We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked here for our family visiting from Canada, they arrived on a Saturday tired and jet lagged, they were then kept awake till 04:30 in the morning, as there was a wedding reception, there was no mention of this when we checked in, and when you complain, all they can say is we put up a notice, which we certainly did not see. there seems to be no consideration for other guest, Its also a shame the furniture and carpets are not as old as the hotel, you could then understand why its worn, threadbare and foam hanging out and the free wifi that's another story, if your enjoyment is being kept awake till the early hours, this is the Hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin190726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to book your family into our hotel and for your review of our property.

I was disappointed to read that your family did not enjoy their stay and were disturbed by noise on the first night of a four night stay. The hotel was hosting a 40th Birthday celebration on the first night which closed at 12:30am, I can see from the reservation that the room allocated was away from the disco noise. However, we did have a large party of guests attending a wedding in a venue nearby which I can only assume is the noise in which you refer to as the guests returned to their rooms. We have a very experienced night team who had they been contacted would have been on hand to visit any ‘noisy’ guests and ensure any disturbances were kept to a minimum, unfortunately it does not seem that your family contacted reception to advise of the noise to give our team the opportunity to resolve.

The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment which started last year. The 76 bedrooms are now nearly finished and the Restaurant and Bar have been painted with new lighting added however we are just awaiting delivery of our new furniture for these areas which should be received in the next 6-8 weeks.

Thank you once again for your comments. I would have liked the opportunity to apologise personally to your family during the remaining three days of their stay had the problem been mentioned whilst they were on site.

If you require any further accommodation for visiting family and friends please contact me directly.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    86
    73
    31
    14
See reviews for
50
105
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for 6 weeks in total, It was everything I expected from a hotel, any small issues that cropped up during the 6 weeks were rectified ASAP. Very friendly staff, nice rooms, nice breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncasterbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We came last month and enjoyed our stay and we came again for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay again. Rooms were very nice, beds were comfy staff are very friendly. Hotel is in a great location with everything around it and nightlife yet again was great. Will stay again when we are in the area!!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DAZHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Whenever in Stevenage on business I try and stay here - or at the Novotel just off the A1. The advantage of this hotel is that it is very close to the Old Town and so you have great access to multiple bars, pubs and restaurants within a very short stroll. The rooms are normally clean, tidy and do the job - nothing flash but reasonable value for money. I joined the loyalty scheme and received a free can of drink and a Mars Bar - never been offered anything since!!! The rooms at the top of the hotel can be a bit cramped (for anyone over 5ft tall) but this is expected from what is a converted old building - if you want clean lines and modernism go to the Novotel

Room Tip: rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter (the front sits on the High Street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 509Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business, the room was lovely and spacious bit I felt like I was walking miles to getto my room from reception and its not as easy witha laptop bag and suitcase and stairs. In the room there was a lot of dark furniture which made it feel a little crowded, would be good if I was there for 2 weeks. The bed was a good size but I think the matteress had seen better days as it was lumpy. I have a feeling the room I was in had yet been refurbed as the room doors closer to reception were different.

overall pleasent staff and free wifi, would stay here again but ask for a room closer to reception.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CharliiGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
402 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is the definition of the word average. There is nothing especially bad about it - but likewise there is nothing especially good about it. Starting with the rooms which are an absolute maze to find - and for whatever reason 300 comes directly after 150 or something absurd. For the price we paid the rooms were fairly decent. Plus points were decent size, clean (which is always the main thing), and had pretty much everything you would have expected. Negative points were our "double" was actually two singles pushed together, shower was the strength of a watering can, and little bit of black mould around the window.

The staff were very much a tale of two stories. We stayed the weekend of April 26/27 for a wedding and the young girls at breakfast are an absolute credit to the hotel. Helpful, polite, and went above and beyond what they needed to do. The night porter on the Friday night was also great. However, the staff at front of house need a couple of lessons in customer service. The big guy has got a smart answer for everything - and the women wasn't great either.

Breakfast is pretty poor and unless it is included in the room rate, just walk out onto the high street where there is plenty of choice. I wouldn't say don't stay here. If you are in Stevenage for a couple of nights on business or for a nearby wedding then this hotel will probably do the job just fine, just don't expect anything special.

A little tip. If you are part of a big wedding party - please check your bills carefully on checkout. At least 3 of the couples in our party had items on their bill that shouldn't have been there. The manager was called to deal with one incident, and to be fair she dealt with it right away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bogotarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just returned from an overnight break. We stayed on a deal which included afternoon tea, evening meal. The hotel staff are a credit to the company but the hotel is very basic and despite a reputed makeover there is much to be done and the general quality is not very high. We feel that the hotel is missing a trick as although there are many restaurants in the High Street there is no real quality. The Cromwell could become the place to dine but as it is the food is of poor quality and many menu items were not available. It's a shame because the history of the building is very interesting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeroyboy666231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Hotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Hotel Stevenage

Property: Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Address: 27 High Street, Stevenage SG1 3AZ, England (Formerly The Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cromwell Hotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage used to be the farmhouse home of John Thurloe, secretary to Oliver Cromwell. The alluring hotel in Stevenage's old town centre combines elements from the past with modern day facilities into a stylish decor. This Stevenage hotel is conveniently located close to the A1. London's Kings Cross station is only a 27-minute train ride away from Stevenage Station, which is just 1 mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cromwell Hotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Cromwell Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Ramada Stevenage
Stevenage Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing