We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeleivable”
Review of The Roebuck Inn

The Roebuck Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Roebuck Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Arrived at the hotel to find graphic pornography playing on the recpetion computer in full site of anybody walking in the reception area. Eventually managed to find somebody to do something about it but no explanation at all from anybody, no apology or nothing! Didn't stay and booked in elsewhere. Best Wester Customer Services were not much better, contacted them the following day and there was no recognotion that this was a serious issue only a few comments of 'never had one of them complaints before'!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay S, Manager at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello Mike

With reference to your feedback, i would like to clarify that this was an foolish act done done by a passerby who came into the reception desk while the reception staff was handling a guest request in our next door restaurant, this passerby committed this idiotic act and put the pornographic video on the reception computer.

To ensure that this act is not repeated we have also put auto screen saver where no one can log in to our computer with out password after 10 seconds.

We did report this incident to the police and have submitted the CCTV evidence of the same.

Kind Regards
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

As we entered the hotel reception there was nobody in attendance. To our disgust there was graphic pornography playing on the reception computer screen which was in full view of anybody that walked in the reception area. We were finally able to bring this to the attention of one of the staff who eventually was able to turn off the video but all of the time there was families waling through the area. The issue was brought to the attention of Tom the Manager who could say nothing apart from it was 'YouTube'. We were both disgusted and lost for words and decided straight away that we did not want to stay there for the night and cancelled our reservation and stayed at the Premier Inn down the road. To make matters worse, we rang Best Western Customer Services the following morning to report the issue and although it was accepted that we had seen what we had seen the Customer Services representative made a bit of a joke about it and didn't seem to understand the seriousness of the issue. We will never be staying at a Best Western again because of this as they obviously don't have the right attitude towards their Customers!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank sam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay S, Manager at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello Sam

With reference to your feedback, i would like to clarify that this was an foolish act done done by a passerby who came into the reception desk while the reception staff was handling a guest request in our next door restaurant, this passerby committed this idiotic act and put the pornographic video on the reception computer.

To ensure that this act is not repeated we have also put auto screen saver where no one can log in to our computer with out password after 10 seconds.

We did report this incident to police and have submitted the CCTV evidence of the same.

Kind Regards
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As soon as we arrived at this hotel there was a polite caring and friendly welcome from the receptionist and found as we requested we could have an early check in which was beneficial to our plans.
Yes the rooms were a little tired but they were decent sized single rooms with plenty of milk,tea and coffee, which is unusual,even the top hotels skimp on this.
The bar staff were friendly and although there was a limited amount of draught ale available it was well kept.
Breakfast was excellent with once again a pleasant waitress.
Made a change to stay in a hotel where the staff were naturally friendly and everything you needed was to hand.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor were good with easy access to car park for unloading/loading
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikrok5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Tatty pub/Hotel on outskirts of stevenage, Tiny, tatty room with uncomfortable bed & outdated TV. Food is extremely average quality for top notch price, beer is terrible, walk to the local pub down the road if you want a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank TAMember09132012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a friendly local hotel, ideal for the leisure and business traveller, not far from the A1 / A1M with adequate car parking spaces. After a long day travelling across the UK roads,I arrived at the Roebuck Inn and as I walked into the reception area, I was greeted with a large welcoming smile from the chap at reception. Check in was smooth and easy. The room I was allocated was clean and tidy and it felt safe and secure. Not only is this hotel a nice place to stay it has the added bonus of having an Indian restaurant in the hotel serving great food - all freshly made. Check out was equally easy and smooth, I will defo book this hotel again – good value for money with caring staff and a great restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packer_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We four friends were satisfy with this restaurant.Rooms are extra large & comfortable.Food are well services.Food like indian,indonesian,etc are delicious.Bar side area is large & good.Swimming pool is well & services are good

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have visit this hotel about one week ago with my family.I found well services & excellent food in this hotel.
I found very oily food in other hotel but in this hotel i found oil free food which is i like most. the room services are well & they give respect to all customers. i liked this hotel & next time i"ll again visit this restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
2.5 mi away
The Abbington
The Abbington
#8 of 11 in Stevenage
86 reviews
2.4 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Cromwell
Hotel Cromwell
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Address: Broadwater London Road, Stevenage SG2 8DS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range: £58 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roebuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevenage
Stevenage Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing