We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Cottage B&B
Ranked #15 of 52 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed one night. Average B&B. We had the best room that is comfortable and spacious. However, it was cold on arrival as the central heating was off during the day. Breakfast and service OK. Convenient for Holes Bay and Hamworthy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    8
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chatteris, cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. Lovely cooked breakfast both mornings, big comfy bed, decorated very well, shower was amazing.. Lovely room. Owners are very polite, nice welcome. Situated in a lovely quiet place, enjoyed two wonderful nights sleep and would def return!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redheadedemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hook
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here last September whilst the owners were away. We had a warm welcome and whilst every effort was made to make sure that we were comfortable, I would agree, in the main, with the comments made by Robin E. Our shower was OK, but we also had a bit of trouble with the TV. All in all, no better or worse than many other B&Bs that I have stayed in. However, the cottage is in a pleasant, quiet location, around 10 minutes drive from Poole Harbour and quite well situated for exploring the surrounding area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Wonderful to have the opportunity to stay at Laurel Cottage again, this time with our 19 year old son. We had the balcony room and felt very spoilt. We were bowled over by all the lovely redecoration that Jill and John have done since our last visit. Our son's room was lovely and equipped with everything could want. Breakfast was tailored made to accommodate all our likes - especially all those traditional items that we miss living in France. Looking forward to our next visit in April 2014. Thank you for making us so welcome during our 5 day stay.

Room Tip: For something special ask for the Balcony Room - a lovely light and airy room perfect for complete r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
478 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had to re-book accommodation for our overnight stay in Poole prior to taking the ferry to France, and we found the Laurel on TripAdvisor. John helped us with a family room as we were travelling with our grandson, who wanted to visit the Normandy landings before taking A-levels next year. He also recommended a local eatery as we arrived somewhat later than expected after a slow drive down from Wales via Bath where the road was closed due to an accident. After a relatively comfortable night, we rose early to find the charming Jill ready to cook our fresh full English, and we were on our way by 7 am. The Laurel is very convenient for Brittany Ferries as they are literally 10 mins. from the port, and we thought offered good value as well as a great welcome.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms we looked into had huge double beds with lovely decor and furnishings. We felt a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Looking at recent reviews I have no doubt that John & Jill are excellent hosts. Unfortunately when we stayed they were at their holiday flat in Bulgaria. Their stand-in seemed to be under significant pressure and was more concerned with the cleaning and looking after the dogs than looking after us. Apart from the few minutes spent showing us the room we did not see her or in fact anyone else during our stay. We needed to leave early to catch the ferry and so we were shown the kitchen and told we could make it ourselves. The room and bed were fine but not outstanding. In contrast to a recent review our shower was terrible. The water took forever to get hot and when it did arrive it was a sad dribble. The television did not have a correct booster and so, many channels did not work. Finally there was no WiFi. I do not begrudge people their holidays but in a people based business you either close up shop or make sure that your replacements deliver the same level of service. I strongly recommend you find out if the owners are home before you book.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We were surprised by your review and saddened, such a shame you didn't have more time to meet all of the staff. Early morning ferry crossing, means you miss out on the cooked breakfast, which starts at 7.30am, but we always offer a choice of cereals, yogurts,toast with marmalade, or jams, plus a packed lunch for the crossing. Wished we had the opportunity to meet you.

Kind regards John and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abergavenny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This visit was myself and my two daughters. As on previous visits John and Jill made us so welcome. It is like staying with old friends who can't do enough to help; I had forgotten to take an adaptor I needed and John found one to lend me. Nothing is too much trouble.

Breakfast is cooked freshly exactly to your requirements, thank you Wendy.

The comfortable lounge means you are not confined to your own room if you have an evening to while away.

We will certainly be returning and would not consider staying anywhere else if we are in the area. Thanks again John and Jill. Lovely to see you both and Dulcie as well as the new addition of Lola. My daughter loved her stay with you all again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
3.0 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
0.4 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Perry's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Property: Laurel Cottage B&B
Address: Laurel Cottage Slough Lane | Upton, Poole BH16 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage B&B Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing