We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views!”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We spent Jubilee Bank holiday Monday night at the college.
We were welcomed by friendly and efficient reception staff .Our room was very clean and comfortable. It was quite large with everything you could need supplied.Tea/ Coffee tray ,hairdryer,iron and ironing board,tv etc.The only let down was the uht milk cartons but a very small gripe!
The view was fab looking at over the water,amazing.
We ate in the restaurant again friendly efficient service,the food was very nice and again the view amazing.
A lovely hotel for a very reasonable price in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Hi BucksBiker!

Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate your feed back and agree with your comments abour the beautiful views across the bay.
We use UHT milk, as we are unable to keep fresh milk chilled in the bedrooms. Next time you stay, let us know and we will be happy to provide you with fresh milk for your tea when you need it!

Thank you for supporting the RNLI and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the College over the Jubilee bank holiday. The view was brilliant of the harbour and could have spent all day in the room looking at the boats coming in and out of the harbour!

The room was a decent size and clean and tidy. Tea/Coffee making facilites in room and everything else you could possible need including the dove soap dispensers in the Bathroom.
The only thing that would have been nice was access to a water dispenser to get clean fresh drinking water.

It is well located and withing walking distance of both the shopping centre and the main harbour where there are plenty of eating places and shops as well as daily boat trips that leave from the harbour.

Whilst staying there we went on the free tour that is included for anyone staying at the college and it gave a good insight to what the RNLI do and we enjoyed the lifeboat simulator that was included in the tour.

The thing we found is that the College does not seem to promote their tours/accomodation enough and we only found out about it after the trawling through the internet for ages so think they may get more business if they were to advertise more widely, however saying that if it was busier we may not have been able to get a room during the busy weekend!

Overall we enjoyed staying at the College, and it is nice to know that a percentage of what you spend at the College goes to the RNLI charity to help save life's.

We will be recommending to friends and family and would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasha011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Hi Sasha001

Thank you for your lovely review with tripadvisor. We have fresh water drink dispensers in our restaurant and break out areas for out meetings space on the 1st floor. We will look to include this information on the next reprint of our bedroom guest information guides.
We also have a seperate review page with tripadvisor for RNLI College tours, used by day visitors and groups visiting the College. The tours are offered free of charge for guests staying at RNLI College.

We are really pleased to you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon. Thank you for supporting RNLI and helping save lives at sea.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights and would rank this as among my best UK hotel stay for overall experience. The view over the harbour with the yachts moored in the distance, sun setting over the horizon was second to none. The restaurant served excellent food - four hour slow cooked lamb was perfect. Generous breakfasts set you up for the day as well. The most unexpected and memorable part of the stay though was the tour of the college facility, conducted by a very knowledgeable guide. The prices good value for the quality and profit goes back to the lifeboats anyway. Room was clean, everything worked, all staff were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamC885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Hi AdamC885

Thank you for reviewing RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The views are beautiful over Holes Bay, especially with the sun setting!

We hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for a conference for 3 nights and found it as good as any hotel, rooms have everything you need, tv, kettle etc, comfortable bed, views to die for - wanted to bottle the view and take it home. Restaurant excellent for breakfast and meals - food as good as any hotel if not better, staff very friendly. easy parking and close to railway station. we really enjoyed our visit and would return.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mollie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Hi Mollie4

Thank you for your very generous review with tripadvisor. All of our bedrooms as you point out have views over Holes bay. Responding to your review, I can see the sun dipping into the bay with a glorious burnt red sky reflecting on the water, just kissing the moored training lifeboats!
We really appreciate your support and choosing to hold your conference with us. Making use of conference space capacity outside of our core purpose of Lifeboat Crew and lifeguard training provides additional income to help save life at sea. Thank you.

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and 11 month old daughter used the RNLI College as a base for my husband's birthday weekend after it was recommended by our best friend who had visited on a corporate event.
The staff went above and beyond what I expected and helped tremendously by storing Ava's homemade baby food in their fridges so I didn't have to give her jars! Considering they rarely have children stay (the highchairs were all wrapped in clingfilm!), they were fantastic and so accommodating.
Breakfast could have been better with fresh toast rather than it being made and then kept warm but that really is nit-picking as there was plenty of choice!
We planned on eating in their restaurant on the first night and going out on the second but ended up dining in on both evenings. The food was really rather good and great value!
I would thoroughly recommend staying at the RNLI and we will certainly go back. I love knowing that some of what we spend goes towards training the RNLI crew.
Thanks for making our trip so enjoyable!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GnasherWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Hi GasherWestSus

Thank you for placing your review of RNLI with tripadvisor. We are delighted that you introduced your 11 month old daughter to the RNLI. I remember how difficult it can be to feed very young children and really please to hear that you and you family were looked after. We keep the highchairs in cling film after they have been sanitised from the previous occupant!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and supporting the RNLI to save lives at sea.
Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This isn't strictly speaking a hotel - its the RNLI's training college. But when they arent full of trainees, they offer spare rooms to RNLI members (and, recently i believe, non members). RNLI members get a much better rate on rooms so its worth joining up for that reason alone!

The location is excellent - right in the middle of Poole just a few minutes walk from the seafront and the shopping centre/restaurants.

Rooms are not huge but sufficient for most needs and have a large desk. They are also comfortable and clean although not air conditioned (in the UK this would rarely be a problem).

All rooms have fantastic views over the water and the sunset. And because they face the water they are all quiet, away from traffic noise. The bar and restaurant also have incredible views and sittting on the balcony of the bar watching the sunset was a real treat. Bar prices are very reasonable.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel as its so close to the centre of Poole and its many restaurants. But breakfast was very good.

If you are staying here you can book in for the RNLI College tour for free. I would highly recommend it. You see all the training facilities including the survival pool and a lifeboat simulator.

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty equal. All have sea views, all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Hi MLC1234

Thank you for your review of RNLI College with tripadvisor. As you point out, we make best use of the College facilities when the Crew and Lifeguards are away to help raise additional funds. Our volunteer crews and our lifeguards deserve a real home from home and a genuine warmth of hospitality when they give up their time for training. At RNLI College we aim to extend that same level of hospitality to our supporters and members, without whom the RNLI would not be able to save lives at sea. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is a gem in e middle of Poole, the RNLI College is well worth a visit just for some food in their canteen. This is a working college, so be prepared for a lot of activity around you. There are tours with excellent volunteer guides. Have a look at the simulator (it made me sea sick) and the water survival tank. Have a look they do a great job and your few pence make a difference, we took students who loved the experence. Thanks to the educational team and the volunteer guides.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn8038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Hi Lynn 8038

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. RNLI College is blessed with some excellent volunteer tour guides who are passionate about the work of the RNLI and have a fantastic wealth of knowledge to offer. Thank you for supporting the RNLI to save lives at sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £69 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing