We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baipo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Baipo
Ranked #280 of 440 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: US$57 - US$57
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good as ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Have not been here for ages. We arrived last minute and they squeezed us in. The food was good a it always is. The female staff were great as ever.
Good vlaue too - you can even take your left overs home in little silver trays provided!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    15
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Our favourite Ipswich eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We have never been let down by this little gem of a restaurant. It has been run by the same gentleman for over 25 years. We always sit downstairs in this small restaurant, although there is an upstairs room too. It seems that every time we go the other diners are regulars too!! We never have to give our order as mine host not only remembers where we always sit, but he knows the wine we drink and the menu we always choose, even down to the dessert! You do not find that kind of service very often. I add we do not go every week either! Food a little on the expensive side but you get what you pay for these days. Recommended without reservation.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gadabout70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Stuck in the 90's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Was great in the 90's, and hasn't been decorated since. Good food, grumpy owner.

I've never enjoyed eating upstairs, downstairs is nicer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SingleToManningtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Forget the decor and enjoy the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

OK...so the decor isnt great, and the layout makes it feel like you are sat in the front room of someones house....and yes the owner can come across as being a tad ...well...I wouldnt say grumpy....but lets say..."dour"...but he soon warms to you.

Forget all that though and sit down and enjoy some superbly cooked Thai food which is allways beautifully presented and bursting with flavour.

Highly recommended....forget about Thai 1...it closed down a couple of years ago!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nick66davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Reasonably good small Thai restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Good for informal dining if you like Thai and/or Spicy food. A fair percentage of vegetarian options on the menu, mainly tofu-based.
Due to the small size, waiting staff are always close by, which is good or bad, depending on you point of view.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mickjh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baipo also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Baipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing