We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The Abbington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Abbington
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel has surprised me - it is as good as others have written.
Effectively a large English house that has licenced bar in the front room and a large dining room behind it. It sits in a row of similar houses and thankfully there is a large sign at front fence that makes it easier to find.
There is plenty of parking at the rear.
The staircases are typical English narrow and steep. Small luggage is recommended.
My queen bed room has separate rooms for shower and toilet, a good free secured wifi, coffee brewer etc.
I dined in house on a Yorkshire pudding style sausage and onion pie. It was good value.
This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    26
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
33
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here after making a booking for a friends birthday. The room was lovely and warm, very clean also and staff were very helpful and friendly! Would definitely recommend this hotel its a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa22Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night after making a last minute booking as I was attending a nearby football match. I often stay in local hotels as I support the local team but don't live nearby. I've never been here before but have already booked for the next time I'm visiting. From arrival I was warmly welcomed by the owner (Frank I think his name is) who opened up the bar just for me (my train journey had been awful) Everyone was very friendly and the rooms very comfortable. I much prefer this traditional hotel opposed to the characterless chain establishments elsewhere in the town. I very much look forward to coming back a week Saturday.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a freezing cold room apparently because boiler was bust and being fixed next day - it wasnt! Eventually issued with electric fan heater which caused power to trip off! Still cold, but no-one really interested.
Highlight of third day was a very loud screaming match - heard all over 1st floor - with the contestants apparently the owner/manager and wife or significant other.
My cold room was cleanish but looked tatty with holes in wall and had no shower mat or drinking glass. Breakfast reasonable. Basic decent enough hotel let down by Fawlty Tower style episodes.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Conveniently situated to the centre of Stevenage Old Town, The Abbington offered a traditional homely hotel with a comfortable twin room with ensuite shower room.
The hotel was well heated and extremely quite. I only stayed one night but enjoyed the stay immensely. The breakfast was excellent. Parking was convenient.and free. The owners were away and the caretaker manager had not got access to the bar but had been completely up front with that on our arrival. I have only one minor criticism that the bath towel did not cater for those of us with a larger build and I believe though Monogrammed, I would have preferred a bath sheet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Clean, tidy hotel with welcoming staff. Good basic meal available quite late in the evening and a lovely breakfast. Late check in available. Easy to book. If you are a larger person it may pay to mention it as the ensuite in our room thou immaculatly clean was quite small. the room was a good size as was the bed. Good furnishings.

Room Tip: Limited outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbfoxgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked in for one night as we were attending a friend's wedding and didn't fancy the drive back to Gloucestershire the same day. On arrival we were taken round the back of the main hotel to an annexe where we were shown into our room. The room was large and contained a double bed and one single but the bathroom was little more than a cubby-hole, owing to the huge shower, and the floor of the bathroom was wet. We put it down to the room having just been cleaned. Apart from the amazingly hideous wardrobe there wasn't much else to see, the tea and coffee making facilities were clean and well stocked, but the bathroom sink was a bit too small to fill the kettle up more than a bit. We got changed and went out.
After we got back about half past midnight we went back to our room and there was the sound of a fire alarm bleeping and no power in the room at all. My husband had to go to reception and summon someone to come and look at it. The person that came along then had a heated, loud conversation via mobile with the owner who was on holiday! He was quite abrupt on the phone and whilst entertaining wasn't hugely professional. He managed to reset the breaker and the lights came back in, only to go off again about five minutes after he had left. Luckily my husband had watched the man reset the breaker and was able to do it himself. We had no problem with they power after that.
However the bathroom floor was still wet and we saw that it was caused by the toilet leaking. At this stage we were too tired to do anything about it and just went to bed. We reported it in the morning when we went for breakfast, which, I have to say, was excellent.
The staff were all very helpful and apologetic, but I think they should have known about the leaky toilet, especially as I was told that the annexe had only been refurbished a month ago!
I don't think our experience with the toilet and power is indicative but it did spoil our stay somewhat. I'd give the Abbington another try. I don't think my husband would though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cromwell
Hotel Cromwell
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
493 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbington

Property: The Abbington
Address: 23 Hitchin Road, Stevenage SG1 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Abbington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing