We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop off en route to London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stop off en route to London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were visiting friends in Watford on the Sunday.We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel as we didn't pay a lot for our room.The staff were welcoming and helpful.The staircase was looking a little tired but our room was really nice.Very nicely decorated, and very clean.The bathroom was good and the bed very very comfortable.We had a lovely night out in Stevenage Old Town and were spoilt for choice with places to eat and drink.The locals were very friendly and we felt right at home so 'Thankyou' to the Hotel and the friendly folk of Stevenage Old Town for the welcome.We didn't have breakfast so can't give an opinion on that.
We're thinking if we decide to visit London in future we'll stay in Stevenage and get the train in.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor and it was quiet.Check you're getting a refurbished room as ours obvious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyannaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stopover. The Old Town, as you mentioned is a lovely part of Stevenage and I’m pleased you made use of the local facilities.

As you also mentioned we are well placed for a trip into London. Trains leave frequently with a journey time of 18 minutes into Kings Cross. If you do wish to stay again for a trip to London our reception team will be delighted to assist you with travel arrangements.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    85
    73
    31
    14
See reviews for
50
105
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We got married on 22nd June 2013 and had our reception held at the Cromwell Hotel. Everything about it was exceptional. I can't tell you how many times before the day we changed our minds but, it was never a problem. Everything about the planning was literally up to us, they kept saying it's your day you have what you want. The events manager was really helpful. On the day we had staff on hand for us, and again nothing was too much trouble. If we wanted to change something we could. It was definitely value for money and the room we got as complimentary was lovely and clean. The Cromwell wee so helpful right up to when we left. I can't thank them enough for helping to make our day special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to hold your wedding with us and for your Tripadvisor review. It really is great to receive positive feedback. I have passed these compliments onto the team who were very grateful and pleased to hear they had contributed to the enjoyment of your wedding day.

Congratulations and I trust the team will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future (maybe your first anniversary!)

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just had an overnighter at the Cromwell. Brilliant location for training day at nearby Knebworth House, room was really comfortable, decent bathroom and shower, lovely breakfast this morning. And they do happy hour in the bar 5pm - 7pm!
Staff very welcoming and attentive, could not recommend more highly. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed two nights in hotel, which is centrally located on The High Street in Old Stevenage, with easy access from the A.1(M) motorway and excellent car park at rear of hotel. Room overlooking front of hotel and on to High Street but not disturbed at all by any noise (opted for a refurbished room). Breakfast very good (bacon and sausages good quality meat).

Also booked the restaurant for a private lunchtime / afternoon function (funeral wake) and all the staff were excellent in their attitude / attention to detail. Many guests arrived before the funeral and were able to park in the car park and enjoy refreshments (tea/coffee etc.) before the church service.

Old Stevenage High Street offers not only the usual eating establishments but also a host of small independent shops with friendly staff - notably The Choc Box newsagents and Barnabys Florists.

Thoroughly recommend hotel for a similar function as it benefits from having a bar area and seating outside of the actual restaurant room that offers the opportunity of additional space but very close by.

Staff reacted very well to fluctuating numbers and with a cheerful, positive attitude.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97Review97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

I’m pleased to hear that the team made everything run smoothly for you at what we understand can be a difficult time.

It’s good to hear that you enjoyed the Old Town and found everything convenient. It’s a lovely area and we are lucky to have great amenities on our doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for one evening. Our room was clean and spacious and we slept really well. Breakfast was lovely and staff very friendly. The night porter especially was very helpful. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Norths2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. It’s great to hear your comments and I have thanked Peter the Night Porter on your behalf.

I was pleased to hear that you will return and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed at the Cromwell in Stevenage for 2 night. We were there for a family wedding. The room we stayed in was fantastic, very specious and clean. The housekeeping was exceptional, myself and my three daughters were surprise surprise a little late getting ready for the wedding and left our room really untidy, when we returned the cleaning fairy had worked her magic, so thank you very very much. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night, the food and service was great. The breakfasts were amazing, brilliant choice of buffet. Highly recommend cooked breakfast. The wedding was simply one of the best we have been too. Lovely surroundings for ceremony, great reception, food and service. Special mention to the bar/waiter staff who looked after everyone so well all day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank espokaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel. The team and I value your positive feedback and were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding celebrations.

Every wedding we hold at the hotel is special and unique and it’s great to hear that the day was enjoyed.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

All I can say is FANTASTIC..... The hotel and staff were so professional, friendly and extremely helpful which made our wedding day a day to remember. The food was also lovely (can highly recommend the trio of chocolate) :)

I fully recommend the Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell for any event.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. The team and I were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your special day.

I have passed your compliments onto the Chefs.

Thank you for your recommendation and I trust the team and I can welcome you back in the future for further celebrations.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#2 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Hotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Hotel Stevenage

Property: Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Address: 27 High Street, Stevenage SG1 3AZ, England (Formerly The Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cromwell Hotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage used to be the farmhouse home of John Thurloe, secretary to Oliver Cromwell. The alluring hotel in Stevenage's old town centre combines elements from the past with modern day facilities into a stylish decor. This Stevenage hotel is conveniently located close to the A1. London's Kings Cross station is only a 27-minute train ride away from Stevenage Station, which is just 1 mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cromwell Hotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Cromwell Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Ramada Stevenage
Stevenage Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing