We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Cranmoor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranmoor House
Ranked #17 of 35 Ipswich B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My mother-in-law had such a lovely time at Cranmoor House she decided to stay another night! Steve and Jan made her very welcome and she will definitely be visiting again. She found her room very clean and comfortable, and had the best night's sleep she had had in a long time. Keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ascot318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
18
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I've stayed in a lot of hotels and a few B+Bs and Cranmoor House was, in the best Goldilocks tradition, "just right". It's lovely to be greeted so warmly. What a house! Loved all the collectibles, it's truly comfortable but got everything the modern traveller needs. The hosts were so kind and I felt really at ease. Very clean, breakfast was lovely and the shower had plenty of power. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderigminstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Steve and Jan's hospitality was excellent and I felt like a very welcome guest. The room and facilities were very comfortable and of a high standard, including DAB radio and filter coffee maker. Shower powerful with easy to adjust temperature control. I don't own any pets but the two cats in Cranmoor House were relaxing company! Steve provided a delicious evening meal with a glass of white wine and a fine full English breakfast next morning. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This place is over priced. I paid £50 but i think they usually charge more.

The website did not work! When i called to book the owner told me to try .co.uk instead of .com but no luck. The owner asked me about breakfast and i told him i want a veggie breakfast but on the first morning he did not manage to get any veggie sausages like he said he would and he ran out of beans. He did get them on the second morning but they were not very warm when served. The orange juice glass was filthy.

He at no point mentioned that he had 2 cats. I have nothing against cats but i do not like cat HAIRS in my room and at breakfast.(put me right off) They should also appreciate that some people do not like cats and/or have allergies. They should definately mention this before someone books a room.

They also have a pic of a jaccuzi on one of the booking websites which i feel is a bit of a scam beacuse you cannot use it..the owner said it costs 'too much to heat'. (the take the pic off, its misleading)

The owner is friendly but everytime i went out or came in, apart from once he would pop up like he is checking on your every move.

I had parking on both nights and the biggest positive was that the power shower was very good.

Overall i was was disappointed.

Room Tip: Try Elsewhere First!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revelatio00x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranmoor, Owner at Cranmoor House, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
I`m sorry that this guest was disappointed but i do find it very suprising after all the positive feedback we have received. Steve Errington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Cranmoor House B&B was exactly what we needed for a two day break in Ipswich. Steve and Jan were just what they sounded on the phone when booking, friendly and professional. The bedroom had everything we could need, very comfortable bed and a large hot power shower. We had two evening meals booked & menu sorted in advance, which were excellent. Breakfast was very good as well. The location was a good twenty minute walk to the marina and town centre, with a slight hill to walk back up. Only comment is people with cat allergies may have a problem with the two resident cats, this was not a problem for us.If ever in the area again would definitely see if there is a room available here, well recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Steve our host was very attentive without being intrusive.
We had dinner there during our stay and it was quite delicisious at a very reasonable cost.
The room was clean and comfortable.
A good base for touring Suffolk.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alikat3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

After a hectic day it was nice to be greeted by Steve the friendly owner who helped us to our room and then served us a fantastic pre arranged 3 course meal which was fantastic.
Tired and full we settled down in a lovely room with the most comfortable bed. Breakfast of the same high standard.
Lovely clean comfortable place, which we are looking forward to returning to in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfresco1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.8 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.3 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranmoor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranmoor House

Property: Cranmoor House
Address: 20 Hatfield Road, Ipswich IP3 9AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranmoor House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cranmoor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranmoor House Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing