We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a con”
Review of Jade Palace

Jade Palace
Ranked #96 of 162 Restaurants in Stevenage
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a con”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the restaurant at 3.50pm today wanting the Sunday buffet meal, for £7.90 a head which runs from 12.30 to 16.45pm to be told that we had to have the full price menu at £14.90 a head. When it was clearly displayed in the window the buffet price and times, so displayed a cheaper price but charged a different price once you sat down. Very unfair. The food was average, very salty and they couldn't give a toss, not surprising to see only 3 people in the restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank frankie2671968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    23
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All you can eat? My foot!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The food wasn't bad but the service aweful. We were 2 and even though we asked for some dishes the same, they only brought a portion for 1. Some of our order just didn't turn up and after our main course, the 'waitress' just cleared the table and took the table cover, cutlery etc away. She didn't bring the menu back. We had eaten enough apparently. ..Then , even though she had signalled that we had finished, she didn't offer the bill. Just left us sitting for ages as wetried to catch somebody's attention to pay the £34 for 2 meals and a glass of coke each. A meal I felt was worth no more than £20 .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank astertjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food for what you pay”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We've been here twice now. It's all you can eat but they cook it to order and bring to your table for just under £15.00

The food is good especially the starters, and considering the amount they have to cook to order etc.

Could do with redecorating and the furniture updating as it is a little tired and run down.

The staff to their best but some of their English isn't very good but you can tell they genuinely do try to help and the service was good on both occasions.

Would recommend and will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kctreac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
Level Contributor
130 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I cannot recall when I last visited this restaurant but it could be as long as 20 years ago! Must admit I was rather hesitant to re-visit as there seems to be a high proportion of negative reviews and the Council's hygiene rating was not very favourable. Anyway myself and friend visited on a midweek evening and were the only diners for an hour or so. The Emperor menu (all you can eat for £14.90 per head) was explained to us and we were invited to write the dish numbers on a small scrap of paper.
I was initially concerned that we had over-ordered as the conditions stipulate that left-overs cannot be taken home and therefore were we going to be charged for wastage? However, we concluded that the greater the number of dishes ordered the smaller the portions. Despite eating numerous different ones neither of us felt over fed and experienced the famed " an hour later we would be hungry again". Personally I found the food rather bland but perhaps that is because I prefer spicy Asian food. Service was "all or nothing" i.e. several waitresses asking or none at all. I also have to agree with others that the room was uncomfortably cold and the place lacking atmosphere - only 4 diners during peak evening hours.
Would I visit again? Probably yes on the same basis of All You Can Eat despite the food being salty but certainly not for a formal occasion or romantic meal out. Average, OK, so-so, mediocre etc. but that is all. Unexciting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigglesBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Missed Opportunity?”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The food was edible, but i will not be rushing back. The buffet menu was reasonably priced, unfortunately there is a lot of room for improvement on the taste front.

The service was a bit sketchy. Mainly due to insufficient staff. Even when the bill was due!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepysroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade Palace also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Jade Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing