We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and wonderful views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service and wonderful views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Had a wonderful stay here and nothing was too much trouble. Room lovely and great view of the harbour. Such a relaxed feeling in the college and bright and airy.We ate in the restaurant which had a great choice of food on the menu. Loved the bar on the first floor where you are able to watch the sun set. Cannot wait to return and most importantly, helping a great cause. Will book a tour next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trulymadlyradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hi trulymadlyradley

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We appreciate your very kind feed back.

The tours are very popular and hosted by our wonderful volunteer tour guides, offering a great insight into RNLI history and crew training.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    136
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
125
367
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whangaruru, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

While I attended a week long course at the RNLI college my wife enjoyed the sights around Poole. Coming from New Zealand and not knowing much about the area we found the staff were very helpful. The room had a great view of the surrounding area and was fresh and comfortable although a bit warm at times. Under a 10 minute walk to local amenities like rail and bus station, Quay, Pubs, High street and large supermarket. The best thing was doing the FREE tour of the RNLI College.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LXW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hi LXW

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are delighted you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at Sea

Kind Reagrds

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent two nights here in late April over a weekend and I really can't fault it. The rooms were basic but adequate, the service was friendly and welcoming and the food very good. The kids chose to eat here on the second night rather than go out as they had enjoyed it the night before.

There was a wedding function organised on the Saturday night and the music was quite loud, but I really didn't notice it in our room. Maybe it was the extra glass of Merlot!

We will stay here next time we pass this way.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hi KJH999

Thank you for your very kind review. It is always worth pointing out that we are a working college and home of RNLI training - our core purpose. We sell our spare capacity to raise additional live saving funds.

We are grateful to all our supporters, and especially delighted your children wanted to stay in when here and dine with us!

Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I got married at this wonderful venue on 6th April this year and it was truly a magical day thanks to the wonderful staff who were without exception friendly, helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Rather than being in my normal state of anxiety I was calm and blissfully happy throughout the whole day confident that the staff had organised our day perfectly. Our guests had nothing but praise for the venue, they commented on the friendly staff, the cleanliness, comfortable accommodation, the fabulous food and service. We were lucky the sun came out that day and the views over Holes Bay were amazing.
It is also nice to know the that the profits go to a fantastic cause. Many thanks to all the staff who made our day so special.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hi Carol H

Wow! Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for trusting us to host your special day.

Your very kind comments have been shared with the team and we hope to welcome you back before too long.

Thank you again.

With very best wishes

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We booked a last minute, 1 night stay on the bank holiday weekend. It was the last room left (same day arrival) and the price was just over £120 for the 2 of us, B&B. Although it was more than other b&bs, the photos on here led me to believe we would have a lovely room guaranteed and I was certainly not disappointed. Great idea for all rooms to have a sea view and I just could not stop looking out the window. I even got up early to do so - and I am not a morning person!

Worth mentioning the bar man was very helpful and supplied us with an ice bucket for our bubbly. He also recommended good pubs in the Quay area where we could sit outside and soak up the sun. We found a lovely Mediterranean restaurant which did fantastic mezze and was very atmospheric.

I have fed back one or two little disappointments with the hotel - specifically a cleaning issue in the bathroom (although the room was spotless itself) and a lot of dirty breakfast tables in the morning which were cleared as soon as we asked. Te standard of breakfast could have been better for the price but it was very tasty and cooked well, with friendly staff. I received an almost immediate response from management to my feedback and have to say these were only minor points and would not deter me from staying again.

Yes a little over priced for what it was but we would definitely stay again at a lower rate and would recommend it to friends and family. Great to support the RNLI which made the higher price a little easier to swallow. All in a good cause.

There was a wedding going on at the same time and it looked like a lovely venue to have your reception too.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cocoalocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hi Cocoalocks

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate you comments.

We try and strike a balance with our accommodation charges, reflecting local demand and pricing. Using our spare capacity helps generate funds that support saving lives at sea. It is also worth noting that many hotels do not include breakfast in their rates and in very busy period require minimum nights stays.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting the RNLI. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were amazed to find this hotel which is also the RNLI training college. Good value , every room has a great view of Poole harbour particularly the Sails bridge. The rooms have all the right facilities plus iron & ironing board, towels were particularly luxurious.The food is surprising good and lots of it (well I guess they are filling up those lifeboat crews). Breakfast was a comprehensive buffet & lots of it. You can also get a tour of the college showing how they train crews. The staff could not have been more helpful particularly as was parents in law anniversary.

Room Tip: All have good views perhaps better on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old60timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hi Old60timer

Thank you for taking time to review RNLI College with tripadviser. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope your in-laws enjoyed their wedding anniversary.

Great views and an inclusive breakfast are what our crews and supporters should expect when staying at RNLI College.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, with great views and a good base to explore from, also Poole Quay and town centre within walking distance. The room was modern and very clean and comfortable, the hotel was very busy but there was no noise, the only thing that stopped me giving it 5 stars was the breakfast which was again very busy also it seemed that there were not enough staff to cope, also the quality was ok, good price but average food.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Hi Tim S

Thank you for reviewing RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind feedback.
Your comments about breakfast are noted. It appears we had an usually high level of non resident diners for breakfast - local emergency services some times like to have breakfast with us at shift change.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing