We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay as nice as the first”
Review of Quayside B&B

Quayside B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quayside B&B
Ranked #30 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second stay as nice as the first”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I visited the Quayside B&B for the second time last weekend due to a family event nearby. Proprietor remembered me from the first visit and asked how things were since the last visit. We had a nice room on the first floor with all the amenities i needed for a short trip. After the noise from the outside has gone (due to being nearby a few pubs) we slept very well. Breakfast was nice as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em_Anne_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    18
    7
    8
    10
See reviews for
10
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
folkestone
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

1) no central heating - there was an electricfire but not man enough for the job
2) bed very uncomfortable
3) window didn't close properly so noisy all night
4) bedding too small, so one of us was always cold
5) veneer peeling off bathroom cabinet and door swang open over the basin - wouldn't close
6) chose it because it wasnear the ferry, but parking was a nightmare
7) breakfast was highlight - the egg was perfect but cooked tomatoes cold and bacon hard

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evieFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I've stayed at this B&B twice. The first time, it was ok. We stayed there as it is in a great location and it was last minute. The second time, it was terrible. The mattresses are tired and I couldn't sleep. It felt like I was laying on railway tracks. Breakfast is too early. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here for one night in June 2012. We were only about 500 yards away and telephoned for directions as this is on the High Street in Poole and it was particularly busy. I gave my name and asked for a 'landmark' to help; after discussing various shops (which I couldn't see) I was told the B&B was opposite the Museum (huge building, couldn't miss it).

I asked where the parking was (had been advised public car park opposite at the time of booking); was given directions to the rear of the property and told to park in one of the three spaces; my Husband remained with the luggage to check into the room. On arrival at the parking, all three spaces were occupied; I telephoned again explaining this and was told she had made a mistake and I was not allocated any parking and to return and she would (again) direct me to parking (which I was expecting to be opposite so a little confused!!). This time I was directed to parking about a five minute walk away. My husband advised that he had been shown to a reasonable looking double room initially, however, once she realised that she had made a mistake she then showed him to a triple room (Room 8).

Oh dear, the room! this was very poorly laid out / cramped, we both walked into the end of the double bed at different times as the gap was so narrow. Strange 'plastic' cushions adorned the beds; the bed did not feel fresh - perhaps it needed an air; all three packets of biscuits were identical. The room was very stuffy, not sure when the interior of the window was last cleaned. The bathroom did not improve at all - it was not possible to sit on the toilet, other than sideways as there was insufficient room for ones knees. Bathroom was in need of some love; in fact a refurbishment would have been welcome throughout. Bare essentials were provided.

Breakfast was OK, served in the cafe next door (accessed from the B&B).

We won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed at the Quayside very nice, great breakfast very nice hosts and excellent location any nearer to the quay and we would have got wet, recommend thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbbvespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Visited Tourist Information and was recommended to Quayside B&B as we were told it was a lovely place. Also they accepted payment by debit/credit card, and they had parking available. Also it is very convenient for Poole Quay. However, when we arrived we were told there was no parking available (they only have 3 spaces and the owner was occupying 2 of them). Payment was requested as we arrived and I said we would pay by card, but was told they were having some problems with their card machine and could we pay cash. I said the TI had said cards accepted and that was how I wanted to pay, so she got the machine and, yes, it worked ok! We had Room 2 on the front and on a very hot night we left the window open. Soon after 11.00 pm we had the nearby bars/restaurants dumping their empty bottles into bottle bank. Then from about midnight we had numerous cars/taxis dropping people outside, who then decided to have long and loud conversations before moving away. This went on until about 2.30 am. Then it was quiet until about 5.45 am when the refuse lorry came to collect all the empty bottles from the bottle bank, then it was the council vehicles emptying the litter bins, then delivery trucks bringing fresh stock to the commercial premises nearby. Absolute nightmare, but far too hot to close the window. The bed was hard, the duvet heavy like an old quilt and the TV only had 2 channels with no remote control. Bathroom cabinet door broken and electric shower placed dangerously low down in cubicle where it can get soaked through. Breakfast supposed to begin at 7.30 but when we arrived at 7.40 the tables hadn't been laid up. No fruit juice or cereal offered, only full English or a few variations on this. We asked for tea and were given a cup (not a pot) and had to ask for another cup. Toast was provided before our cooked breakfast, but no offer of any more toast made. Breakfast is served in the cafe next door (owned by the same family) but I was disturbed to see a cat strolling through the cafe while we were having breakfast, which I considered totally unsatisfactory. The only good thing about this B&B is the plentiful supply of tea/coffee/milk in the room, and 3 packets of biscuits!! Would not stay there again as for £70 we expected better.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter, but there is a car park which is shared by quite a few businesses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lovemyhols C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Mandeville Uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Beware! Booked via the local tourist board and I am very annoyed with myself we stayed there. Poor condition musty room, cramped bathroom and bed small uncomfortable with very poor quality polyester style bed clothes. We were asked to pay up front and had to insist on a receipt "why do you want one - it is not necessary!" Breakfast very poor in their cafe next door, no juices, only one cup of tea or coffee. Parking around the back was not secure and shared by many businesses - I got the impression that we were allowed the space to park as we were going to move on even though it was late in the day.Not a pleasant place to stay - one to avoid

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimStokeMandevilleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.2 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
1.8 mi away
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Merchant House
The Merchant House
#16 of 50 in Poole
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quay House
Quay House
#25 of 50 in Poole
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Antelope Hotel
The Antelope Hotel
#32 of 50 in Poole
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside B&B

Property: Quayside B&B
Address: 9 High Street, Poole, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Quayside B&B Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing