We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly OK for a short stay.”
Review of Novotel Stevenage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Stevenage
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Perfectly OK for a short stay.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My son & I stayed here for one night before an event at Knebworth.

The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. My son had the sofa bed and that was perfectly adequate. We had a good nights sleep and a good breakfast.

The only thing against it is the cost of breakfast. We booked in advance and paid around £8. This is quite a lot for a couple of pieces of toast, fruit juice, yoghurt & cereal. They should have one rate for cooked & one for non cooked!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911euf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.
Kind regards,
Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    252
    150
    61
    42
See reviews for
163
155
65
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights with other guests for a wedding. The hotel was clean , tidy and comfortable. The staff were charming and attentive.
The rooms although slightly aged were large and functional, and importantly a large comfortable bed and quiet too.
A bar that does what it says and serves residents no matter the time.
The breakfast was bliss, a buffet that covered all the bases and allowed several visits.
Acid test, would I use it again , yes

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fogg62c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Turned up with newborn baby, had requested cot in room and had received a personal response from the Stevenage reception staff stating this would be in place. Instead we arrived to find to double beds in a cramped room, which smelt damp and was in dire need of renovation and new carpets.

Room Tip: This hotel is not the usual standard of Novotel hotels across Europe. The rooms are worn and the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bec G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
As of 21st August 2014, Fairview Hotels have taken ownership of Novotel Stevenage.
We have plans for a major refurbishment for the hotel which we hope to commence very shortly, which will bring the hotel up to date and provide the standards commensurate with a modern 4 star hotel.

The works will include a complete strip out and refurbishment of all 101 bedrooms and bathrooms. The finished product will be a modern contemporary one with air-conditioning in all bedrooms.

Kind regards

Eric-Enno Snel , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stevenage hotels

Lancs
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Reasonably situated off the A1 and handy for a short stay and its decent value, rooms are a bit dated but just about ok and service is satisfactory, big bonus is a large free car . Struggle for a consistent mobile signal is very noticeable. I didnt dine here as the menu looked far too expensive for what it was, cant understand why these chains arent more competitive on food and drink! Overall its just average-nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LamcsMr-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I’m pleased that you had a good stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Stevenage very soon.

Kind regards,

Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have recently visited this hotel, staying for just 1 night, if we had stayed any longer we would have moved hotels, we had a family room with 1 double bed and 2 put me up beds, all were very uncomfortable, the mattress on the double bed, including the bed were very worn, which is an understatement , the room needed a good make over, the toilet was separate from the bathroom, in a room on its own were the automatic fan did not work so made the room smell, the lighting was poor, not very healthy at all with having 2 small children with us, shame as we have stayed at other novotels before no where near the standard of them, definitely would not recommend.

Room Tip: Going by our family room wouldn't recommend a room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issue. We are starting a full refurbishment before the end of the year.

Please feel free to call me on 01438 346 100 or email me on H0992-GM@accor.com to discuss further.


Kind regards,

Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have used this hotel a few times-it is great to take the dog when we travel to London, and it is (or was) basically, a clean place with OK food. Last weekend was a nightmare. I was still awake at 3.30am due to a party of noisy kids who were drunk and racing around banging on doors and party-ing in each others rooms (most of them on our top corridor unfortunately) I had to complain to the night porter who was too busy watching his TV to have noticed the hotel was being ransacked! He did tell them about my complaint by giving them my room number-which they then shouted loudly to each other (so much for considering the safety of women)

When we got back to our room the following day-the whole room stank of urine (NOT OURS !!)presumably from the cleaners mop after slopping out all aformentioned clients bathrooms. The rooms along the corridors on the second floor are far too hot in summer, and without air conditioning, so leaving the window open means you get all the noise from the A1.

Room Tip: Ground floor parallel to the reception area.
See more room tips
Green Features: Is using the same cleaning mops and cloths in all the bathrooms and toilets environmentally friendly? If I get Norovirus I will know where it came from.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
As of 21st August 2014, Fairview Hotels have taken ownership of Novotel Stevenage.

We have plans for a major refurbishment for the hotel which we hope to commence very shortly, which will bring the hotel up to date and provide the standards commensurate with a modern 4 star hotel.

The works will include a complete strip out and refurbishment of all 101 bedrooms and bathrooms. The finished product will be a modern contemporary one with air-conditioning in all bedrooms.

Kind regards

Eric-Enno Snel , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenage
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
1.2 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.1 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Stevenage

Property: Novotel Stevenage
Address: Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Stevenage Hotel is located on Junction 7 of the A1M within the grounds of Knebworth House. The hotel offers 102 guestrooms, Contemporary restaurant and meeting and function space for up to 180 delegates. We have recently spent in excess of £3.5million on a full Hotel refurbishment, completing all 102 bedrooms, a fantastic new restaurant, comfortable lounge for Business or Leisure and our new reception and welcome area. The full hotel completion is set for July 2016 and will see the hotel re-branded as a 4 star hotel. The hotel also offers Free onsite parking (this is a premium in Stevenage),complimentary WIFI, air conditioning, and is easy access to Stevenage station which takes 25 minutes directly to London Kings cross. Suitable for business meetings, conferences, weddings and events. This hotel is also close to Luton Airport approx. 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Stevenage Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing