We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good selection of food... in the vending machine.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good selection of food... in the vending machine.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Upon arrival at around 7pm we thought that the place seemed decent. We checked in, the young lad on reception was helpful. Went to order from a set menu- thank god! I was starving. Options were very limited so being an allergy sufferer I could only eat what I knew. We asked the girl on reception what ingredients were in the main courses and she just looked blankly. So I opted for Garlic bread.
As we were a coach party we had a set time to eat at 830. Service was very slow, and at 930 we were still waiting for food to arrive. (I reccomend the hotel purchases an additional microwave) The waiting staff brought the meals out one at a time.
The meal was special- with the added ingredient of hair. Yum. As I was so hungry after my three bits of overcooked garlic bread, I had a twix from the vending machine.
We resided to our room eventually about 950pm. The room was of comfort and quiet. Bit of noise from the above room but this stopped after a few minutes.
Went for breakfast at 7am, service was much better (as it was self service) Yet another hair found on 'clean' plates.
More choice than dinner. However, no bacon. (If you struggle to find microwaveable bacon Holiday Inn Express I think Walls produce them)

So if you do wish to stop/are placed at HI Express Stevenage take a bit of extra cash as I believe there is a Weatherspoons around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian_Holfve, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feed back in regards to your recent stay it is only with this feed back that we can improve the guest experience. I aploagise that your stay wasn't up to the high standards we set ourselves here at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage I have taken all your comments on board and will action them immediately
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    210
    132
    32
    12
See reviews for
94
124
58
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend and wanted to share our experience with you. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Room was up to par for Holiday Inn Express standards but bed seemed very small for two 'normal weight' people! Water in hot tap took about 5 minutes to warm up and as soon as you turned it off it went back to being cold and you had to start the warm up process all over again. Parking facilities in Matalan car park overnight were well publicised and very convenient. However, breakfast was a major disappointment. Coffee was 'undrinkable', if you had a cappuccino the milk content just disappeared and you were left with black coffee which tasted foul. Two other hotels in same chain we have been to served 'proper' coffee. Bread was so thin I don't know they managed to slice it and cooked breakfast was very disappointing. Didn't exactly spoil our stay but may influence our decision to stay in a Holiday Inn Express again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray2Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian_Holfve, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and comments I very happy you found your stay and enjoyable one at that your room was to a high standard and that the staff were welcoming and friendly. I will action all point s you have raised
hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
196 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Haven't stayed here for a while but was looking forward to my return. Check-in remains very efficient and the rooms are exactly what you expect and entirely suitable. My room was starting to look dated and soon a refurb will be a requirement to keep up with the local compettition.

There is now a menu of fast food for the evening, before there were just take-away menus and the microwave for ready meals bought from the local tesco supermarket. A good idea, although I didn't use it.

However, this creates the problem - speed of service has gone from slow to unacceptable. The same staff man check-in as well as the bar and the food orders. I went to the bar and it took 17 minutes to order a beer and a further 8 minutes for it to arrive. Why, well food orders take time, there are people checking in etc.

It seems that there is management cost cutting and service exploitation - ie we provide food, but have not staffed for this.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with my team members who now stay in other local hotels (IBIS etc) - that the service is not acceptable.

I did leave my concerns and they promised to look into it and that it is a known problem. I shall stay again, but if this is not resolved, then I have no choice but to agree that the hotel is no longer fit for our purposes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkwind1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian_Holfve, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback from your recent stay with us it is only with this feedback that we can improve the service we offer
I have taken all your comments on board and have put together an action plan to improve in these areas
hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Long queue at check in , key didn't work, no table for dinner (even though we were on an organised trip), plates not cleared away, desserts all arrived at different times. The hotel was clean and comfortable but the service was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian_Holfve, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay, I have taken on board all your comments and set plans to action them all as we always look to improve the service we provide
hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The check in was quite slow, and I was surprised when we were offered two different room keys, as we had booked a double room. One was then taken back so we assume it was pot luck as to which room we got. Unfortunately we got the worst one.

The food was basic, we could help ourselves to overcooked vegetables and undercooked rice, then we were served the main course, chilli or chicken casserole, we were put off by the girl who was serving the main course as she was constantly playing with her hair and scratching her face over the food. Not very hygienic.

We went out for the evening to the Wetherspoons which is a 2 minute walk away, and then returned to our room to get settled for the night.

This was when we realised that some of the guests were having a party in their room.

We called reception, and someone came up and said they would investigate. Later on we telephoned again and was told that the noise was from the room above us and someone had been to tell them.

My husband even went to ask them to be quiet but to no avail. So at 3.45 we went to reception to ask for another room, we were told that the hotel was fully booked, but they would fully refund us, this was until they realised that we were with a coach party, and then the refund was speedily retracted. Someone did go again to speak to the party and when they came back told us that if we still hear the noise they will get the police to remove the noisy party from the premises.

This is obviously a normal occurrence for this hotel.

We were asked about the noise in the morning, but still no refund.

The breakfast was very basic, as others have stated no bacon.

In the end we were very glad to leave this hotel, and hopefully we will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohrwethereyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear olly01,

Thank you for reviewing your experience regarding your recent stay. It is unfortunate that this stay was a disappointment on several aspects. We have sent you a private message to discuss.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

You don't come to Stevenage unless you have to!!!

To soften the blow a bit is an excellent Holiday Inn Express there, which is actually owned by Morethan Hotels and it contrasts sharply with the HIE at Southampton West which is also a Morethan Hotel and is the opposite end of the ratings!

Check-in was smooth, friendly and welcoming, room 413 was clean and spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable and I slept extremely well! Shower actually worked and at a decent pressure! Breakfast was very good and overall this hotel is what I expected of a Holiday Inn Express.

If there is one slight downside, then it is the parking arrangements with voucher parking overnight at the Matalan car park across the road, then that's not the hotel's fault, more like Stevenage's fault when building the town!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian_Holfve, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to a high standard . Our breakfast is free of charge and has many options so I am glad you enjoyed it. Unfortunately as a town centre hotel it is very rare to have onsite car parking, however we have made the arrangements with the council to help better assist those with parking needs
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Booked this hotel for family who came to visit.

Excellent central location near to bus station and rail station. The receptionist "Maisie" was extremely helpful and friendly and made the check-in process a quick and efficient process.

Rooms were clean and spacious and the beds very comfy.

I will definitely be booking this hotel again for family members coming to stay as it is conveniently located at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jselina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian_Holfve, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for such amazing comments I have passed these on to Masie I am glad you found the hotel to be an ideal location for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.2 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Address: Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Stevenage is located off Junction 7 of the A1(M) and is situated in the heart of Stevenage town centre. This Stevenage Hotel is within easy access to bus and train links providing a fast direct rail service to central London and around Hertfordshire, making the hotel an ideal location for both business and leisure travel. If you are travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage is within easy walking and driving distance to some of the local companies within Stevenage such has DuPont, MDBA, Fujitsu and Glaxo SmithKline. London Luton Airport is only 13 miles from the hotel. With the hotel being located within the heart of Stevenage a number of good restaurants and pubs are all within walking distance. If you're looking for that short weekend break or time to relax again the hotel is an ideal choice. Offering family rooms, why not explore the local area and attractions such has Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Welwyn Garden City, cathedral city of St Albans. Take a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre or visit Stevenage leisure Park. Visit London or Cambridge Stay at this excellent Stevenage hotel and ask about our low rates. The hotel also offers 4 meeting rooms. All rooms are newly refurbished, en suite, fully air conditioned with free Wifi and freeview TV. We have a small car park with limited spaces for disable guests, but local parking at discounted rates is available. Guests also benefit from a buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Stevenage Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing