We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

On arrival greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were immaculate. Exactly as shown on web. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Evening meal although good value, choice was limited as food not available as advertised. On the whole, despite the evening meal choice being limited, I would highly recommend this hotel as superb value for money with staff that will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Also a good cause. Thankyou to all the staff that made this a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review. we are delighted that you had such a good welcome. We like to feel that the RNLI College is home to lifeboat crew and lifeguards who give up their time to train in saving lives at sea.

Our Riggers restaurant offer a range of dishes including local, fresh food. This does mean that occassionly dishes will run out, or not be available. We try and substitute these dishes with other offers.

Staying at the RNLI College really helps support us in our purpose of saving lives at sea. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    136
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
125
367
28
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed at the RNLI Lifeboat College for two nights. We were attending a double birthday celebration in the Harbour View retaurant on the Saturday. Our stay was enjoyable from the moment we arrived. All rooms have harbour views and are very clean and comfortable. Dove toiletries are supplied. Breakfast was a buffet and of a very high standard - inc. fresh fruit, stewed fruit, yoghurt, croissant, full English. fruit juice etc. The bar and restaurant were first class too. We shall be returning!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrambleBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

The Harbour view was a lovely setting for the joint 80th Birthday party you were celebrating. We are delighted that you enjoyed the RNLI College and your stay.

Everyone who uses RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananabirdzz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This super hotel has 60 bedrooms, all with sea views across the inner harbour at Poole.
You have to be an RNLI member to book, but with membership from around £28 a year, not only are you doing this top UK charity a favour, but yourself too, by then having the privilege of staying at a great venue with such great rates (it was £75 a double room per night B&B when staying 2 nights or more when we visited).
Anyone who has stayed at a Holiday Inn Express will see a parallel in the style of this ultra-modern college/hotel building. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and spotless, with big fluffy towels. The staff are friendly and cannot do enough to help. There is a separate semi-circular bar area on the first floor with wonderful views over Holes Bay, with a spiral staircase down to the ground floor Riggers restaurant. Breakfast is served there buffet-style with a large range of hot and cold choices. For example, the locally-sourced sausages are excellent and you can have eggs fried, scrambled or poached. Plus kippers and haddock, etc.
We also dined there one evening and enjoyed grilled sea bream with fresh vegetables and steamed plaice with lemon and capers. All very reasonably priced. One wee suggestion? It would be nice to have tablecloths and a candle or two to add to the restaurant's ambience in the evenings.
Of course, the main point of the college is to train the brave volunteers who give their time to crew our lifeboats, and it was good to see them relaxing at the end of a day's instruction. You can also book a tour to see them in action.
The college has secure parking and is just a level 10-minute walk to the bustling Poole Quay and old town with its pubs, restaurants, museum and shops. Not forgetting the local ferry links and boat trips. All in all, a great place to stay and we are so glad we are RNLI members. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bananabirdzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the RNLI College with tripadvisor. We appreciate you kind comments.

The primary purpose of the College is to train our volunteer Lifeboat crew and Lifeguards. When the bedrooms are not required for training we sell bedrooms to support the RNLI work in saving lives at sea.

We hope that members and supporters of the RNLI enjoy the unique setting and facilities at the very competitive rates offered.

Table cloths are used in Riggers on Friday and Saturday nights, and we are currently reviewing the set up and dinner offer to balance the preferences of Crew, Members and Supporters.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here on the 10th August whilst doing some work for the RNLI, I assumed when they told me I was staying in the RNLI Colleges hotel, that it would be fairly rough and ready and full of lifeboatmen, but this is actually a 5 star hotel open it would appear to the general public.

The staff are very welcoming and friendly, I was early and a very attractive polish or Czech girl came and sat and chatted with me while I waited for my colleagues to arrive.

The room was excellent with a view of the harbour where the spare lifeboats are kept, we decided to eat in the hotel for dinner and again, this was 5 star, very good menu, food beautifully presented and a good choice too.

I dont normally stay at hotels and not find a fault, but I can honestly say, I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Telecoms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Telecoms2

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit on tripadvisor. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We strive to make The RNLI College feel like a 'home from home' for all our volunteer crew and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

It is important to us that as a crew member, RNLI Member or supporter that everyone is made to feel welcome and enjoys their stay. The RNLI College is not like most hotels.....everything we do is linked to saving lives at sea. Thank you for your support.

Kind regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I spent three days and two nights at the training college. The third day was a "visitors' Day" where the group was shown how the lifeboat crews were trained. I was fortunate to be able to stay in the college itself = it caters for the training crew members first, the members of the RNLI second, and if there are places, for those who make reservations.
The whole building is immaculate, warm, welcoming and very "lived in". The staff, in every area, was helpful, charming and willing to help in any way they could. The restaurant, the café, the shop, the conference rooms, the reception, the sitting area - everywhere was "just right". And the accommodation was SUPERB! All rooms have a sea view over the harbour. So picturesque - like a postcard - both night and day.
The bathroom was spacious, well-appointed and instructions for using the facilities, very clear and well-presented. The bedroom itself was very well decorated, simple, no frills, yet just what was needed. There had clearly been much thought and consideration given to the fittings and there was nothing lacking. I was spell-bound! It was magnificently quiet and comfortable in every way. Truly outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. Your kind comments and observations are appreciated by the team here.

We try hard to create a 'home from home', especially for our volunteer crews. They are all giving up their own valuable time to be trained to save lives at sea. We are delighted to hear that this ethos is extended to, and often commented on by RNLI members and supporters.

It sounds from your review that you also enjoyed one of our College tours. These are a great insight to the work and history of the RNLI, and delivered by a great team of Welcome Host and Tour Volunteers. Often with chance to see the College, Sea Survival Centre and the odd lifeboat!

Thank you for your kind comments and helping the RNLI Save Lives as Sea.

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

To stay here you have to become a member of the RLNI which makes it even better value.

We have stayed here twice so far this year. Easy location to find, secure car parking, easy check in. All the rooms appear to have sea views, are very spacious with WiFi throughout.

Quality is good, very clean.

Breakfast is buffet style with a wide range of options. We didn't dine but the menu looked good. Good bar with reasonably priced drinks.

It's an easy 5 minute walk back into either the shopping area or to the quay.

You can also see training in progress as it's a working facility. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear Yorshire Cooperman!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor.

We hope you had the chance to meet our volunteer Welcome Hosts and enjoy a tour of the RNLI College and Sea Survival Centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back again...soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Lifeboat College has accomodation for staff on training courses which is available to anyone else. Standards are very high- rooms are like a very good Premier Inn, prices about the same but includes breakfast. A VERY modern building with fantastic views over the inner harbour. Evening meals pricey but bar meals available.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view (lifts all the way)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewamaryllid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the RNLI College with tripadvisor.

The building design is modern, clean and unique and provides great facilities for our crew training.

We appreciate that these facilities are also enjoyed by supporters of RNLI. I do believe that the dining options offer exceptional value for money. 3 Course dinner is available at an inclusive rate or main courses currently start from as little as £7.80. We always offer great value accommodation with breakfast.

Most importantly.....evey £1 spent at RNLI College helps save lives at sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing