We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Cottage B&B
Ranked #19 of 49 Poole B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had to re-book accommodation for our overnight stay in Poole prior to taking the ferry to France, and we found the Laurel on TripAdvisor. John helped us with a family room as we were travelling with our grandson, who wanted to visit the Normandy landings before taking A-levels next year. He also recommended a local eatery as we arrived somewhat later than expected after a slow drive down from Wales via Bath where the road was closed due to an accident. After a relatively comfortable night, we rose early to find the charming Jill ready to cook our fresh full English, and we were on our way by 7 am. The Laurel is very convenient for Brittany Ferries as they are literally 10 mins. from the port, and we thought offered good value as well as a great welcome.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms we looked into had huge double beds with lovely decor and furnishings. We felt a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Looking at recent reviews I have no doubt that John & Jill are excellent hosts. Unfortunately when we stayed they were at their holiday flat in Bulgaria. Their stand-in seemed to be under significant pressure and was more concerned with the cleaning and looking after the dogs than looking after us. Apart from the few minutes spent showing us the room we did not see her or in fact anyone else during our stay. We needed to leave early to catch the ferry and so we were shown the kitchen and told we could make it ourselves. The room and bed were fine but not outstanding. In contrast to a recent review our shower was terrible. The water took forever to get hot and when it did arrive it was a sad dribble. The television did not have a correct booster and so, many channels did not work. Finally there was no WiFi. I do not begrudge people their holidays but in a people based business you either close up shop or make sure that your replacements deliver the same level of service. I strongly recommend you find out if the owners are home before you book.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

We were surprised by your review and saddened, such a shame you didn't have more time to meet all of the staff. Early morning ferry crossing, means you miss out on the cooked breakfast, which starts at 7.30am, but we always offer a choice of cereals, yogurts,toast with marmalade, or jams, plus a packed lunch for the crossing. Wished we had the opportunity to meet you.

Kind regards John and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This visit was myself and my two daughters. As on previous visits John and Jill made us so welcome. It is like staying with old friends who can't do enough to help; I had forgotten to take an adaptor I needed and John found one to lend me. Nothing is too much trouble.

Breakfast is cooked freshly exactly to your requirements, thank you Wendy.

The comfortable lounge means you are not confined to your own room if you have an evening to while away.

We will certainly be returning and would not consider staying anywhere else if we are in the area. Thanks again John and Jill. Lovely to see you both and Dulcie as well as the new addition of Lola. My daughter loved her stay with you all again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed with John and Jill at Laurel Cottage for two nights but wish it could have been longer. The moment you step through their door the warmth and welcoming are second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms are beautiful, very comfortable beds and lovely linen, amazing en suite which beats a five star hotel hands down. Ideal location for travelling around Dorset and surrounding areas, nice pubs nearby for evening meals. You really could not find a better place to stay. Thank you John and Jill for finding us a room at such short notice and for going to so much trouble, we will be back to see you again, also please send our love to Wendy and thank her for the delicious breakfasts. Best wishes Frances and John

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we stayed 13/09/13 to 15/09/13....

the welcome was to the 3 of us was great , the room was so clean and very well laid out with in peoples taste, the bed was bliss full to sleep in the shower was to die for!!

The breakfast was lovely and was offered more .

but what i liked the most was we came back after a day out put our 2 year old to bed in the (travel cot provided) baby monitor on , went down stairs to the living room and really chilled with the tele on and baby monitor on ... everyone else who stayed there was so friendly it was a truely lovely feeling of warmth and homely!!

i cannot fault laurel cottage, the hostess was amazing the chef also!!

summer time the grounds and pool to play within!!

SO SO HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO STAY!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s16ear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Thank you to John and Jill for another lovely stay at laurel cottage. As usual a nice warm welcome, this is the second time we have stayed here and it will definitely not be the last. It was nice to see you both again and of course Wendy who made us a superb breakfast. I highly recommend this b&b it's clean comfortable and friendly not to mention the beautiful grounds its set in. Thanks again from Del and Tina

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roo124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 days in Dorset. Laurel Cottage is a delightful find. The balcony room was lovely, very spacious and extremely comfortable - especially the bed! Jill and John are very welcoming hosts who pointed us in the right direction for the evening out and ensured we had everything we needed. The cooked breakfast was great, thank you Wendy! If we had been braver we might have tried the pool which looked inviting - but cold! The gardens are exceptionally pretty and all in all we can highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the balcony room which is large and very comfortable, though if you are tall the eaves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
5.7 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.7 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: Laurel Cottage Slough Lane | Upton, Poole BH16 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage B&B Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing