We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of The Last Anchor

The Last Anchor
Ranked #33 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting but we were let down by the quality of the food and not being shown the specials menu. When we mentioned this to the waitress she assured us that we had been given a copy of the menu and would not accept otherwise. This lack made our meal quite expensive as the a la carte menu is a little overpriced. Our main courses were ok but nothing to write home about and the treacle sponge we both ordered for dessert was dire! Our evening was also slightly spoilt by a very loud party on a nearby table who obviously gave no thought to other diners, at times we could not hear each other talk!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    79
    35
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food in a marina side location”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have been to the last anchor quite a few times over several years and have never been let down. The food is superb and reasonably priced the service usually attentive and if you get the right table you get a good view of the marina as well. The restaurant isn't large and has something of an intimate atmosphere. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely view on a summer's day”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Went to The Last Anchor last Sunday to celebrate a birthday. The set menu is reasonably priced with plenty of choice - we all opted for roast dinners. Lamb was cooked to perfection, but shame there wasn't a better/larger selection of vegetables, also had to wait for them to arrive. Desserts all very good too. There is now seating outside which is perfect for this time of year - great view of the boats in the docks! We sat inside and there was a lovely gentle breeze. Atmosphere always very good, service sometimes falters though - and would recommend booking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodbridge uk
Level Contributor
304 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great setting. Avoid treacle sponge!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wonderful location. First course was good. We all had fish in some form or other. Unfortunately the treacle sponge was over micro-waved, it was so tough you could hardly cut it. When we mentioned this waitress she did apologize but no recompense offered. Spoilt what was otherwise a very pleasant lunchtime outing with with friends A bit pricey

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My second visit to this restaurant. The food and service were excellent. Between the five of us we had the salmon and spring onion and sweetcorn fritter for starters. Followed by duck leg sweet potato and plum, hake with crab crust, cod and chips, seared gammon for main course and all were excellent. I will definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Last Anchor also viewed

 

Been to The Last Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing