We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baipo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Baipo
Ranked #277 of 439 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: US$57 - US$57
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Since the highly publicised economic downturn we haven't eaten out much... But given it was my 40th birthday we decided to splash the cash and I have never had a bad meal here spanning a 10 year period.
Yes, the decor is dated, tired.... Just like some of the reviews say below. There is no 'mood lighting' or intimate booths to enhance your experience. BUT the owner remembers you...even if its been a year between visits. He even knows what starter you are goin to order and what wine you like. The food never disappoints and is by far the most authentic Thai cuisine I have tasted.

I would say there is no style over content in this restaurant ..... Just heaps and heaps of tasty, gorgeous Thai food served hot, in good time and by people that care about the food.

It is quite expensive, but I would choose this place over any other.

My top 2 rated places to eat in Ipswich align with reviews on Trip Advisor, Kesgrave Hall and The Salthouse. Both of these places have a mix of good looks and great food. The Baipo should be 3rd for its simplicity and quality of food.

Trouble is..... Once you have eaten thier mixed starters and Weeping Tiger you just want MORE MORE MORE.... I ate it on Friday 2nd August and everything else I have eaten since pales miserably. I've been spoilt.

Try it. It's a beautiful thing. :0)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    15
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

went with my friends very small restaurant nothing special about this place , we went there on middle of the week only us was there after 9pm

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank testerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“best thai restaurant in ipswich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

have been here twice & both times food and service was excellent.Yes decor looks a bit dated but don't let that put you off. Would particularly recommend the fish soup starter. Thai beef salad also very good.Would come here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fl0g0_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Excellent food, crispy noodles and weeping tiger must be tried.very efficient service. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food is wonderful, decor dated!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

If you can get past the need for a makeover, it's a great little restaurant! Cannot fault the food or service - we didn't find the owner grumpy, in fact, rather pleasant. The food was wonderful, we went for lunch, and were not disappointed, mixed starters followed by beef in oyster sauce, sometimes the beef in other restaurants can be a bit tough, but here it's so tender, we also had some crispy noodles, which this is the only Thai restaurant we can find that serves them!
We recommend this place wholeheartedly and look forward to going again on my next visit to ipswich!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ipswichdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baipo also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Baipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing