We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of improvements”

Gordon Craig Theatre
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Stevenage
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stevenage
Level Contributor
207 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“In need of improvements”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Recently attended another concert, this is my local theatre/concert hall and sometimes I feel embarrassed to say that. Clearly the artists that perform there are also bewildered they are performing next to the gym in the "squash hall", the comics love to make fun of it understandably, and I do wonder how many choose not to come back to such a poor venue. Whilst waiting I observed non-local people arriving and it became very apparent signage is poor and it isn't at all clear where to go (well let's face it, it is the gym entrance!) . My particular bug bear though is the fact they squeeze so many chairs in you sit like sardines, it becomes very hot and uncomfortable when you have no room or space to move without invading your neighbours personal space...money really needs to be invested in bringing this venue up to date and more appealing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    51
    12
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Had a lovely time here watched a Panto last year it was really good fun, nice big place plenty of seating nice stage, recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyTambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gordon Craig Theatre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The theatre is in the Leisure Centre, which is a typical 1970s town building. Nothing spectacular, but is functional and the interior has been regularly upgraded. Parking is excellent, right outside, but can be full on Saturday daytimes due to shoppers. There is a separate disabled parking area, but is very fiddly to operate, so make sure you call the theatre staff first to ask them, it looks like it is an area of emergency vehicles only. The bar and restaurant are OK, the latter does some quite good deals, so keep a look out for them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

My son performed in a show here during the stevenage festival. Absolutely fantastic theatre, all seats have a good view its very well set up. Bar costs are not extortionate and brilliant backstage facilities for the acts, very helpful staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Good nIght Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Have visited the Gordon Craig theatre for many years, there are in fact two venues, a theatre and a concert hall. The Concert Hall is larger but I prefer the smaller theatre for atmosphere and presentation. The presentations are always good , whether professional or amateur. There are also excellent facilities for fitness training. In addition indoor bowls, badminton etc.. and a restaurant but I have not used the latter facilities.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gordon Craig Theatre also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Knebworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Gordon Craig Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing