We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

I wanted to contact the college direct by email, but even that seems to be a non starter. My wife and I have stayed several times, although the last time was Sept 2011. Therefore, this trip was a bitter disappointment as we noticed a downturn in the food options for the evening and lack of staff at breakfast to assist those who are new to the college to ensure they knew the set-up. Our main concern was the price we were charged, we stayed 2 nights costing us £188 for a double room with breakfast on the 12th & 13th Oct. Each night had a different price, and when my wife queried this, the receptionist said there was a different daily rate, as the Managers decide each day on what the price is they are to charge! So it seems to be a lottery on what price you will get. Before when we have stayed the rates have been the same for each night, so I don't know when this changed, I would welcome the college to contact me to discuss further, as we have not paid this much before. Lastly we were over charged for an evening meal, and on querying it, it took us 3 times to point out the error before the waitress decided to call over the restaurant supervisor.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi Bryan B

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. RNLI College is easy to contact via email directly on reception@rni.org.uk or via the website links. I am very sorry to learn of the issues you have raised. We do have 24 hour Duty Management coverage at the College and would have been happy to explain, or at least try and resolve the issues raised.

RNLI College, as with most hotel accomodation providers charge daily rates that reflect demand. This means we offer cheaper prices when we have more rooms available. The weekend you stayed we were full - other accommodation providers were charging up to double our prices. Best prices can be gained by booking early.

We are unable to identify you via tripadvisor but would welcome the opportunity to understand and discuss your feedback. If you are happy to contact me, please email richard_martin@rnli.org.uk with your contact details.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    136
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
125
376
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I chose the RNLI for our wedding as we are a family of sailors and my dad does some volunteer work for them so the RNLI plays a large role in our lives but more so it just seemed like such a lovely and unusual venue, I would never have thought of it until Ii saw an advert on the Poole registry office website.

I cannot fault them for anything, their attention to detail from the day I enquired right up to the morning after the wedding was beyond expectation. All the staff were great from the events team to the serving staff, all polite friendly and helpful.

The events team answered my questions quickly and helped with everything. Nothing I asked for was discouraged and they accommodated all our needs and requests without hesitation. It was clear that they would do whatever they could to make it the day we wanted rather than the day that was easiest for them (some venue's had turned their noses up at some of the ideas we had).

Our manager for the day was great too, he communicated with us and made sure we had everything we wanted and was in control all day, we could really relax. I had been getting very worried that I wouldn't have enjoyed the day as I would have been coordinating everyone else but he made sure that was not the case.

The bar and serving staff were also very tentative and did not stop smiling and helping all day (and they had a very long day!) Some were back in the following morning and made a point of coming to congratulate us and make sure we had enjoyed our day.

The Function rooms were perfect for our needs, the harbour view suite where we had our ceremony and wedding breakfast was decorated just as we had asked and the panoramic view of the harbour made it very romantic. As the weather was nice we had welcome drinks by the water and the view was fantastic. We had about 50 people and it was lovely and intimate but still felt very spacious. The water front suite that we used in the evening was ideal too, the space worked really well for the food, DJ, seating and dance floor, and the use of the 'private bar' meant guests did not have to leave the room to get a drink from the slipway bar. We also had use of the smaller lobby area where guests could sit away from the noise if needs be.

I have to follow a gluten free diet and the chef went above and beyond to ensure that the food was suitable for me, he was able to adapt the existing menu rather than me being singled out and having a separate option to everyone else, which was nice to feel like I was eating the ‘normal’ meal for once.

The hotel room was very comfortable, modern and clean definitely one of the better hotel rooms I have stayed in. The breakfast in the morning had a great variety.

If you are considering a wedding venue with a difference and want somewhere special this is a lovely place, it is easily accessible, there was plenty of parking for guests and the staff are wonderful, I would definitely recommend it. If you are considering it for your wedding, please feel free to message me if you want more information/advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi Jenny B

Thank you for you taking the time to write such a lovely review with tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your special day with us and really appreciate your trust in us delivering such an important day for you, your husband and family.

We have passed on your kind comment to the team and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in Poole, staying at the RNLI College. We have stayed in Poole several times before and I must say that this was one of the nicest stays we have had. Our room was lovely with fresh clean bedding and squishy duvet and pillows! It was a sheer joy to wake overlooking the harbour with magnificant views every morning. The breakfast was first class with lots of choice. We didnt get to eat in the restaurant; but did manage to fit in afternoon tea, which was lovely, helped again by the lovely views. The staff were all really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will definately come back and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi Lynne L

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting the RNLI save lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Lovely light and modern building. Really good room – spacious, immaculate and with wonderful views of the harbour. Also, from one of the staircases you can watch the Twin Sails bridge tilting.
The breakfasts were great (though I have since seen the comment here on TripAdvisor that there were additional choices that weren’t obvious and agree that there should be notices on each table to explain). Very impressed at the evening meals in the restaurant – in particular the penne with tomatoes and basil! Also the prices for both food and wine were very reasonable.
Picked up some ideal presents in the gift shop, where there’s a huge choice.
The college is very close to the town centre and harbour, so it’s a short walk to anywhere you want to be really. Our only regret was that we weren’t around to enjoy one of the guided tours, or watch the sea survival training from the viewing platform outside the building. Absolutely delighted with our stay and will stay here again without hesitation. It’s a real bonus to know that you’re supporting such a good cause too.

Room Tip: All rooms would appear to have good harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi Gill J

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI Collge with tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback. We have noted a few comments about breeakfast and will be introducing new table menus shortly that explain the full choice and offer.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, especially to take up the College tour!

Thank you for staying with us and supporting the RNLI to save lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the RNLI College last weekend, especially the excellent view from our bedroom window of the boats and the bay and the memory brought back of our visit to Brownsea Island a few years ago. The Restaurant service was very good and the meal was very appetising. We felt that we were on an inland cruise the way the hotel was designed inside and out. Thankyou for making our stay one to recommend to others.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was nice and quiet with big bay windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekandJeanVenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Hi DerekandJeanVenn

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are blessed with lovely views over Holes Bay from every bedroom, our restaurant, bars and most event rooms. next visit you will have to take a short walk down to Poole harbour and catch a boat to Brownsea Island!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and supporting the RNLI to save lives at sea.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,032 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We picked this up as part of one of the specials they were doing for Valentine's Weekend. It was excellent value and we were really pleased with everything about this. The only disappointment was that we couldn't get onto one of the tours around the training facilities so we will definitely be pre-booking this for next time and I would recommend the same to others.

This is close enough to walk into Poole as well which was a bonus as we were down here to go to the Lush Spa in Poole and didn't have to worry about finding somewhere to park.

Room Tip: No need to worry, they all look out over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Hi RichardF

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We hope you enjoyed your Lush Spa! We are located at Holes bay, a short walk between the shop, the old town and Poole Harbour.

Thank you for your kind comments and supporting the RNLI to save lives at sea. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new forest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The RNLI College was the choice of venue for our daughters wedding and we can honestly say that it was the perfect venue. The wedding Breakfast and evening buffet was excellent and the curtious staff a credit to the college. They all seem happy in their work!
The care and attention to detail before, during and after our special day was outstanding.
What a beautiful view we had from the function rooms.
We also booked several rooms for overnight accommodation and found they were good value and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlicebNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Hi AlicebNewForest

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with triapdvisor. We are delighted that your daughter's choice was to hold her very special day with us. We are grateful for your support of the RNLI and helping save lives at sea.
Thank you agian for your very kind comments and we certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing