We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Cottage B&B
Ranked #22 of 49 Poole B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed with John and Jill at Laurel Cottage for two nights but wish it could have been longer. The moment you step through their door the warmth and welcoming are second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms are beautiful, very comfortable beds and lovely linen, amazing en suite which beats a five star hotel hands down. Ideal location for travelling around Dorset and surrounding areas, nice pubs nearby for evening meals. You really could not find a better place to stay. Thank you John and Jill for finding us a room at such short notice and for going to so much trouble, we will be back to see you again, also please send our love to Wendy and thank her for the delicious breakfasts. Best wishes Frances and John

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

we stayed 13/09/13 to 15/09/13....

the welcome was to the 3 of us was great , the room was so clean and very well laid out with in peoples taste, the bed was bliss full to sleep in the shower was to die for!!

The breakfast was lovely and was offered more .

but what i liked the most was we came back after a day out put our 2 year old to bed in the (travel cot provided) baby monitor on , went down stairs to the living room and really chilled with the tele on and baby monitor on ... everyone else who stayed there was so friendly it was a truely lovely feeling of warmth and homely!!

i cannot fault laurel cottage, the hostess was amazing the chef also!!

summer time the grounds and pool to play within!!

SO SO HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO STAY!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s16ear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Thank you to John and Jill for another lovely stay at laurel cottage. As usual a nice warm welcome, this is the second time we have stayed here and it will definitely not be the last. It was nice to see you both again and of course Wendy who made us a superb breakfast. I highly recommend this b&b it's clean comfortable and friendly not to mention the beautiful grounds its set in. Thanks again from Del and Tina

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roo124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 days in Dorset. Laurel Cottage is a delightful find. The balcony room was lovely, very spacious and extremely comfortable - especially the bed! Jill and John are very welcoming hosts who pointed us in the right direction for the evening out and ensured we had everything we needed. The cooked breakfast was great, thank you Wendy! If we had been braver we might have tried the pool which looked inviting - but cold! The gardens are exceptionally pretty and all in all we can highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the balcony room which is large and very comfortable, though if you are tall the eaves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We enjoyed three lovely nights, wish our stay could have been for longer. Jill, John and not forgetting Dulcie made us feel welcome. Lovely room and comfortable bed and more than adequate meals set us up nicely for the day.
Already planning another Dorset trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intothegroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Hi Cheryl,
thank you so much for your tremendous review. It really warms the cockles of our hearts to read such lovely reports, and makes running a small business like Laurel Cottage really worthwhile. Hope to see you both again, thanks once more John and Jill and Dulci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just spent 3 wonderful nights in the charming Laurel Cottage. We could not have asked for more - it is clean, comfortable, welcoming but most importantly, John & Jill are the most friendly, accommodating hosts. They made us feel so welcome and allowed us to feel totally at home, even though there were 6 of us, including 3 noisy children! The children were able to make use of the lovely pool (yes even in the rain), and the comfortable lounge meant we were able to spend some time together in the evenings before retreating to our beautifully furnished bedrooms. The breakfasts were amazing - thank you to Wendy, especially for my delicious poached eggs! My son left his watch there when we left yesterday, John has kindly posted it back to us & it came with the post this morning. Thank you John.
Thank you to all of you for a wonderful stay, we will most certainly return.
If anyone is in 2 minds whether to visit, please don't hesitate. It's fabulous!

Room Tip: The balcony room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hi Sarah and Mike,
thank you so much for your absolutely fabulous review, it really warms the cockles of our hearts to read such lovely reports, and makes running a small business as Laurel Cottage so worthwhile. Glad you received the watch, all the very best, John and Jill and of course Dulci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in a relaxed atmosphere. Jill & John are very friendly, and the gardens & swimming pool are lovely.We stayed in the balcony room and found it very nice.
Wendys cooked breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flitwickfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Hi Mark and Jan,
thank you so much for your wonderful review, it really warms the cockles of our hearts to read such lovely reports. It makes running a small business such as Laurel Cottage so worthwhile. Hope to see you again, regards John and Jill and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
5.7 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.7 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: Laurel Cottage Slough Lane | Upton, Poole BH16 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage B&B Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing