We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely.”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Really lovely.”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

After ringing and finding that they had no rooms, I left my name in the hope - but with doubt - of a cancellation. Two days before we were due to travel I had an email offering accommodation so took it. We are so glad that I did.
The room was basic in terms of decoration. The vast expanse of white bedding and white walls (apart from the one made of a massive photo which was stunning!) gave a bit of a cold feel. That was minor though as the room and bathroom were spotless and had everything we needed - nice TV, alarm, hospitality tray, powerful shower, hairdryer - as well as a lovely view of the water especially as the sun set. If I was picky - I'd have liked bottled water in the room. When I tried to buy some at the bar they had none.

Breakfast was lovely although the queues for the self service food were horrendous as people waited for hot food to be replenished. The food quality was very good and really the problem of the queues was only because there was the inevitable 'rush hour'. Perhaps service time might be extended at weekends to try and minimise this.

On our first night we ate in Riggers restaurant (the same place that breakfast is served)and it was absolutely gorgeous. We eat out a lot at some pretty special places and are a fussy pair but this could rival any of them. Food quality, standard of cooking and prices are all really good. Service was great too - courteous, timely but unobtrusive. The only thing that stopped us eating there again was the fact that the menu was exactly the same - even the specials - throughout our stay. A shame because I would rather the RNLI benefit from my money than elsewhere particularly given the quality.

The bar is large and airy and drinks in the bar are well priced too. Again - timing was a bit of an issue. Why close at 10.30? We witnessed at least 12 people return from a night out for a last drink after this time who were disappointed to find it shut. The cost of staff for the extra hour would surely be more than covered by extra revenue and so would further benefit the organisation.

We had a lovely stay and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. Once we found the 'quick' way into town it was even better! Do ask at Reception - it was nearer than we thought!
All in all a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 are corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardener01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    138
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
125
387
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We (2 couples) tried to book RNLI accommodation for mid April 2011. It was at a time the RNLI had weekend of special activities.
As you can not book online you have to ring or email. We emailed and were told that accommodation was available but could only be booked by a RNLI member. Could we join and then book? Of course but you can not become a member online and we would have use a bank account in Australia and transfer money from here. This may be to do with the regulations covering charities in the UK. Who knows?
Bank account was duly set up and money (28 GBP) sent. After hearing nothing for two weeks, we phoned again and were told the membership number was about to be posted to us in Australia. But we were given the number over the phone.
We then phoned their booking service to be told that there was no accommodation available.
The obvious problem with all this is that there is a great gap between the booking and the accommodation sections. You can’t do one without the other but you can’t join and book at the same time.
Everyone we dealt with was pleasant and helpful. It just doesn’t seem to work.
We are happy to have a membership to this fine institution and hope we aren’t asked to renew it

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank grahamawaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Spent a very enjoyable weekend at the RNLI College. Very high standard of service, rooms very clean and comfortable . Breakfast delicious,particularly the bacon. We also had dinner which was good. The dinning room could do with being aired a in the morning, it still smelt a little of cooked fish from the previous evening. We have stayed at several of the expensive Hotels in the area and the College is by far the best, and such fantastic value for money. We also liked the idea that some of our money was going towards such a good cause.

Room Tip: Arrive Friday afternoon to watch Crews train
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenageFamily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My wife and I wanted to escape the rat race for three days,and found out about the college from the internet. We went there to sleep , read and relax. WHAT AN AMAZING FIND. Staff were from a different planet--nothing was too much trouble,always smiling and friendly,they clearly were enyoying their jobs and obviously this was helped by having good management. All aspects regarding food,cleanliness,comfort etc are A1.
Well done(you should be rated as a Six star)
With Kind Regards

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

This is a fabulous hotel - wonderful service from the booking to the departure. Great breakfast and very interesting as you can view where the lifeboat taining takes place. We had a disabled room which was very large, with a very comfortable extra bed for our 4 year old and cot for our baby. Wonderful harbour views too. The reception staff couldn't do enough for us, they were all without fail very kind and professional.

Not hugely expensive and we will go back and stay there next time we are in Poole.

We didn't have dinner there but there is a great Frankie and Bennys very nearby. The best hotel in the area we think!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epsom1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing