We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ifs, no buts - The best Indian restaurant in Ipswich”
Review of Maharani

Maharani
Ranked #1 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“No ifs, no buts - The best Indian restaurant in Ipswich”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I eat at the Maharani regularly. Manik and his team have been there for a long time (30 years?) so clearly they know what works, but they still manage to move with the times by introducing authentic Bangladeshi dishes, which are nothing quite like the usual "Indian" fare! Manik himself is a delight, his waiting staff are helpful and efficient, and the food's always great. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    42
    13
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My team and I visited the Maharani on the 11th of February this year. It was incredible! The food was very good, the service was great - our waiter was very friendly and accommodating. I will definitely go back and I would definitely recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmarie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something Special!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We visited Ipswich as a break away from kent our home. Saw the Maharani on a website which stated it was an awars winning restaurant and although it was quiet (was a monday) the food and serice was amazing especially the owner who was so nice to us. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vikkitamplin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor qaulity”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I went in there and the tables were so dirty. Then we had to wait for an 1 hour for our food to be served when they finally served it we had it and it was clodas anything. then we complained to the boss and he was very cocky towards us. so we decide to leave. if you ever want a indian dont go to muharani very rude and a horrible place to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Henry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

After seeing the recent newspaper awards thought we would give this a try as a takeaway. Disappointed. Rice contained a lot of excess water. Nan bread was very thick and stoggy around the edges. Meat in the dishes was small, and not much of it. Whilst the sauces tasted "fresh" it was quite runny and a bit lacking in taste/flavour. Had much better in Ipswich.

Sadly this disappointing takeaway means we won't be trying this again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jamieandthemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maharani also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing