We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a place to eat, drink and sleep.”
Review of The Roebuck Inn

The Roebuck Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roebuck Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Its a place to eat, drink and sleep.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Check in quick, good parking
Rooms good size and warm, shower is hot
Food in restaurant is ok plenty of indian veg options reasonably priced
Staff mainly helpfull but when hotel busy they do forget.
Beer cheap enough and bar area good size
No other facility just bar and food.
Floors are very creaky as you take the long narrow walk to rooms and the hallways can be noisy when other guest talking.
Overall its ok. Would stay again if on business but wouldn't go out of my way to stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AKLeices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    37
    25
    19
    18
See reviews for
12
21
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
soutjend on sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This the second time I have booked this hotel for my elderley mum and on both occasions the staff were always at there best in looking after her, andrew, his wife and prash get special thanks, Its a three star hotel and although the hotel is dated they always do there best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Matilda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Visited last night with some friends after stumbling across the excellent Indian restaurant, authentic Indian cuisine, not the average menu, food excellent, fish curry especially. Nan bread was the best they had had according to my friends. This is a very old hotel so an oldie worldly feel and look, but never the less will be returning. Staff very polite, although only had cold house wine, the more expensive white wine was not chilled, they done themselves out of a fiver, perhaps lesson learnt. (some of us in Stevenage can afford a more expensive wine) the only thing missing was lack of music in the background as it was very quiet. Unfortunately we made up for the lack of noise. A good night was had by all. Again we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

reasonable hotel which i got a room upgrade through BW site...rooms was large and clean with laminated floor but had a cold feeling to it,,,shower lacked power but was warm enough...had indian food and was lovely ...felt sorry for the young lady who was receprionist one minute waitress the next and then bar person but she did it all with a smile..nice breakfast in the morning

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

An ok stay. Unusually the restaurant at this hotel is an Indian, food was excellent, the Fish Curry awesome. Breakfast ( not Indian) was also pretty good.

The room was a little odd, recently refurbished with wooden floors. A rug would have made it more homely, it seemed a bit cold. Only real complaint was that the sheet on the bed was shorter than the bed, very odd. Large nice shower, no bath.

All in all pleasant enough for a 1 night stay, not luxury but clean and welcoming with pretty good staff.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room, 203, it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmichael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cromwell
Hotel Cromwell
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
507 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Abbington
The Abbington
#8 of 11 in Stevenage
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Property: The Roebuck Inn
Address: Broadwater London Road, Stevenage SG2 8DS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Roebuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevenage
Stevenage Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing