We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Stevenage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Stevenage
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fairly Standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The lobby / bar / resturant look recently refurbished or just kept very well.

The rooms were not quite the same, they were clean and spacious but the decorating does seem a little dated.
The room had a bath / shower with the toilet in a seperate room.
The was a 32" flat screen tv with plenty or tv and radio but no facility to plug a laptop or tablet in via hdmi which is annoying.

Cannot comment on the resturant as it was quite expensive so we ate dinner / breakfast out everyday. Beer was good tho.

Staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FREEJAFFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent event at Novotel Stevenage.

I am extremely pleased to hear that you were so happy with your stay and hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Stevenage very soon.

Kind regards,


Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    248
    147
    60
    42
See reviews for
159
153
65
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varnamo, Sweden
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many Novotels worldwide but I must say that this is one of the worst one I could remember. The room was smelly, window was not able to open and bad ventilation, bed was too soft and with synthetic pillow.

If you are traveling to Stanstead airport, please plan for at least 1 hour and 15 minutes on normal day time driving.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
As of 21st August 2014, Fairview Hotels have taken ownership of Novotel Stevenage.

We have plans for a major refurbishment for the hotel which we hope to commence very shortly, which will bring the hotel up to date and provide the standards commensurate with a modern 4 star hotel.

The works will include a complete strip out and refurbishment of all 101 bedrooms and bathrooms. The finished product will be a modern contemporary one with air-conditioning in all bedrooms.

Kind regards

Eric-Enno Snel , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stevenage hotels

Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

hotel facilities good with good evening meal land excellent breakfast, but ohhh the price of a drink - horrendous. The hotel is on the outskirts of Stevenage so you are a prisoner as far as getting any entertainment especially if you like a drink. I have stayed in Novotels on the Continent and this one is typical but at least the others were in the town centre where there was something to do in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent event at Novotel Stevenage. I am extremely pleased to hear that you were so happy with Breakfast, Dinner and the the staff who were looking after you.

However, I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed by the price of the drinks. But I think £3.60 for a pint and £3.75 for a spirit is a fair price.

Kind regards

Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Similar to other recent reviews, we stayed at the Stevenage Novotel for 3 nights as part of a concert festival package. Because the price was all-in, I am not exactly sure what we paid for the hotel itself. After coming directly from a nice hotel in London, the Novotel room was disappointing. We are easy-going travelers, and made the best of it, but the only thing I could compare the room to is a college dormitory. The hotel, both from the outside and the common areas, appears to be updated. The rooms were far from it. The carpets were stained and the furniture and walls were in rough shape. We had similar issues to another reviewer with the toilet flushing, and found it very odd to have such a loud speaker for the television in the sink/shower area. There was no AC, but it is pretty clear that it rarely gets warm enough there at night for it to be a problem. The breakfast was also not very good, and many items were not replenished quick enough. If you are looking for a room with no frills and unconcerned about comfort, this would suffice. Other than the location next to Knebworth Park, there is not much to offer here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorers377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we will look into this matter.

With kind regards,

Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I was a couple of hours early arriving but they still let me in. I had a queen sized room to myself. The bed was lovely and soft. The tea and coffee making facilities were oddly placed on very high up shelf. I had pizza in the hotel bar/restaurant for tea. It was ok but they had used tomato purée for the base not something I would expect when eating out, even at a hotel. I don't know what cheese they had used but the cheese was not properly cooked, it was just melted and that was it. It was swimming in fat too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joxlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your review. I am very pleased to hear that overall your experience was a positive one. However I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with the pizza you ordered. I can assure you that the Head Chef has investigated the matter, and will be organising retraining and other actions as necesarry to prevent such problems in the future. Once again, thank you for your review, this type of feedback is invaluable to us as we strive to deliver a superior service experience for every guest. I hope you will return to Novote Stevenage in the future and give us the opportunity to provide you with a genuinely hassle-free stay. Kind regards. Katie Apps, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Terrible stay,the front desk staff were terrible, we had booked 3 nights for a festival and I phoned hotel to add 4th night so no rushing about on the Friday morning I was told at the time if booking that there was no problem.
When we got to hotel staff told us we would need to check out after first night and change room for the rest of our stay.we were going to festival in the morning and this wouldn't suit.the front desk staff were adamant this had to be done I wasn't going to budge and after 20 mins she decided that she could help.terrible service.
Next up the bed it was rock solid and my wife or me couldn't sleep on it we ended up using the fold out bed for the 4 nights.
There was spiders webs down the side of the bed.
The toilet did not work and the only way of getting it to flush was using a pumping kind of action to get some water flowing.
The breakfast was dried up bacon all dry and scrambled egg was discussing.
I could go on but no point.i used to use novotel all the time but after last 2 times stevenage and Edinburgh I will never use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Gibby_nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Please accept our apologies and be assured that we are looking into the matter. Please give me a call to discuss things at your convenience.

Kind regards,

Eric-Enno Snel, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location not too far away from London without paying London prices. Great for business travellers. Great breakfast for those who like a good meal at the start of the day. Bedrooms are clean and were comfortable

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you found the location and the transport links to London convenient, and that you felt your stay represented good value for money. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the breakfast and room cleanliness, I will be sure to share this with team. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you at Novotel Stevenage in the future. Kind regards. Katie Apps, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenage
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
1.2 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.1 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Stevenage

Property: Novotel Stevenage
Address: Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Stevenage Hotel is located on Junction 7 of the A1M within the grounds of Knebworth House. The hotel offers 102 guestrooms, Contemporary restaurant and meeting and function space for up to 180 delegates. We have recently spent in excess of £3.5million on a full Hotel refurbishment, completing all 102 bedrooms, a fantastic new restaurant, comfortable lounge for Business or Leisure and our new reception and welcome area. The full hotel completion is set for July 2016 and will see the hotel re-branded as a 4 star hotel. The hotel also offers Free onsite parking (this is a premium in Stevenage),complimentary WIFI, air conditioning, and is easy access to Stevenage station which takes 25 minutes directly to London Kings cross. Suitable for business meetings, conferences, weddings and events. This hotel is also close to Luton Airport approx. 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Stevenage Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing