, etc. Breakfast and an excellent dinner menu are served in the small intimate restaurant. The Gatehouse Hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gatehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ipswich
Ipswich Best Western
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing