We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what needed for a London business trip.
Good location, good restaurant and near London.
The prices are good as well.
Holiday Inn Stevenage has what you need to relax from the big city.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage in October.

I'm very pleased the hotel offered a perfect base during your London business trip, with good location, good food and good prices.

My team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely


Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've just returned from a 4 night business stay at the Holiday Inn Stevenage and it was good. The rooms are a little small but perfectectly formed. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom and shower are modern.

The restaurant was good and the food was of a decent quality - if like everywhere totally overpriced.

The downside is the extortinate charge for wifi - how can hotels still charge for wifi?

The lack of onsite parking - you need to park in the multistorey across the road which if you arrive late and are a single women traveller might be a bit dodgy.

Overall a decent stay though.

Room Tip: Buy a usb dongle to access wifi - it will be cheaper and better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent four night stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

I'm delighted that overall the experience met your expectations, especially with regards to the comfort of the room, bathroom facility, Restaurant service and food quality. I'm sorry that the Wifi charges marred your stay with us and note your comments regarding parking arrangements at the hotel. The hotel now offers free internet for all Elite IHG Reward Club members and this is set to be further extended from January 2014.

Please rest assured your comments will be shared with the team who hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely

Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Clearly that I have had a completely different experience to everyone else. I had arrived very late (close to 10 pm) and left early. So my requirements were bed, shower, wifi ...leave.

I am a business traveller so my hotel booking was made our travel agents. So they get a whole load of blame for booking me in here.

Car parking is across the dual carriage way - no big obvious sign by the hotel tells you this. I didn't realise this until after I had parked in the car park next to the hotel. You can only get to hotel by going through an underpass (not exactly safe feeling). Forced to move despite the fact there were a number of spaces left.

Wifi is chargeable if you are not in an executive room...but as it didn't work ...even worse than useless.

Reception staff were very abrupt. Breakfast staff were busy chatting (but they did at least smile when they said good morning).

Shower was clean though.

Room Tip: Book an executive room to get a car parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest

Further to your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage I was sorry to learn that you won't be returning.

I'm disappointed that you did not enjoy the same experience as many of our other guests.

The parking arrangements at the hotel are communicated on our website and are also included within all booking confirmations prior to arrival. In addition, within the car park there is also signage on display. With the limited on site car parking all spaces are reserved for those guests staying in the 18 Executive rooms at the hotel or Blue Badge holders.

The hotel now offers 'free' Wifi to all Elite IHG Rewards Club members as well as any guest staying in an Executive room.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope this experience will not deter you from staying at Holiday Inn hotels in the future.

Yours sincerely

Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week and really enjoyed it, all the staff were really helpful my room was spacious, clean and quiet. The hotel bar is good and the car parking opposite is easy to find and only £3. Just what you need for a mid week business stay, highly recommended

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank mcskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed the experience and that the helpful staff, along with the spacious clean and quiet rooms contributed towards a great stay.

Please rest assured all your positive comments will be shared with the team.

My team and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely


Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotwire to be close to Luton airport, not so close. It is a 20 minutes drive by taxi. The hotel is nice, the room is very clean. Good size for UK. About 10 minutes walk to train station and takes 1/2 hours to get to London. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amkh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage this month.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the friendly staff stood out during the experience.

Please rest assured all your comments will be shared with the team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely


Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here as part of a coach trip visiting Harry Potter Studios and London.
The room was lovely and comfortable.
The evening meal and breakfast was included in our price. The breakfast was great but the evening meal was awful. We ended up just eating soup and cake as their was little choice for the main meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateAndy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank your for your feedback following your stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage in August.

I'm delighted the experience met your expectations with regards to the comfort of your room and breakfast experience. I'm sorry that on this occasion, your evening meal did not offer enough selection. Please rest assured your comments will be shared with the team so that we can further improve the consistency of the service we offer.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Stevenage and for your valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely

Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was booked as part of a coach trip. Was a bit disappointed with location as too far away from London center . The rooms were comfortable and clean but didn't enjoy the evening meal at all which was included in the price, the salad was basic and not much taste to the curry so just had a piece of fish and didn't fancy the rice or frozen chips. Breakfast was very different, a good choice of breads and cereals and cooked items. I had scrambled egg which was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the team so that we can continue to improve the service we offer. I'm sorry your stay was marred by the hotel location and choice for your evening meal.

On a positive note, I'm delighted that the room comfort, cleanliness and breakfast quality met your expectations.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Stevenage and for your feedback.

Yours sincerely


Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenage
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
0.3 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
511 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cromwell
Hotel Cromwell
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
70 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stevenage

Address: St George's Way, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range: £43 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Stevenage 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of Stevenage, the contemporary Holiday Inn Stevenage hotel is located off Junction 7 A1(M) with easy bus & train access providing a direct rail link to London in 25 minutes. London Luton Airport is 13 miles from Holiday Inn Stevenage. Whether travelling for business or pleasure there s lots to do around the Holiday Inn Stevenage hotel; from visiting Knebworth House to meandering through Stevenage Old Town or taking in a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre. Explore slightly further afield for the cathedral city of St Albans, Hatfield House, Whipsnade Zoo, Galleria Shopping Centre at Hatfield and much more. A mini gym facility is available at the hotel with further fitness & leisure pursuits available nearby. This, the newest of all Stevenage hotels, offers high spec air conditioned guestrooms offering a great night s sleep. Each guestroom boasts LCD TV, ergonomic furniture for in room working, dimmable lighting, high speed internet, plus a high spec bathroom all combining to offer a superior level of comfort. For business meetings & conferences in Stevenage the Holiday Inn Stevenage offers a dedicated conference & events floor with 7 air conditioned conference & events rooms for up to 400, business centre & private bar. We are also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies in Stevenage. Opened December 2008, make Holiday Inn Stevenage your first choice for Stevenage hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stevenage Hotel Stevenage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing