We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked the hotel for my parents for a 2-night stay and they were very happy with it. They are Danish and generally very hard to please when it comes to cleanliness, but they were very impressed with the cleanliness of both the room and the bathroom. The breakfast was great with good quality food and drink and the staff was very friendly. They even allowed them to have a cup of coffee after leaving the breakfast table. BThe hotel is near a pretty little harbour and ticked all the boxes for location and value for money. Both my parents would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Although the Premier Inn was situated next to a busy pub/eaterie it was quiet. There was no disturbance at closing time. Would not hesitate to book again the next time we play Ipswich. A couple of miles out of the town but lots of suitable parking available in town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I had booked to stay in this Premier Inn for the night after going to a concert at the Regent Theatre. I checked in before going to the theatre and I had requested a room upstairs, which I was given upon checking in. We had a family room which was spotless, spacious, clean and very comfortable. It was also equipped with a wall-mounted TV. All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. In the evening, my family ate dinner at the Beefeater which is next to the Premier Inn and the meals were very nice. The staff in this restaurant were also very attentive. The car park is a good size with plenty of space, and the Inn is situated in a very quiet location, which is ideal for getting a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sofe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed in a double room, while my sister and family stayed in a family room whilst attending the beer and sausage festival at Jimmy's Farm. My room was on the back side of the building, my room had a fan but I wasn't able to Cole the room. One of the windows did open but only a coupe, of inches. My room reached 26 degrees on the Saturday evening following a day of 29 degree sun, however my sister's room was a balmy 29.5 degrees. She complained to the receptionist on the Sunday morning but was told that she should of checked whether the rooms had air con. An additional 2 fans were put in their room however as this was on the front side of the building the room was still 27 degrees.

This location has been refurbished, the bed are comfy and the rooms are spotlessly clean.

The breakfast was nice, although the booth seating was impractical when there's a buffet breakfast for a family with 3 children, 1 requiring a high chair.

It's perfectly situated to visit Jimmy's farm, but even the corridors were stiflingly hot during our stay. Would not recommend in the summer months if you require. Family room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Honey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night as we were attending a family wedding nearby. We found the hotel staff to be friendly and effecient. The room was clean and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. There was a Beefeater restaurant/bar attached to the hotel which was busy due to the sunny weather. We didn't encounter any problems and would be happy to recommend this Premier Inn for a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirsmudger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed this weekend for two nights for a friends wedding. Premier Inn certainly have thought of everything. The room was very clean, well set out (Plugs galore and near mirriors!). As it was very hot a fan was already on when we entered the room and a sheet provided if the duviet was too warm, in addition a choice of pillows. As much tea and coffee as you need.
The breakfast was superb and well worth the value, all cooked fresh and you can have as much as you want for the fixed price. The service overall was exceptionsional, particularly the lady that looked after us for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have to say that the premier inn at Ipswich South was very good. 1st I would like to say a big thank you for having the room available earlier then would normally be. I was attending a wedding in Ipswich and so it either meant early book in or very late. Premier ensured I could do it earlier so not having to waste time late at night trying to find where my room was etc.
The buffet breakfast was well stocked and the full English breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Free wifi for 30mims.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marcus11906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
559 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
612 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel

Address: Bourne Hill | Wherstead, Ipswich IP2 8ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a serene setting beside the sweeping River Orwell, close to the town centre and Woolverstone Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing