We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not great.”
Review of Gurkha Oriental Palace - CLOSED

Gurkha Oriental Palace
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Poole
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OK, but not great.”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The service at the restaurant was great, with very attentive staff. The food, however, was a little lack-lustre, which was a shame.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    10
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“suprised”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I went to this restaurant today 4th sept 2013 my son and i were just passing so we thought we would give it a go as we had a couple of hours to kill. the staff were very friendly efficient and couldn't have been more helpful. the food well there was loads to choose from and everything i had to eat was lovely i tried as many dishes as i could and i couldn't fault it. As soon as you finished a round of food the staff were there to clear your plate as oppsed to some well known all you can eat chains who just leave your dirty plates there until you leave. If you are eating on a budget this place is brilliant the price for an all you can eat menu of that extent was amazing.

all i can say is i would recommend this place to anyone will definitely being going back myself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This restaurant had been recommended to us and we also were happy to support such a valiant people. However, it was overpriced for what it was - a cheap chinese style eat all you can buffet. Basic surroundings and service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service made it good”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Good selection of food, after asking about some meat dishes that were a bit dry the staff apologised quickly asked us what dishes we would like and had them freshly cooked. The way they reacted and the speed in which the bits we were unhappy with we're corrected made for a good evening out :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge choice, great food and service.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

In Poole for the weekend and visited this restaurant with friends who had been before. Not too busy for early Saturday evening but got busier as time went on. Lots to choose from and try. Everything was delicious from the duck pancakes to the ice-cream/fruit salad.
Service good, even taking your plate away between courses/dishes so you get a clean one. Drinks abit pricy but at 'as much as you can eat' for £12.95 its great value.
Highly recommended can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluecaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Oriental Palace also viewed

Lytchett Matravers, Poole
Lytchett Matravers, Poole
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing