We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Poole”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crown Hotel

Crown Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay in Poole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Whilst visiting friends in Poole we stayed at the Crown and could not fault it. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Excellent restaurant called the Guildhall about 50 yards away. Would definitely reccomend a stay at the Crown if in Poole.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    19
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
18
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed here recently & was a little bit concerned when I see some of the older reviews. But there was no need to worry. Like some of the recent reviews say its obviously been refurbished and they have done their best to bring the pub-hotel up to date. The room I stayed in was a family room, 1 double bed & 2 singles, it had all new furniture & bedding etc. The food at the pub was good with a wide choice to choose from. So if your working or wanting somewhere resonable to stay in Poole & are looking for somewhere clean, friendly and reasonably priced then this place wouldn't be such a bad choice.
The only negative I can add is that there are no on suites and you have to share a couple of bathrooms. Not a problem to me but might be for you. They are very clean.

Room Tip: All I can say is I stayed in room 3 & didn't see any others. Although there were 3 other gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsmThe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

If you are ever visiting Poole in Dorset and want a great, central place to stay, then book The Crown. It`s basically a pub with quality rooms above it, which have recently been refurbed. It`s close to everything you need including other restaurants, pubs and the quay. Very reasonably priced and very welcoming. Always a pleasure to stay there. Oh, and the drinks are cheap compared to a lot of other places!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

I ate in the crown on asaturday night the staff were brilliant could not do enough for you. The food was hot, plentiful and cooked very well. I will definetly be going back and would recommend to a freind.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Willsfamily87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Inexpensive and unpretentious, centrally located. Management and staff alike are friendly and welcoming. The rooms have recently been done up and are now very comfortable although a bit of noise can sometimes drift in from downstairs. You can always join them with a pint or two of Ringwood Best!

Room Tip: To be honest, you may get a bit of noise on any side of the building, either from traffic outside or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Have stayed here many times.The rooms have recently had a make over.New beds Flat screen TV.The staff are very friendly and welcoming.The one drawback is no en suite facilities.Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.Can be noisy at the back when people are in the smoking are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxerteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We both ate and stayed here last weekend on a work trip to Poole. Lindsey and Jeff could not do enough for us and have re-ignited our belief that there are really kind people in this world. The food was lovely and the location is ideal for anyone who wants to be in the centre of Poole close to the waterfront. We will definately be staying here again when we next visit the area. Thanks Caron and Jared

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazza31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quay House
Quay House
#27 of 50 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cafe Guest House 34
Cafe Guest House 34
#31 of 50 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Mary Inn
Queen Mary Inn
#21 of 50 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viewpoint Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Antelope Hotel
The Antelope Hotel
#17 of 50 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 23 Market Street, Poole BH15 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing