We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb place to stay”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Superb place to stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Don't think college type accomodation. This is a very good hotel.Every room has a view over the Bay. The restaurant serves superb food and the bar above it has a nice open balcony overlooking the harbour with a piano and large flat screen television if needed with some nice sofa's to relax on. The bar also serves very good food if a restaurant is too formal. Self service breakfast with very good choice of hot and cold items which sets you up for the day ahead.

All the staff I met were friendly and helpful. The college was bright, clean and couldn't be in a better location just a few minutes walk from Poole Quay. Very quiet at night.

Will certainly stay here again and every penny profit goes to the RNLI to assist it in it's valuable work.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Hi Mickd23

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. As frequently commented on tripadvisor, the views from the rooms, bar and restaurant are lovely! We hope the summer might just throw in one or more two sunny days - just so our guests can enjoy the fantastic sunsets over Holes Bay.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI and for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    138
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
125
387
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Tagged along with my husband on a work trip for 5 days and must say this had to be the highlight! The hotel itself is no nice and the staff could not be more helpful. The room was very spacious and the bed had crisps with linen and was so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittykatg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hi kittykatg5

Thank you for your kind review with tripadvisor. We hope you meant crisp linen not 'crisps with linen'!!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and able to tag along with you husband and hope you also enjoyed exploring Poole and the lovely surrounding area. Thank you for supporting the RNLI.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I booked the RNLI College based on the TripAdvisor ratings and wasn't disappointed. All the rooms have a great view of the harbour, and are very comfortable. Great breakfasts and the food in the restaurant is delicious. The staff were all incredibly helpful and very welcoming. I would recommend the College to anyone planning to visit Poole.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Hi Ben R

Thank you for your kind review with tripadvisor. It looks as if you selected us to stay with, in part because of our tripadvisor ratings. The generous feedback we recieve is appreciated and important to us. Every £ spent at RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The RNLI College in Poole is magnificently located, overlooking Poole Harbour, and every room has a harbour view. The rooms are very well equipped, and the staff extremely helpful. The whole ambiance of the College is wonderful - it feels like a haven from the world. We had bed and breakfast there, and also booked an evening meal there on one of the nights we stayed. The evening meal was the best restaurant meal I have had for a very long time, absolutely delicious.
We also took the opportunity to go on a tour of the RNLI training facilities, and this was fascinating. It really makes you appreciate the work that the lifeboat crews do. The tour included a go on a lifeboat simulator, which was terrific, but exhausting!
Highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Architect53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hi Architect53

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The RNLI College has a beautiful location in Holes bay, a view every bedroom can enjoy. The simulator does provide a unique opportunity to experience some rough sea conditions, knowing that you are still on dry land!

Thank you again for supporting the RNLI. Every £ spent at RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea.

Kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I was slightly dubious when my boyfriend booked this as I had been hoping to stay at the Hotel du Vin. However he had assured me that this hotel was the number 1 hotel on trip advisor and I can see why! Lovely rooms over looking the harbour, the most comfortable beds ever!, over helpful friendly staff and a breakfast to die for. We come to Poole alot and will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srobinson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Hi Srobinson71

Thank your for taking the time to write such a kind review. As a working college, RNLI College is unlike any ordinary hotel. We are grateful to our guests for choosing to stay with us and help support the work of RNLI in saving lives at sea.
Great feedback is very important to us, as clearly this influenced your choice in staying. Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you back soon!

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Cannot speak highly enough of the rooms, the facilities, the food or the staff - who were not only friendly but incredibly helpful (which is always appreciated when travelling with 2 young children). The interconnecting family rooms are good, clean, spacious and very cheap if you compare to similar accommodation elsewhere. The restaurant and bar/brasserie are great, with fantastic views. And all of the money goes to the RNLI, what other incentive could you need?

Room Tip: Limited number of (connecting) family rooms, so book early if this is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJW_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
DJW_75

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the view. Our team here spend a lot of time engaged with our Lifeboat Crews and Lifeguards, where we try to create a warm 'home from home' feel.

We hope we can welcome you (and your children!) back soon.

Regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband & I spent a weekend here in May, & can't praise it enough. It is an ideal base for exploring the area around Poole & Swanage. The College is mainly used as residential accommodation during the week for training lifeboat men, but they let out unused rooms when they are available. All rooms are double with en-suite facilities & big picture windows overlooking the harbour. They have TV & WiFi & are very comfortable. The RNLI run a couple of guided tours on Saturdays round the training centre (connected by a walkway with the College) - do go, they are very interesting & include the pool where all sea conditions can be simulated, & a full-size simulator of their largest lifeboat. We were on a bed & breakfast package, but you could eat lunch & dinner there in the restaurant if you didn't want to go out. There is also secure parking .

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical, with the same harbour views. There are good lifts to the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhilly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Hi happyhilly47

Thank you for your kind review with tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The College tours are a great way of seeing how crews are trained for their live saving work. As you quite rightly point out, our primary purpose if as a the training College for RNLI, but we make use of available rooms and function space for our supporters. Every £ spent at RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea.
Thank you.

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing