We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctive French cuisine in horse box setting.”
Review of Isabels

Isabels
Ranked #11 of 363 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Distinctive French cuisine in horse box setting.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wide menu with a very good choice of dishes with a French overtone.
My venison was very tender, and my wife's duck was great.
Very good mixed seafood salad to start.
Because of the high booths, difficult to attract a waitress.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DolphinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    67
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Old fashioned French style”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We dined here in a party of six, we had a great evening full of well cooked French food and wine. The staff were all very efficient and chatty.
We would return if we were in the area during the week when there are good value set menus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nwspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but getting dated”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

It had been a while since we had been to Isabel's and we're looking forward to an enjoyable evening. The restaurant and front of house was excellent as usual but we found the menu had changed little through the years. I wish I could give it 5 stars but the chef needs to change the menu and vegetables offered as a few of them are starting to look dated.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service spoilt by badly cooked steaks”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This restaurant was very highly recommended so I made a special trip to try it out.

The welcome and customer service were simply superb and the front of house deserve recognition for their work. Well done.

Ordered a well done steak. Medium steak arrived (I never, ever eat uncooked meat).

The whole meal was changed almost immediately with profuse apologies.

Replacement meal arrived extremely quickly. Too quickly to have turned a medium steak into a well done steak.

The same steak was served to me again and was again mostly medium rather than well done.

Very disappointing.

Again the customer service was exceptional. The whole cost of the meal and two soft drinks was cancelled - a very pleasing result.

However, the chef has failed Isabel's owners, the front of house staff and me and that's a real pity.

I cancelled my reservation for the next day and will not be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenWC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Good but a little unimaginative”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A group of us has enjoyed dining in this restaurant on quite a few occasions. The food is good but perhaps a little unimaginative, still being in the steak, chicken and fish covered with creamy sauce mode of the 1970s. The menu is somewhat unchanging; even the specials on the night we were there were mere variations of what was already on the main menu: steak in a sauce. One negative: the starter of crab wrapped in salmon was generous but tasteless. Frozen crab? Tired smoked salmon?

The restaurant has a good wine list. Service and ambience are both good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isabels also viewed

 

Been to Isabels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing