We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder it's "#1 in Poole"”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
uk based
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No wonder it's "#1 in Poole"”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed two nights in the College to do a course. I could not fault the place. It may lack the cushioned ambience of a posh hotel. but from first entering the place it was outstanding. Staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. Everywhere was clean to an almost surgical standard, and the furnishings extremely comfortable. Every room has an outstanding view of Poole Harbour. There is a welcoming cafe-bar, and a restaurant, both serving very good food. The cooked breakfasts were first class.
I was on a course, but my wife wandered into Poole centre which is only minutes away, and also quite interesting, though I gather that for "proper" shopping Bournemouth is better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjmUkBased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Hi sjmUK Based

Thank you for your very kind review with tripadvisor. The number 1 position is important to us, but we are not a luxury hotel! We hope to earn our positive reviews by reflecting the 'home from home' hospitality we strive to offer our fantastic volunteer Lifeboat Crew and our Lifeguards.

Poole also offers some individual shopping alongside the harbour as well as the town centre. Bournemouth is also very close by!

We look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for supporting the RNLI to save lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    144
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
130
397
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

As always a excellent stay.
All the staff are friendly and make you feel welcome.
The accommodation is first class and always clean, bathrooms are also cleaned daily
The breakfast was yummy with a good selection to choose from

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyranha240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Hi Pyranha240

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Every £ spent at RNLI College helps support the RNLI saving lives at sea. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were stuck in Poole on a wet Bank Holiday after the ferry was cancelled with all hotels fully booked. As an ex RNLI crew, I remembered that the College there often let rooms when courses were not running. True to form, they had two rooms available, and made us very welcome.
The rooms were very comfortable with stunning views across the harbour, and the resturaunt was excellent with a good choice
In addition, when they realised that we would miss breakfast due to an early departure, packed meals were provided which were excellent

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same standard and overlook the harbour (see picture).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Hi Peter S

Thank you for taking the time to write a very kind review with tripadvisor. As a former Crew member woth RNLI we are delighted that you found your way to us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your break and the take out breakfast.

Thank you for supporting us.

kind regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a room on the fourth floor with amazing views over the harbour and could see the twin sails bridge.
Our room was big, very clean and most comfortable.
Everyone from reception to the restaurant staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help.
I will definitely recommend it to friends and hope to be able to come back and see you all again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Hi dotwud

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review following your 4 night stay at RNLI College. We really appreciate your kind comments about you stay and will make sure they are shared with the team here.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting the RNLI to save lives at sea.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting the RNLI college for many years, we live in Poole and have used the restaurant, bar and hotel facilities on more occasions than I care to think.

In my opinion, and that of some friends and family, the standard of food, and occasionally the service, has been disappointing.

Most recently before Christmas I stayed there with my wife and her dad. The restaurant was not busy but the bar was overrun by what appeared to be a Christmas party in the bar upstairs where there was shouting, screaming and even alcohol, namely Bacardi, being poured into glasses out of handbags! The staff were overrun and the bar was littered with empty glasses at 6pm!

This is what happens when you no longer have to be a member to use this gorgeous and precious facility, which incidentally was paid for by the unsung heroes of the RNLI, those leaving money in their wills!

The staff did not take our complaints about the noise seriously and it continued until the group had drunk themselves silly and left!

The next morning I was disappointed that they have changed much of the breakfast produce to a 'basic' range rather Han the high quality Dorset fayre that was once served.

I am writing this review as I have yet to receive a response from the RNLI to my December email, again, showing a distinct lack of care and attention towards members...I'm not sure that we matter anymore at the College?

I think 3 stars is generous...

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gooze22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Hi gooze22

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. I am concerned about some of the comments made and would appreciate an opportunity to discuss these further.

RNLI College was build for the prime purpose of Crew Training. Where spare capacity allows the our facilities are made available to our valued supporters and members to raise additional funds to support the RNLI save lives at sea.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I enjoyed a superb meal at the RNLI College. The food is of high quality and portions are generous. The service was very good.
We then enjoyed a couple of quiet drinks in the atmospheric bar upstairs where again we found the staff to be very courteous and attentive.
On inspection, I found the room to be very spacious and very clean. The views across the harbor are unbeatable.
Breakfast the next day was a very enjoyable selection of Traditional English and Continental choices.
A very, very enjoyable overnight stay with the added bonus that your room rates, dinner and bar bill are all contributing to this wonderful organisation.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a harbor view but worth checking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcsmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Hi fcsmw

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind comments, especailly about the warm welcome from our team. Our volunteer Lifeboat Crew and Lifeguards deserve the best 'home from home' hospitality, given the extraordinary selfless work they do for others. We hope to extend this welcome to all our supporters and members.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI save lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Good clean rooms with lovely pillows and duvet, nice bathroom with shower over bath and a nice long hose! Good location for Poole within walking distance of the main harbour, Quay and shops, view over the back of the harbour which can be on the industrial side but still you can see the Purbecks. We stayed for a works Christmas party on the whole the food and service were good however one of my colleagues did have hot soup spilt over them and help was not offered until we requested it. The room was decorated to a high standard and the disco was very good and I am told that the staff were happy to incorporate anything that was requested within the evening. There was no bottled water in the room but nothing wrong with the tap water and tea and coffee with top ups available, there was also an iron and ironing board and a hair dryer already in the room.

Room Tip: All rooms face the back of the harbour and the Purbeck Hills in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Hi Nicola M

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas event and accommodation. Thank you for supporting the RNLI.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing