We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Novotel Stevenage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Stevenage
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a good place to stay, easy to find and conveniently located. The two rooms I stayed in were clean and spacious and the food is fine, although typically expensive hotel food. There was no air conditioning but a fan was provided. There was no signal for my phone or my dongle but free wifi was provided. I had to go outside to make a phone call, but I would be happy to return for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a signal if you want to use your mobile phone in your bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC54England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Stevenage. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,

Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    252
    150
    61
    42
See reviews for
163
155
65
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Dog friendly hotel with lovely spacious rooms. A warm welcome on arrival and my room changed cheerfully to one away from the main motorway. A large grassy area at the back with rabbits laid on. Outstanding service at the bar where your meal could be ordered and eaten in the large lounge area or served outside at tables shaded by wonderful enormous parasols. Manu and Crystal deserve a huge commendation for excellent service. Toast and coffee could also be served outside for breakfast but there was a restaurant if guests so wished. I searched for local dog-friendly restaurants but the service and food were so good that I always entertained friends at the hotel. Through your bedroom room was a corridor with plenty hanging space for clothes and storage for cases whilst your bathroom with shower over bath and separate toilet were opposite before entering the enormous bedroom. Next year the hotel plans to instal aircon but each room had a fan. Minor negatives: hairdryer miles from the dressing table mirror; mobile signal poor; separate loo could still use a tiny hand basin. Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel and wish I'd found it the last time I visited family in Stevenage. The hotel is at the junction of the main motorway and less than 10 minutes to the centre of town. Plenty of parking. I hired a car from a firm 5 minutes away who are happy to pick up and drop off.

Room Tip: Away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
200 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks old and dirty. The breakfast is ok but the restaurant is not good. I had a simple Greek salad with burnt Halomi cheese. The steak was too cooked for medium rare and I do not recommend the wine sauce.
There is no good cellular signal in the room.


The wifi was excellent!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
As of 21st August 2014, Fairview Hotels have taken ownership of Novotel Stevenage.
We have plans for a major refurbishment for the hotel which we hope to commence very shortly, which will bring the hotel up to date and provide the standards commensurate with a modern 4 star hotel.

The works will include a complete strip out and refurbishment of all 101 bedrooms and bathrooms. The finished product will be a modern contemporary one with air-conditioning in all bedrooms.

Kind regards

Eric-Enno Snel , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The lobby / bar / resturant look recently refurbished or just kept very well.

The rooms were not quite the same, they were clean and spacious but the decorating does seem a little dated.
The room had a bath / shower with the toilet in a seperate room.
The was a 32" flat screen tv with plenty or tv and radio but no facility to plug a laptop or tablet in via hdmi which is annoying.

Cannot comment on the resturant as it was quite expensive so we ate dinner / breakfast out everyday. Beer was good tho.

Staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FREEJAFFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent event at Novotel Stevenage.

I am extremely pleased to hear that you were so happy with your stay and hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Stevenage very soon.

Kind regards,


Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varnamo, Sweden
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many Novotels worldwide but I must say that this is one of the worst one I could remember. The room was smelly, window was not able to open and bad ventilation, bed was too soft and with synthetic pillow.

If you are traveling to Stanstead airport, please plan for at least 1 hour and 15 minutes on normal day time driving.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
As of 21st August 2014, Fairview Hotels have taken ownership of Novotel Stevenage.

We have plans for a major refurbishment for the hotel which we hope to commence very shortly, which will bring the hotel up to date and provide the standards commensurate with a modern 4 star hotel.

The works will include a complete strip out and refurbishment of all 101 bedrooms and bathrooms. The finished product will be a modern contemporary one with air-conditioning in all bedrooms.

Kind regards

Eric-Enno Snel , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stevenage hotels

Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

hotel facilities good with good evening meal land excellent breakfast, but ohhh the price of a drink - horrendous. The hotel is on the outskirts of Stevenage so you are a prisoner as far as getting any entertainment especially if you like a drink. I have stayed in Novotels on the Continent and this one is typical but at least the others were in the town centre where there was something to do in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent event at Novotel Stevenage. I am extremely pleased to hear that you were so happy with Breakfast, Dinner and the the staff who were looking after you.

However, I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed by the price of the drinks. But I think £3.60 for a pint and £3.75 for a spirit is a fair price.

Kind regards

Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Similar to other recent reviews, we stayed at the Stevenage Novotel for 3 nights as part of a concert festival package. Because the price was all-in, I am not exactly sure what we paid for the hotel itself. After coming directly from a nice hotel in London, the Novotel room was disappointing. We are easy-going travelers, and made the best of it, but the only thing I could compare the room to is a college dormitory. The hotel, both from the outside and the common areas, appears to be updated. The rooms were far from it. The carpets were stained and the furniture and walls were in rough shape. We had similar issues to another reviewer with the toilet flushing, and found it very odd to have such a loud speaker for the television in the sink/shower area. There was no AC, but it is pretty clear that it rarely gets warm enough there at night for it to be a problem. The breakfast was also not very good, and many items were not replenished quick enough. If you are looking for a room with no frills and unconcerned about comfort, this would suffice. Other than the location next to Knebworth Park, there is not much to offer here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorers377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we will look into this matter.

With kind regards,

Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenage
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
1.2 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.1 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Stevenage

Property: Novotel Stevenage
Address: Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Stevenage Hotel is located on Junction 7 of the A1M within the grounds of Knebworth House. The hotel offers 102 guestrooms, Contemporary restaurant and meeting and function space for up to 180 delegates. We have recently spent in excess of £3.5million on a full Hotel refurbishment, completing all 102 bedrooms, a fantastic new restaurant, comfortable lounge for Business or Leisure and our new reception and welcome area. The full hotel completion is set for July 2016 and will see the hotel re-branded as a 4 star hotel. The hotel also offers Free onsite parking (this is a premium in Stevenage),complimentary WIFI, air conditioning, and is easy access to Stevenage station which takes 25 minutes directly to London Kings cross. Suitable for business meetings, conferences, weddings and events. This hotel is also close to Luton Airport approx. 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Stevenage Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing